Best Master’s in Counseling in Massachusetts (2027 Rankings)
Updated September 28, 202625+ min read

Best Master's in Counseling in Massachusetts (2027 Rankings)

Compare top online and affordable counseling master's programs across Massachusetts — with CACREP status, costs, and licensure alignment.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Massachusetts counseling master's tuition ranges from about $6,200 to over $37,000 per year depending on the institution.
  • CACREP accreditation streamlines your LMHC application and can unlock tuition reimbursement and loan forgiveness savings.
  • The BLS projects roughly 17% national job growth for mental health counselors through 2034, well above the overall average.
  • LMHC licensure in Massachusetts requires a minimum 60-credit master's degree plus supervised post-graduate clinical hours.

Balancing program cost against clinical training quality is the central tradeoff for students pursuing a master's in counseling in Massachusetts. The state's LMHC credential requires a minimum of 60 graduate credits and 3,360 supervised post-degree hours, making program selection a decision with multi-year consequences. Massachusetts hosts both CACREP-accredited clinical mental health programs and DESE-approved school counseling tracks, with annual tuition ranging from around $6,200 at Fitchburg State to over $37,000 at private institutions.

Online and hybrid options have expanded access, but clinical placements still anchor students to specific regions. The programs ranked here were evaluated on net price, graduate outcomes, and licensure alignment, giving you a framework for comparing affordability against return on investment. Students exploring the broader landscape may also want to review how to become a counselor for a fuller picture of the profession's requirements nationwide.

Best Master's in Counseling Programs in Massachusetts

Massachusetts has more than a dozen graduate counseling programs, and they differ sharply in cost, format, and how directly they map to LMHC or school counselor licensure. The ten schools below represent the strongest combination of affordability and flexible delivery in the state for 2026. Each entry notes what the institution is known for, which counseling programs it offers, and where school-level outcome data is available to give you a sense of the wider picture.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Share of Pell Grant recipients
  • Net price after aid
  • Online and hybrid flexibility
  • Graduation and retention rates
  • Student-to-faculty ratio
Data sources
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs — cacrep.org
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • CACREP accreditation directories — cacrep.org
FI

Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg, MA · $6,000/yr

Best for: Working adults seeking flexible evening study

A public university in North Central Massachusetts with two routes into the field: a hybrid school counseling master's with PreK-8 and 5-12 tracks, and a fully online clinical mental health counseling program that prepares graduates for LMHC licensure. Both are 60-credit degrees, and the school counseling track holds AAQEP accreditation rather than CACREP. Across the institution, roughly 55 percent of students complete their degrees, and federal data puts median earnings ten years after entry near $53,900. It is the lowest-net-price option in this group.

  • School Counseling, Master's — Hybrid
    Fitchburg State University
    Rolling admissions
    • Hybrid evening format with PreK-8 or 5-12 tracks
    • 60 credit hours; completable in as few as three years
    • Year-long internship and practicum required
    • AAQEP accredited with rolling admissions
    • MTEL required for admission; accelerated two-year option
    • Prerequisites include developmental psychology and statistics
    Visit Website
  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Master's — Online
    Fitchburg State University
    Rolling admissions
    • Fully online; completion takes two to six years
    • 60 credit hours across 20 courses
    • 150 practicum hours and a 600-hour internship
    • Prepares graduates for LMHC licensure in Massachusetts
    • Evening classes begin after 5 p.m.
    • Rolling admissions; 2.5 GPA minimum and $50 application fee
    Visit Website
CA

Cambridge College

Boston, MA · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

Best for: Boston career changers entering school counseling

A Boston institution built around adult learners, offering a Massachusetts DESE-approved school counseling master's that blends remote coursework with field placements in local schools. At 48 credits, it is one of the shorter licensure pathways in the state, and its per-credit pricing keeps total cost predictable for part-time students. Institution-wide graduation rates sit around 11 percent, reflecting a largely non-traditional, part-time population, and median earnings ten years after entry are about $46,000.

  • Master of Education in School Counseling — Hybrid
    Cambridge College
    • Hybrid schedule with on-site field experience in Massachusetts schools
    • 48 credit hours at $639 per credit
    • Approved by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
    • Leads to Initial School Counseling licensure
    • 3.0 GPA minimum and an entrance exam required
    • Coursework covers group counseling, career planning, and learning disorders
    Visit Website
AM

American International College

Springfield, MA · $13,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Remote learners wanting fully online clinical training

A Springfield university whose clinical mental health counseling master's is delivered entirely online with no campus residencies, making it one of the more accessible options for students who do not live near a Massachusetts campus. The 60-credit curriculum is described as CACREP-aligned and includes 700 hours of clinical training, with field placement support built in. Institution-wide, about 46 percent of students graduate, median earnings ten years after entry are roughly $53,100, and admission is close to open.

  • Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling — Online
    American International College
    • 100 percent online with no campus residencies
    • 60 credit hours at $830 per credit; two years full time
    • 700 clinical hours including practicum and internship
    • CACREP-aligned curriculum with field placement support
    • Three start dates per year; 2.8 GPA minimum
    • Covers crisis intervention, trauma-informed care, and multicultural counseling
    Visit Website
SP

Springfield College

Springfield, MA · ~$34,000/yr (est.)

A private college in Springfield with a long history in human services education. Its graduate offering in this list is a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Study in school counseling, aimed at people who already hold a master's degree, alongside an undergraduate human services track with a substance use disorder counseling concentration. The CAGS is 32 credits, offered hybrid, and prepares students for both school counseling and adjustment counseling licensure in Massachusetts. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 74 percent and median earnings ten years after entry are roughly $48,000.

  • Certificate of Advanced Graduate Study (CAGS) in School Counseling — Hybrid
    Springfield College
    Rolling admissions
    • 32 credit hours for students who already hold a master's degree
    • Hybrid online and on-ground courses in Springfield
    • Prepares for Educator Licensure in school counseling and adjustment counseling
    • Rolling admissions with full-time and part-time options
    • 15 percent tuition discount for employer partners
    • Interview required for admission
    Visit Website
  • Human Services, Substance Use Disorder Counseling Concentration, Bachelor's — Hybrid
    Springfield College
    • Undergraduate degree totaling 120 credit hours
    • Completable in as little as 16 months
    • Hybrid scheduling with weekend and night classes
    • Online concentration courses; 2.0 GPA minimum
    • Practice-oriented curriculum designed for adult learners
    Visit Website
RE

Regis College

Weston, MA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

A private college in Weston whose 60-credit Master of Arts in Counseling runs on a hybrid night-and-weekend schedule built for working adults. The program reports a 100 percent pass rate on the national clinical mental health counseling exam and a 100 percent job placement rate for graduates, and it offers a Social Justice Scholarship plus employer tuition partnership discounts. Institution-wide, about 72 percent of students graduate, and median earnings ten years after entry are about $52,900.

  • Master of Arts in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Counseling Concentration — Hybrid
    Regis College
    Rolling admissionsEmployer tuition reimbursement
    • 60 credit hours in a hybrid night and weekend format
    • Program reports a 100 percent pass rate on the national clinical mental health counseling exam
    • First-year practicum and second-year internship at partner sites
    • Prepares for LMHC or LPC licensure
    • Social Justice Scholarship for accepted applicants
    • Rolling admissions with fall, spring, and summer starts
    • Employer tuition partnership discounts available
    • Allows taking courses before formal admission
    Visit Website
AS

Assumption University

Worcester, MA · ~$15,000/yr (est.)

A Worcester university whose school counseling master's is fully online with synchronous sessions and is approved with distinction by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, a distinction held by only a few programs statewide. The 60-credit degree offers school counseling and school adjustment counseling or school social work tracks, with pre-practicum and practicum placements arranged in Massachusetts schools. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 75 percent, and median earnings ten years after entry, near $74,900, rank among the highest in this group. Class sizes of 6 to 22 students are a stated feature.

  • Master of Arts in School Counseling — Online
    Assumption University
    No entrance examMilitary benefits
    • Fully online with synchronous and asynchronous sessions
    • 60 credit hours; completable in two years including two summer semesters
    • Approved with distinction by the Massachusetts DESE
    • School counseling and school adjustment counseling tracks
    • Pre-practicum and practicum placements in Massachusetts schools
    • 600 clinical hours; prepares for MTEL and Praxis
    • Small classes of 6 to 22 students; no GRE required
    • Three start dates per year
    Visit Website
GO

Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary

South Hamilton, MA · $26,000/yr

A seminary in South Hamilton whose Master of Arts in Christian Counseling combines clinical mental health training with theological study. The clinical mental health concentration is CACREP-accredited, a meaningful distinction for licensure, and the 66-credit hybrid program includes a short annual residency plus supervised practicum and internship work. Because it is a seminary, the program suits students who want faith integration built directly into clinical training. Institution-wide graduation and earnings figures are not reported in the federal sources used here.

  • Master of Arts in Christian Counseling, Clinical Mental Health Concentration — Hybrid
    Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary
    CACREP accredited
    • CACREP-accredited clinical mental health curriculum
    • 66 credit hours; two years full time or three to four part time
    • Hybrid online classes with an annual in-person residency
    • Cohort model with synchronous evening and weekend classes
    • Supervised clinical practicum and internship required
    • Prepares for LMHC licensure
    • 3.0 GPA minimum; faculty interview required for admission
    Visit Website
BA

Bay Path University

Longmeadow, MA · $15,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving InstitutionWomen's college

A private university in Longmeadow offering a fully online clinical mental health counseling master's with several distinct tracks: a general licensure pathway, a school adjustment counselor concentration, an alcohol and drug abuse counseling concentration, and a non-licensure option for international students. The core degree is 60 credits with practicum and internship requirements, and the school adjustment track places 450 of its internship hours in public schools. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 44 percent, and median earnings ten years after entry are roughly $55,400, making it one of the more affordable private options here.

  • Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling — Online
    Bay Path University
    • 100 percent online; 60 credit hours
    • Three start dates per year with test-optional admission
    • Prepares for LMHC licensure in Massachusetts
    • Concentrations in trauma, addiction, and school counseling
    • Synchronous and asynchronous course options
    • Small interactive classes with career services support
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, School Adjustment Counselor Concentration — Online
    Bay Path University
    • School adjustment counselor track within the clinical mental health degree
    • 450 of the 800 supervised internship hours completed in public schools
    • Eligible for the Initial Student Adjustment Counselor license
    • Requires passing the MTEL communication and literacy exams
    • Five-year completion timeline
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Foundations of Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counseling Concentration — Online
    Bay Path University
    • 300-hour substance use internship
    • Prepares for the CADAC licensing exam
    • 100-hour practicum and 600-hour internship
    • Eligible for LMHC licensure
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Non-Licensure Concentration — Online
    Bay Path University
    • Designed for international students not seeking US licensure
    • 700 clinical hours across three internship courses
    • 21 credits of elective coursework
    • 60 credit hours total
    Visit Website
ME

Merrimack College

North Andover, MA · $37,000/yr

A private college in North Andover with both a school counseling master's leading to initial licensure and an online clinical mental health counseling master's. The school counseling degree is DESE-approved and offers school counseling or school social work and adjustment counseling tracks, with 600 to 1,200 hours of field training in partner schools; fellowship opportunities can cover up to a full year of tuition. Institution-wide, about 70 percent of students graduate, and median earnings ten years after entry, near $75,600, are the highest in this group.

  • Master of Education in School Counseling — Hybrid
    Merrimack College
    No entrance exam
    • DESE-approved for Initial Licensure
    • 48 credit hours at $700 per credit
    • Online or on-campus course options
    • 600 to 1,200 hours of field-based training
    • Aligned with ASCA standards; capstone required
    • Three start dates per year; no application fee
    • Fellowship opportunities covering up to 36 credits
    Visit Website
  • Master of Education in School Counseling, School Social Work and Adjustment Counseling Concentration — Hybrid
    Merrimack College
    No entrance examTest optional
    • Leads to Initial License in school social work and adjustment counseling
    • Dual concentration option with school counseling
    • No entrance exam required; test optional
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling — Online
    Merrimack College
    No entrance examEmployer tuition reimbursement
    • Fully online with on-campus options
    • 700 clinical hours required
    • Two years full time or three to four years part time
    • Aligned with MPCAC and CACREP standards
    • Employer tuition reimbursement supported
    • 9-month fellowship placements available
    • Total tuition stays under $45,000
    Visit Website
FI

Fisher College

Boston, MA · ~$27,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

A small Boston college whose Master of Arts in Counseling Psychology centers on addictions counseling, with a second trauma track available. The 60-credit hybrid program mixes live virtual classes with on-campus sessions and moves quickly across 12-week terms, finishing in about two years. A named scholarship supports students in the addictions track, and graduates are prepared for LMHC licensure. Institution-wide graduation rate is about 28 percent, and median earnings ten years after entry are roughly $49,700.

  • Master of Arts in Counseling Psychology, Addictions Counseling Concentration — Hybrid
    Fisher College
    • 60 credit hours completed in 12-week terms over two years
    • Hybrid live virtual classes plus on-campus sessions
    • Two tracks: addictions counseling or trauma
    • Prepares for LMHC licensure and the national clinical mental health exam
    • Theodore Everett Berlin Scholarship available for addictions students
    • Addictions coursework covers motivational interviewing and recovery
    Visit Website

How We Ranked These Massachusetts Counseling Programs

Choosing a counseling program involves more than prestige or name recognition. For students weighing cost, schedule flexibility, and long-term return on investment, a methodology grounded in financial and outcomes data gives a clearer picture than reputation alone. Here is how this list was built.

What the Ranking Prioritizes

Affordability sits at the center of this ranking. Programs were evaluated on net price (the actual cost students pay after grants and scholarships, not the sticker price), graduation rates, median earnings of graduates, and median student debt at graduation. These data points were combined into a rough return-on-investment ratio that compares what graduates typically earn against what they typically owe. Online and hybrid availability also factored in, since schedule flexibility is a genuine barrier for working adults in Massachusetts who cannot relocate or attend full-time on campus. If you are also exploring best online master's in counseling programs, those same affordability metrics apply.

