What you’ll learn in this article…
- Pennsylvania has five COAMFTE-accredited MFT master's programs, though state licensure does not require COAMFTE accreditation.
- LMFT candidates must complete 60 graduate semester hours, supervised clinical experience, and a national licensing exam.
- Pennsylvania's median annual MFT wage has historically exceeded the national median reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Online, hybrid, and graduate certificate options expand access for students balancing work or family obligations.
Choosing between a COAMFTE-accredited program and a state-approved alternative often comes down to whether you expect to practice exclusively in Pennsylvania or may eventually seek licensure elsewhere. The state currently has five programs with full COAMFTE accreditation, while several other regionally accredited institutions offer pathways that satisfy the State Board's 60-credit-hour requirement for LMFT licensure. Campus, online, and hybrid formats are all available, giving working adults and recent graduates different routes to the same credential.
Pennsylvania's demand for marriage and family therapists continues to rise, particularly in underserved rural counties and community mental health settings. Median wages for LMFTs in the state have historically outpaced the national figure, but debt loads and time-to-degree vary widely across programs. If you are still exploring the profession itself, our guide on how to become a marriage counselor covers the foundational steps before you compare specific schools.
Top MFT Programs in Pennsylvania for 2027
Pennsylvania offers several distinct pathways into marriage and family therapy, from COAMFTE-accredited master's programs to doctoral training and post-master's certificates. These profiles focus on what each university does best for a future clinician. Where program-level earnings have not been published, the profiles say that openly rather than applying school-wide numbers to a single degree.
Factors considered
- Earnings after program completion
- Student debt and net price
- Institution graduation and retention rates
- Employment outcomes where reported
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Original research on individual programs — cacrep.org
Thomas Jefferson University
This university's 66-credit Master of Family Therapy is structured for students who want clinical depth with focused training in sex therapy, family therapy, or medical family therapy. The program operates from a bio-psychosocial perspective and emphasizes culturally competent work with couples and families. The institution reports a graduation rate near 69 percent across all undergraduate programs, a figure that is not MFT-specific.
- 66-credit, two-year, full-time structure
- Optional tracks in Sex Therapy, Medical Family Therapy, and Family Therapy
- COAMFTE core curriculum model
- AASECT-approved sex therapy education
Master of Family Therapy, Graduate Certificate — On-Campus
Drexel University
A research university with family therapy training from the master's through the doctoral level. Its COAMFTE-accredited Master of Family Therapy centers trauma, addiction, and LGBT-related clinical care, and is designed to meet Pennsylvania's MFT licensure education requirements. A separate PhD prepares researchers and faculty. The institutional undergraduate graduation rate is near 78 percent, which is not a program-specific outcome.
- COAMFTE-accredited, 90-credit full-time master's
- Clinical sequence includes 500 direct client hours
- 250 client hours must involve couples or families
- Training spans trauma, addiction, and LGBT populations
- Attachment-Based Family Therapy and Emotionally Focused Therapy emphasized
- Designed to meet Pennsylvania LMFT education requirements
- May qualify for pre-clinical AAMFT membership
- COAMFTE-accredited doctoral pathway
- 6:1 faculty-to-student ratio
- Funded assistantships and tuition support
- Trains researchers, educators, and faculty
Master of Family Therapy — Hybrid
PhD in Couple and Family Therapy — On-Campus
Arcadia University
This graduate certificate is for practicing mental health professionals who want evidence-based skills in child and family therapy without enrolling in another master's program. Coursework covers family systems, advanced assessment, and culturally sensitive treatment for children and adolescents. Employment and earnings outcomes are not reported at the program level. The university's overall graduation rate is approximately 67 percent, a campus-wide rather than program-level figure.
- Designed for practicing mental health professionals
- Evidence-based psychotherapies for child and family mental health
- Advanced assessment and culturally sensitive treatment
- Taught by practicing clinicians
- Focus on childhood internalizing disorders
Child and Family Therapy Graduate Certificate — On-Campus
La Salle University
Marriage and family therapy training here is built around a clinical placement model: students complete a 12-month field experience while moving through coursework in systems theory and intervention. The program offers full-time and part-time pacing with August or January starts, and it is designed around Pennsylvania's MFT licensure requirements. It currently holds COAMFTE preaccreditation status, so applicants should confirm the latest accreditation update before applying. Institution-wide graduation rates are about 57 percent and do not represent program-level MFT outcomes.
- COAMFTE preaccreditation status on record
- Full-time and part-time paths with 2 to 4 year completion
- 12-month clinical placement with field placement assistance
- August and January start dates
- Curriculum built around systems theory and clinical intervention
Marriage and Family Therapy (M.A.), Master's — On-Campus
Lancaster Bible College
This master's integrates marriage, couple, and family counseling with a Christian worldview. The curriculum is built around Pennsylvania LPC licensure rather than the LMFT path, and graduates are eligible to sit for the National Counselor Examination. A practicum and internship sequence provides about 800 hours of supervised experience, with admissions openings across fall, spring, and summer. The graduation rate at the institution is around 67 percent across all undergraduates.
- 60-credit master's program
- Prepares graduates for Pennsylvania LPC licensure
- Eligible for the National Counselor Examination
- 800 supervised practicum and internship hours
- Integrates biblical principles with evidence-based counseling
- Requires minimum 3.0 GPA, references, and interview
Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling (M.A.)
Accreditation Breakdown: Coamfte-Approved MFT Programs in PA
Pennsylvania is home to five master's programs with full COAMFTE accreditation, the gold standard for marriage and family therapy graduate education. However, the state does not require COAMFTE accreditation for LMFT licensure. State-approved programs accredited by other bodies (such as CACREP) or approved directly by the Pennsylvania licensing board can also qualify graduates for licensure. The table below compares COAMFTE-accredited programs alongside several well-known state-approved alternatives so you can see the distinction at a glance.
| School | City | Degree Offered | COAMFTE Accredited | Accreditation Status | Alternative Accreditation | Delivery Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drexel University | Philadelphia | Master of Family Therapy | Yes | Full | N/A | Hybrid |
| Evangelical Seminary | Myerstown | Master's (MFT) | Yes | Full | N/A | Campus |
| La Salle University | Philadelphia | M.A. in Marriage and Family Therapy | Yes | Full | N/A | Campus |
| Seton Hill University | Greensburg | Master's (MFT) | Yes | Full | N/A | Campus |
| Thomas Jefferson University | Philadelphia | Master of Family Therapy | Yes | Full | N/A | Campus |
| Messiah University | Mechanicsburg | M.A. in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling | No | N/A | CACREP | Hybrid |
| Geneva College | Beaver Falls | M.A. in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling | No | N/A | State Approved | Hybrid |
| Lancaster Bible College | Lancaster | M.A. in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling | No | N/A | State Approved | Hybrid |
| Eastern University | Saint Davids | M.A. in Marriage and Family Therapy | No | N/A | State Approved | Online |
| Kutztown University of Pennsylvania | Kutztown | Master's (MFT) | No | N/A | State Approved | Campus |
| Duquesne University | Pittsburgh | Master's (MFT related) | No | N/A | State Approved | Campus |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Do you have a preferred therapeutic orientation, such as faith-integrated or secular clinical training?
Does COAMFTE accreditation matter for your specific licensure or career goals?
How much supervised clinical hours experience do you want built into your program before graduation?
Are you drawn to a cohort-based learning model, or do you prefer scheduling courses independently?
MFT Program Costs and Return on Investment in Pennsylvania
Understanding total cost and potential return is essential when choosing an MFT program in Pennsylvania. The table below compares graduate tuition rates, median graduate debt, and institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment. Note that these earnings figures reflect all graduates of each institution (not MFT graduates specifically), so they serve as a general benchmark rather than a precise MFT salary prediction. Program-level earnings data is not yet available for these schools.
| School | Graduate Tuition | Median Graduate Debt | Net Price | Median Earnings (10 yr, All Graduates) | Student-to-Faculty Ratio |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lancaster Bible College | $11,160 | $20,500 | $25,480 | $44,096 | 19:1 |
| Geneva College | $12,582 | $25,198 | $25,890 | $50,004 | 15:1 |
| Messiah University | $14,040 | $25,621 | $26,502 | $54,064 | 12:1 |
| Eastern University | $14,534 | $25,000 | $26,662 | $51,655 | 21:1 |
| Chestnut Hill College | $19,447 | $26,389 | $27,970 | $52,015 | 10:1 |
| Thomas Jefferson University | $24,528 | $14,744 | $28,928 | $77,449 | 12:1 |
| La Salle University | $29,220 | $25,000 | $19,409 | $67,416 | 12:1 |
| Arcadia University | $33,678 | $27,000 | $29,466 | $58,336 | 10:1 |
| Drexel University | $39,261 | $25,325 | $38,509 | $84,648 | 9:1 |
Online and Hybrid MFT Degree Options for Pennsylvania Students
Pennsylvania students who need scheduling flexibility without relocating can find legitimate pathways to an MFT degree through online and hybrid programs offered by in-state institutions. Several ranked programs in the state provide alternatives to fully campus-based study, expanding access for working professionals, parents, and students in rural areas.
Hybrid and Online Options at Pennsylvania Schools
Among the MFT programs based in Pennsylvania, Drexel University offers a hybrid Master of Family Therapy that combines majority on-campus coursework with some online components. Lancaster Bible College, Geneva College, Messiah University, and Chestnut Hill College all deliver their MFT master's degrees through hybrid formats, blending online learning with periodic in-person requirements. Eastern University stands out as offering a fully online MA in Marriage and Family Therapy, making it the most geographically flexible option for students who cannot attend regular campus sessions.