The Data Points Used

  • Net price: Average cost after institutional and federal aid is applied.
  • Graduation rate: The share of students who complete their program within 150 percent of the expected time.
  • Median earnings: Reported earnings for graduates approximately one to two years after completing their degree.
  • Median debt: The midpoint of what graduating borrowers owe at the time they leave the program.
  • ROI ratio: A comparison of median earnings against median debt to gauge financial sustainability.

What This Ranking Cannot Tell You

These are institution-wide or broad program-level figures in most cases. A high graduation rate at a university does not guarantee the same outcome in a specific counseling track. This ranking does not measure curriculum depth, faculty-to-student ratios, the quality of clinical placement networks, or how well a program prepares students for the Massachusetts LMHC licensing exam. Those factors matter enormously in counseling education and deserve direct investigation through program visits, conversations with current students, and a close read of each program's clinical training requirements.

Think of these metrics as a shortlist filter, not a final verdict. They narrow the field to programs that appear financially accessible and outcomes-oriented. The rest of your research should fill in what the numbers cannot show.

Tuition and Affordability Comparison for Massachusetts Counseling Programs

Graduate tuition for counseling master's programs in Massachusetts varies widely, from roughly $6,200 per year at a public university to over $37,000 at private institutions. The table below compares annual graduate tuition rates and median graduate debt across schools featured in our rankings. Keep in mind that many students offset these costs through state and professional scholarships: the Massachusetts Behavioral Health Workforce Scholarship offers up to $12,500 per year (maximum $25,000 over two years) for graduate behavioral health students, and the MaMHCA Haberman Williams Scholarship provides a one time $2,000 award to graduate mental health counseling students.

SchoolAnnual Graduate TuitionMedian Graduate DebtStudent to Faculty RatioProgram Format
Fitchburg State University$6,246$24,23911:1Hybrid
Cambridge College$11,763$21,79112:1Hybrid
American International College$13,314$27,00016:1Online
Bay Path University$15,162$24,9018:1Online
Assumption University$15,470$27,00011:1Online
Regis College$17,910$25,5009:1Online
Lesley University$19,890$21,00010:1Hybrid
Fisher College$27,484$25,00014:1Hybrid
Springfield College$33,722$26,25011:1Hybrid
Merrimack College$36,800$27,00013:1Hybrid
Boston College$37,520$19,00010:1Hybrid

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you need a fully online program, or can you attend weekend intensives on campus for practicum hours?
Many Massachusetts counseling programs require in-person clinical components even if coursework is online. Knowing your schedule flexibility upfront helps you filter programs that actually fit your life, especially if you live outside the Boston metro area.
Is CACREP accreditation a must-have for your licensure and career goals?
Graduating from a CACREP-accredited program can streamline your path to LMHC licensure in Massachusetts and simplify reciprocity if you ever move to another state. Some employers and agencies also prefer or require candidates from accredited programs.
Are you drawn to a child or adolescent specialization, or do you want a general clinical mental health track?
A specialized track in child counseling or school counseling prepares you for specific roles and certifications, while a general clinical mental health track keeps your career options broader. Your choice affects required coursework, practicum placements, and the populations you serve after graduation.

Online Vs. On-Campus Counseling Programs in Massachusetts

Online master's in counseling programs in Massachusetts can match the rigor of on-campus degrees, but the real differentiator is how each program supports your clinical placement. Securing a practicum or internship site requires proactive research, especially in online formats where you may not have the same on-the-ground connections as a campus-based student.

Check the Clinical Placement Policy First

Most counseling programs have a dedicated webpage or student handbook section on field experience. Look for terms like "Clinical Placements" or "Practicum and Internship." This is where you'll learn whether the program maintains a list of affiliated Massachusetts sites, assigns a placement coordinator, or expects you to find your own site. Online programs often rely on you to identify potential supervisors and agencies, then approve them through a faculty advisor. If the website isn't clear, don't assume: reach out.

Ask the Right Questions of Program Coordinators

Email or call the admissions office or clinical coordinator directly. Specific questions yield actionable answers: How many Massachusetts-based sites have hosted your students in the past two years? Do you have signed affiliation agreements with clinics or hospitals in cities like Boston, Worcester, or Springfield? What is the average time it takes an online student to secure a placement? Also confirm the required practicum and internship hours. CACREP-accredited programs must include at least 100 clock hours of practicum and 600 clock hours of internship, but Massachusetts licensure may add further stipulations. If you're exploring the broader path to becoming a licensed mental health counselor, understanding these hour requirements early is essential.