These formats allow students to remain in their Pennsylvania communities while completing much of their academic work remotely. For those exploring broader options, best online master's in counseling programs can also provide a useful reference point for comparing delivery formats and flexibility across disciplines.
Clinical Practicum Requirements Still Apply
Regardless of how coursework is delivered, MFT programs require substantial supervised clinical hours that cannot be completed virtually. Pennsylvania state licensure standards mandate direct client contact, typically including face-to-face sessions with couples and families. Even fully online programs like Eastern University's require students to complete in-person internship placements at approved clinical sites.
This means distance learners must secure practicum placements within their local area. Programs generally assist students in identifying appropriate sites, but the responsibility often falls on the student to coordinate arrangements with community agencies, hospitals, or private practices.
Accreditation and Licensure Considerations
Online COAMFTE-accredited programs carry the same weight as campus-based programs for Pennsylvania licensure purposes. The State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors evaluates the accreditation status and curriculum content of your degree, not whether you attended classes in person or online. Programs holding COAMFTE accreditation have met rigorous educational standards regardless of delivery format.
Students should verify that any online program, whether based in Pennsylvania or another state, meets Pennsylvania's specific licensure requirements before enrolling. The state follows its own rules for clinical hours and supervision ratios, so completing an out-of-state online program requires careful attention to whether that curriculum aligns with Pennsylvania regulations.
Graduate Certificate Programs in Marriage and Family Therapy
Shenandoah University requires exactly 12 credits for its Graduate Certificate in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling, designed for professionals who already hold master's degrees in related disciplines.1 This certificate, like others of its kind, offers a focused pathway for licensed counselors, social workers, or school counselors who want to add specialized MFT competencies to their practice without committing to a second master's degree.
What a Graduate Certificate in MFT Offers
A graduate certificate in Marriage and Family Therapy is a shorter, specialized credential that provides foundational knowledge in systemic theory, couples work, and family dynamics. It serves two distinct audiences: licensed mental health professionals seeking to expand their clinical scope and career changers exploring the field before investing in a full master's program. These programs typically range from 12 to 18 credits and can be completed part-time while working.
Programs Available to Pennsylvania Students
Shenandoah University's 12-credit certificate requires a 3.0 minimum GPA and is open to both master's-prepared professionals and current doctoral students in good standing within the Department of Counselor Education.1 The Council for Relationships in Philadelphia offers a Postgraduate Certificate, Clinical Track, delivered in a flexible part-time format.2 This program specifically provides training components that count toward eligibility for MFT licensure in Pennsylvania, making it a strategic option for counselors already working in the field.
Certificates Do Not Replace Master's Degrees for Licensure
A graduate certificate alone does not qualify you for LMFT licensure in Pennsylvania. The state requires a master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or a closely related field, along with supervised clinical hours and examination. The certificate supplements existing credentials but cannot substitute for the degree requirement. For a broader look at what the career path involves, see our guide on how to become a marriage and family therapist.
Who Benefits Most from These Programs
These certificates are best suited for Licensed Professional Counselors adding a couples and family specialization to their practice, school counselors working with students and their families, social workers in child welfare or community mental health settings, and professionals testing their interest in MFT before committing to a full graduate program. Those already working as couples counselors may find a certificate especially useful for formalizing systemic training. For anyone planning to pursue LMFT licensure, verify that certificate credits can transfer or stack toward a master's degree at the same institution.
Steps to Earning Your LMFT License in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania's path to LMFT licensure involves completing an approved graduate program, accumulating supervised clinical hours, and passing a national exam. Because requirements can shift, always verify the latest details directly with the PA State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors. For program specifics, check each school's website; for salary benchmarks, visit BLS.gov; and for professional standards, consult the AAMFT or your state professional association.

Frequently Asked Questions About MFT Programs in PA
Choosing a marriage and family therapy program raises practical questions about accreditation, format, earning potential, and career fit. Below are answers to the questions Pennsylvania students ask most often, grounded in current data and licensure requirements.
- Are there COAMFTE-accredited MFT programs in Pennsylvania?
- Yes. Pennsylvania is home to several master's programs accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE). Graduating from a COAMFTE-accredited program can streamline the path to licensure because these programs are specifically designed to meet the clinical and academic requirements set by the state licensing board. Check each program's current accreditation status directly through COAMFTE's online directory before applying.
- Can I complete an MFT degree online in Pennsylvania?
- Several universities offer online or hybrid master's programs in marriage and family therapy that Pennsylvania residents can access. Hybrid formats typically combine online coursework with in-person clinical intensives or practicum placements at approved sites within the state. Fully online options do exist, but prospective students should confirm that any program they consider meets Pennsylvania's specific licensure requirements, including supervised clinical hours completed under an approved supervisor.