Lean on Authoritative Sources

The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions publishes the official clinical hour requirements for LMHC licensure. Cross-reference those with your program's curriculum to ensure alignment. For broader career context, the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) provides occupational outlook and wage data, which is helpful for understanding where counselors are employed but not a replacement for state-specific licensure rules. CACREP's website clearly outlines the accreditation standards for practicum and internship hours, which serve as a baseline. Students weighing different credential paths may also want to review online licensed professional clinical counseling programs for comparison.

Use State Resources to Plan Ahead

The Massachusetts Counseling Association and the state licensing board's site often list approved clinical supervisors or post job boards where agencies seek interns. Bookmark these resources early. Even if your online program offers some placement assistance, having your own network of contacts can speed up the process and give you more control over your training environment.

CACREP-Accredited Counseling Programs in Massachusetts

CACREP, the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs, is the gold-standard specialized accreditor for graduate counseling programs in the United States. For students pursuing a counseling master's degree in Massachusetts, understanding what CACREP accreditation means, and which programs hold it, can shape both your licensure path and your long-term career mobility.

What CACREP Accreditation Means for LMHC Licensure in Massachusetts

The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professionals recognizes CACREP-accredited curricula as meeting the educational requirements for Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC) licensure. In practical terms, if you graduate from a CACREP-accredited program, the board can verify your coursework against a known standard rather than conducting a line-by-line transcript review. This typically speeds up the application process and reduces the chance of being asked to complete supplemental courses after graduation.

CACREP accreditation also matters if you ever plan to practice outside Massachusetts. Many states offer streamlined or reciprocal licensure pathways for graduates of CACREP-accredited programs, which can be a significant advantage if you relocate.

Which Ranked Programs Hold CACREP Accreditation?

Here is where Massachusetts presents a somewhat unusual landscape. Based on the current CACREP directory, very few of the state's counseling programs carry full CACREP accreditation, and none of the programs in our ranked list were confirmed as holding active CACREP accreditation status as of the 2025-2026 directory cycle.1 Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary's Master of Arts in Christian Counseling (Clinical Mental Health) notes a CACREP-accredited designation in its own program materials, but prospective students should verify this directly through the CACREP directory of accredited programs, as accreditation statuses can change between review cycles. No Massachusetts programs were listed under candidacy status in the directory at the time of our research.1

Several programs on our list, such as those at American International College and Bay Path University, describe their curricula as "CACREP-aligned," meaning they follow CACREP standards in course design and clinical hour requirements without holding the formal accreditation. This distinction matters.

What If Your Program Is Not CACREP-Accredited?

Attending a non-CACREP program does not bar you from earning LMHC licensure in Massachusetts. The state board will still evaluate your application, but it may require a more detailed course-by-course evaluation to confirm that your program covered all required content areas, including:

  • Human growth and development: Lifespan theories and counseling implications
  • Social and cultural foundations: Multicultural competence and advocacy
  • Group work: Theory and practice of group counseling
  • Assessment: Testing, appraisal, and diagnostic methods
  • Research and evaluation: Understanding of research methodology
  • Professional orientation: Ethics, legal standards, and professional identity

This additional evaluation can add time and sometimes cost to your licensure process, so factor that into your planning if you choose a non-CACREP program. Students who want to deepen their credentials beyond a master's degree may also explore counseling doctoral programs as a longer-term option.

Always Verify Accreditation Status Directly

Accreditation is not permanent. Programs gain, lose, or voluntarily relinquish CACREP accreditation, and candidacy statuses shift as programs move through the review pipeline. Before you enroll, search the CACREP directory of accredited programs at cacrep.org to confirm the current status of any program you are considering.1 Program websites sometimes display outdated accreditation claims, so the official directory is the only source you should rely on for a definitive answer.

For Massachusetts students specifically, the limited number of CACREP-accredited options means you may need to weigh accreditation status against other factors like cost, format, and specialization availability. A CACREP-aligned program with strong clinical training and faculty can still prepare you well for licensure, but you should go in with clear expectations about the additional documentation the board may require.

Massachusetts LMHC Licensure: Steps From Degree to Practice

Earning your Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC) credential in Massachusetts is a multi-step process that typically takes two to eight years from the start of your master's program to full licensure. Here is the pathway as defined by the MA Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professionals.