- Do MSW or MFT graduates make more money?
- Nationally, the two fields pay comparably. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 data), marriage and family therapists earned a national median wage of $63,780, while the broad social workers category had a national median of $61,330. Within social work, healthcare social workers earned a median of $65,580, and mental health and substance abuse social workers earned roughly $59,200 to $60,060. Earning potential for either credential depends heavily on setting, specialization, and geographic location.
- What is the best master's degree to get to be a therapist?
- The answer depends on the population and approach you want to focus on. An MFT degree trains you in systems-based, relational therapy and is ideal if you want to specialize in couples and family work. An MSW offers broader career flexibility across clinical therapy, case management, policy, and community settings. A master's in clinical mental health counseling is another strong option. All three can lead to independent clinical licensure. Consider your long-term practice goals and the licensure path each degree supports in Pennsylvania.
Pennsylvania by City
Related Articles
MFT Salaries and Job Growth in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania offers competitive compensation for licensed marriage and family therapists. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the state's median annual wage for MFTs has historically exceeded the national median for the profession. The figures below reflect BLS data; note that the most recent available state-level figures are from the May 2023 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics release, while the projected job growth rate is a national estimate covering the 2022 to 2032 decade. Wages and employment levels may have shifted since these snapshots were published.
| Metric | Pennsylvania | National |
|---|---|---|
| Median Annual Wage | $64,570 | $58,510 |
| 25th Percentile Wage | $55,580 | $45,250 |
| 75th Percentile Wage | $80,100 | $78,440 |
| 90th Percentile Wage | Not reported for PA | $104,710 |
| Mean Annual Wage | $67,940 | $68,730 |
| Total Employment | 2,360 | 63,340 |
| Projected Job Growth Rate (2022 to 2032) | Not reported for PA alone | 15% (much faster than average) |
What to Weigh When Picking Your MFT Program
Pennsylvania requires 60 graduate semester hours for LMFT licensure, a threshold that immediately narrows your options if you are considering out-of-state online programs designed around lower credit minimums. Before you commit to any program, verify that its curriculum meets this requirement in full, or you may face additional coursework after graduation.
Accreditation Type and What It Signals
COAMFTE accreditation indicates a program has met national standards for MFT education, which can simplify license portability if you ever relocate. State-approved programs that lack COAMFTE status may still satisfy Pennsylvania licensing requirements, but you will need to document equivalency if you move to another state. When comparing options, ask admissions staff directly whether graduates have encountered any licensing complications in Pennsylvania or neighboring states.
Clinical Placement Logistics
How a program handles clinical placements can determine whether you finish on time or scramble to secure hours while juggling coursework. Some programs maintain formal partnerships with community mental health centers, hospital systems, and private practices, assigning students to vetted sites. Others expect you to locate and negotiate your own placements, a process that can add months to your timeline if you are unfamiliar with the regional clinical landscape. Understanding LMFT supervision hours requirements early on helps you evaluate whether a program's placement structure will keep you on track. Working adults should weigh this carefully: a program that arranges placements often saves significant time and stress.
Cohort Size and Faculty Access
Smaller cohorts tend to offer more direct faculty mentorship and clinical supervision, both of which matter for licensure exam preparation and professional development. In programs with 15 to 20 students per cohort, faculty often know each student's clinical strengths and growth areas, providing individualized feedback during practicum and internship phases. Larger programs may offer greater scheduling flexibility but can leave students competing for supervisor time.
Specialization Tracks Worth Exploring
Some Pennsylvania programs offer concentration options in child and adolescent therapy, substance use disorders, or faith-integrated counseling. If you are drawn to younger populations, researching what it takes to become a child counselor can help you decide whether a specialized track is the right fit. If you are still exploring, a generalist curriculum with elective flexibility may be the smarter choice until your clinical interests crystallize.
COAMFTE accreditation is not a hard requirement for LMFT licensure in Pennsylvania, but it can smooth the path if you ever move to another state that weighs accreditation heavily in its reciprocity rules. If you choose a state-approved program instead, verify carefully that its credit hour total and supervised clinical hours line up with Pennsylvania Board requirements before you enroll.
More MFT Programs Available in Pennsylvania
Below are additional MFT programs in Pennsylvania beyond the top-ranked list. Use this directory to compare programs by location, format, and cost.
Greater Philadelphia
- MA in Marriage and Family Therapy
- Doctor of Marriage and Family Therapy
- PhD in Marriage and Family Therapy
- Master of Science in Clinical and Counseling Psychology
South Central Pennsylvania
- Master of Arts in Marriage, Couple and Family Counseling
Western Pennsylvania
- M.A. in Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling
- M.A. in Counseling (Marriage, Couple, and Family