Five-step Massachusetts LMHC licensure pathway from 60-credit master's degree through 3,360 supervised hours, NCMHCE exam, board application, and full licensure

LMHC Licensure Requirements in Massachusetts: What Your Program Must Cover

Choosing a master's in counseling means balancing a program's format and philosophy with one non-negotiable: alignment with Massachusetts LMHC licensure requirements. Even an excellent program can delay your career if it skips a core content area or undershoots the credit hour minimum. The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions defines precisely what coursework, supervised experience, and examination you need, and many of the programs on our list build their curricula around these rules.1

Meeting the Educational Prerequisites

The Board requires a graduate degree in mental health counseling or a closely related field comprising at least 60 semester hours.1 While the degree title (MA or MS) does not affect your eligibility, the coursework must cover ten specific content areas:

  • Human Growth and Development: Theories and life stages
  • Social and Cultural Foundations: Multicultural issues and diversity
  • The Helping Relationship: Counseling theories and skills
  • Group Dynamics and Counseling: Group work processes
  • Career and Lifestyle Development: Vocational theories and career counseling
  • Assessment and Appraisal: Testing and evaluation techniques
  • Research and Program Evaluation: Research methods and analysis
  • Professional Orientation: Ethical and legal standards
  • Psychopathology: Diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders
  • Clinical Instruction: Practicum and internship totaling at least 600 clock hours

CACREP-accredited programs, like several on our list, map directly to these areas, eliminating guesswork.

Post-Degree Supervised Experience Requirements

You must complete 3,360 total hours of post-master's supervised clinical experience, spanning a minimum of two years but no more than eight years.1 Within that total, at least 960 hours must be direct client contact, and 130 hours must be clinical supervision. The supervision must occur at a ratio of one hour of supervision for every 16 hours of clinical work, with at least one hour every two weeks.2 Individual supervision must account for at least 75 of the 130 supervision hours. Couple, family, and individual counseling must make up at least 610 of the direct client hours, while group counseling can contribute up to 350 hours.2

Supervisor Qualifications: Why Your Supervisor Matters

Supervisors must hold a Massachusetts license as an LMHC, LICSW, LMFT, health service provider psychologist, psychiatrist, or psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, with at least three years of post-licensure experience.1 Crucially, 75 of your 130 supervision hours must be provided by an LMHC supervisor.2 This distinguishes the LMHC path from LMFT licensure, which has its own LMFT supervision requirements. Securing an LMHC supervisor early ensures those hours count where they are needed most.

The Licensing Exam: NCMHCE

Massachusetts requires the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE), not the NCE.3 The NCMHCE uses clinical simulations to test diagnostic and treatment planning skills, mirroring real-world practice. The exam is valid for five years after you pass,4 and because the Board mandates it, nearly all Massachusetts applicants sit for the NCMHCE.

How Our Ranked Programs Help

The programs featured on our list, particularly those with CACREP accreditation, have designed their courses and field placements to satisfy the Board's educational and experience prerequisites. Their curricula cover the required content areas, and many faculty members are familiar with the supervision landscape, helping you connect with qualified supervisors. Choosing a program deliberately built around Massachusetts rules can save you semesters of remediation and hundreds of hours of re-supervised practice.

Child and School Counseling Specializations in Massachusetts

What is the difference between becoming a licensed clinical counselor who works with children and becoming a school counselor in Massachusetts, and which programs prepare you for each path?

These two career tracks overlap in subject matter but diverge sharply in licensure, work setting, and daily scope. Several programs featured in our rankings offer dedicated preparation for one or both paths, so understanding the distinction before you apply is essential.

Two Distinct Licensure Pathways

If your goal is to provide therapy to children and adolescents in a private practice, community agency, or hospital, you are pursuing the Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC) route. For a broader look at this clinical track, see our guide on how to become a child counselor. That credential is governed by the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professionals and requires a 60-credit clinical mental health counseling master's degree, supervised post-graduate hours, and the National Counselor Examination or National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination.

If you want to work inside a public or private school, you need a different credential entirely: the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) school counselor license.1 The DESE pathway has its own approved preparation programs, its own practicum standards, and its own required exam. The two licenses are not interchangeable, though recent legislative interest (Senate Bill S.283) has proposed streamlining a path from the DESE school counselor credential to LMHC licensure, a signal that the state recognizes the need for more flexible credentialing.4

DESE School Counselor Licensure Requirements

To earn an Initial License as a school counselor in Massachusetts, you must complete:1

  • A master's degree in counseling from a DESE-approved preparation program
  • At least 450 hours of supervised practicum experience in a school setting
  • A passing score on the Communication and Literacy Skills MTEL exam

After earning the Initial License, you can work in Massachusetts schools while building toward the Professional License, which requires three years of employment as a school counselor under the Initial License and completion of a 60-credit program (or, alternatively, national certification through the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards or the National Board for Certified Counselors).1

Programs in Our Rankings That Prepare School Counselors

Several of the programs we ranked offer direct school counseling preparation:

  • Assumption University offers a fully online Master of Arts in School Counseling that is DESE-approved with distinction. At 60 credits and $680 per credit, it includes practicum placements in Massachusetts schools and offers both PreK-8 and 5-12 licensure tracks.
  • Fitchburg State University provides a hybrid Master of Science in School Counseling with PreK-8 or 5-12 concentrations. As a public institution, Fitchburg State is one of the most affordable options in the state for this specialization.
  • Boston College offers a hybrid Master of Arts in School Counseling through its Lynch School of Education, with a 600-hour practicum, small cohort sizes, and a social justice-oriented curriculum.
  • Cambridge College has a hybrid Master of Education in School Counseling at 48 credits, designed for working professionals who need flexible day and evening scheduling.
  • Lesley University offers a Counseling Psychology master's with a School Counseling specialization, preparing graduates for PreK-12 licensure through partnerships with local school districts.
  • Merrimack College provides a Master of Education in School Counseling with 600 to 1,200 hours of field training. Note that Merrimack also offers a separate Post-Master's Certificate in School Social Work and Adjustment Counseling, which leads to a different DESE license area, not the school counselor credential.3
  • Bay Path University takes a combined approach: its Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling includes a School Adjustment Counselor concentration. Graduates can pursue both LMHC licensure and the DESE school adjustment counselor license, though the school adjustment counselor credential is distinct from the school counselor license.

Why School Counseling Is a High-Demand Track

Massachusetts school districts have faced persistent counselor shortages, and the state legislature's introduction of bills like S.283 reflects urgency around building workforce capacity in school-based mental health.4 For students who want strong job prospects right after graduation, school counseling offers a clear advantage: districts are actively hiring, and the pipeline of qualified candidates has not kept pace with need. If you are drawn to working with young people in an educational environment, this specialization is worth serious consideration.

Did You Know?

A CACREP-accredited program streamlines your LMHC application in Massachusetts by eliminating the need for course-by-course curriculum evaluation. CACREP graduates also qualify for more employer tuition reimbursement programs and federal loan forgiveness options, potentially saving thousands of dollars over your career.

Career Outcomes and Salaries for Massachusetts Counselors

Massachusetts mental health counselors earn salaries that closely track the national median, with strong demand across the state's major metro areas. The BLS projects roughly 17% national job growth for mental health counselors through 2034, well above average. Program-level earnings data for the master's counseling programs featured in this article are not yet available, so the figures below reflect BLS state and metro wage data for mental health counselors (SOC 21-1014).

Massachusetts mental health counselor wages compared to national figures: state median $59,030, national median $59,190, as of 2024 BLS data

Frequently Asked Questions About Counseling Master's Programs in Massachusetts

Choosing the right counseling master's program involves weighing accreditation, format, cost, and licensure fit. Below are answers to the questions prospective students ask most often about pursuing a counseling degree in Massachusetts.

What is the best master's degree to get to be a therapist?
A Master of Arts or Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from a CACREP-accredited program is one of the most direct paths to becoming a therapist. In Massachusetts, this degree prepares you for Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC) licensure, which authorizes independent clinical practice. Programs that carry CACREP accreditation align their curricula with national standards, which can simplify both the licensure process and any future out-of-state moves.
What pays more, LPC or LMFT?
Nationally, Licensed Professional Counselors (LPCs) and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFTs) earn comparable salaries, though exact figures vary by state, setting, and specialization. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the national median wage for substance abuse, behavioral disorder, and mental health counselors differs from the national median for marriage and family therapists, but neither consistently outpaces the other across all markets. In Massachusetts, the equivalent credential is LMHC rather than LPC, so direct comparisons should factor in local demand and practice setting.
Is MA or MS better for counseling?
Both the Master of Arts (MA) and Master of Science (MS) in Counseling lead to the same licensure eligibility in Massachusetts. The practical difference is often minor: MS programs may include slightly more research methodology coursework, while MA programs may lean toward applied clinical training. What matters most is whether the program holds CACREP accreditation, meets Massachusetts LMHC coursework requirements, and includes the required practicum and internship hours.
Are there fully online master's in counseling programs in Massachusetts?
Several Massachusetts institutions offer hybrid counseling programs that deliver most coursework online while requiring periodic on-campus residencies or local practicum placements. Fully online options from regionally accredited, CACREP-recognized schools outside the state may also satisfy Massachusetts licensure requirements, but students should verify that the program's credit hours, clinical hours, and content areas align with the state's LMHC standards before enrolling.
Which Massachusetts counseling programs are CACREP accredited?
Multiple institutions in Massachusetts hold CACREP accreditation for their counseling programs. These include programs at schools such as Boston College, Boston University, Suffolk University, Bridgewater State University, Assumption University, Lesley University, and Springfield College, among others. Because CACREP status can change, always confirm a program's current accreditation directly through the CACREP directory before applying.
How long does it take to become an LMHC in Massachusetts?
The full timeline typically spans four to five years after completing a bachelor's degree. A master's program in counseling generally takes two to three years, including the required 60 semester hours and supervised practicum and internship. After graduation, candidates must accumulate 3,360 hours of supervised post-master's clinical experience (with at least 130 hours of direct supervision) before they can sit for the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination and apply for full LMHC licensure.
What is the difference between an LMHC and an LICSW in Massachusetts?
Both the LMHC (Licensed Mental Health Counselor) and LICSW (Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker) authorize independent clinical practice in Massachusetts, but they stem from different academic tracks. The LMHC requires a master's in counseling or a closely related field, while the LICSW requires a master's in social work (MSW). Social work training tends to emphasize systems, advocacy, and case management alongside therapy, whereas counseling programs focus more directly on therapeutic techniques and human development. Employer recognition and insurance panel access are comparable for both credentials.

More Massachusetts Counseling Programs to Consider

The programs below sit just outside the top 10 in our ranking, but they are worth a closer look. This is a non-ranked directory, so each entry simply lists the school, its location, the delivery format, and the concentration offered. Treat it as a starting point for your own shortlist rather than a judgment about quality.

Greater Boston

Lesley University
The Counseling Psychology master's with a School Counseling specialization is a 60-credit hybrid program that prepares graduates for school counseling and LMHC licensure in Massachusetts. It offers four concentration options, guaranteed internship placements awarded upon acceptance, and a typical completion time of 2.5 years full-time. Reported net price is about $21,000.
  • Counseling Psychology: School Counseling Specialization
Cambridge, MA · Hybrid
Boston College
The Master of Arts in School Counseling is a 48-credit, two-year hybrid program with predominantly in-person classes and after-work course options. Students complete 16 courses and a 600-hour year-long practicum in a Massachusetts public school, and the program is approved by the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Reported net price is about $19,000.
  • Master of Arts (M.A.) in School Counseling
Chestnut Hill, MA · Hybrid
William James College
The Clinical Mental Health Counseling master's offers a Couples and Family Therapy concentration and prepares students for dual licensure as an LMHC and an LMFT. The 63-credit hybrid program includes a 360-hour practicum and a 600-hour internship, with full-time completion in two years or part-time in three. Net price is not reported for this program.
  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Couples and Family Therapy)
  • Minor in Addictions Counseling
Newton, MA · Hybrid

Financial Aid and Scholarships for Massachusetts Counseling Students

Paying for a master's in counseling is a significant commitment, but Massachusetts students have access to a range of federal programs, state-level support, and institutional funding that can reduce what you actually pay out of pocket. Understanding how these options work together is worth as much time as choosing the right program.

Federal Student Aid: What Graduate Students Can Access

The first step for any graduate student is completing the FAFSA. The 2026-2027 FAFSA opened in October 2025, and federal deadlines fall in June, though most Massachusetts schools set their own earlier priority dates.1 Filing early gives you the best shot at limited funds.

As a graduate student, you are no longer eligible for subsidized federal loans, meaning interest begins accruing from the day funds are disbursed. For 2026, graduate borrowers can take out up to $20,500 per year in federal unsubsidized loans, with a cumulative graduate borrowing cap of $100,000. A separate lifetime aggregate limit applies if you also carried undergraduate federal loans.

One notable change took effect July 1, 2026: the Grad PLUS Loan program was eliminated.3 This is a meaningful shift for students who previously relied on PLUS loans to cover costs beyond what unsubsidized loans allow. If your program costs exceed your federal loan eligibility, you will need to look at institutional aid, private loans, or other sources to fill the gap. Talk to your program's financial aid office early, since this change is still rippling through how schools advise incoming students.

Federal Work-Study is another option if your school participates. It is need-based and requires a FAFSA, and it places you in part-time employment, often in roles connected to your field of study.

Massachusetts-Specific Grants and Scholarships

Several professional associations and foundations support graduate students in mental health fields. The Massachusetts Mental Health Counselors Association periodically offers scholarships for students pursuing licensure-eligible programs. Some programs at Massachusetts universities also maintain departmental fellowships funded by alumni or private donors. Check directly with each school's counseling department, since these awards are rarely advertised widely.

Graduate Assistantships at Massachusetts Universities

Many full-time master's programs offer graduate assistantships that exchange part-time teaching, research, or administrative work for tuition remission, a stipend, or both. Assistantship availability varies by institution and academic year, so ask about openings during the admissions process rather than waiting until after you enroll.

Loan Forgiveness for Mental Health Professionals

If you plan to work in a community mental health center, federally qualified health center, or other qualifying nonprofit after graduation, you may be eligible for Public Service Loan Forgiveness, which cancels remaining federal loan balances after 120 qualifying payments under an income-driven repayment plan.4 The accredited counseling programs in CT comparison shows how neighboring states handle similar workforce needs, but Massachusetts has its own advantages: the National Health Service Corps offers loan repayment awards to licensed behavioral health providers who commit to working in underserved areas, and the state has several Health Professional Shortage Areas where these opportunities apply. Both programs have specific eligibility rules, so build your career plan with those requirements in mind from the start.

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit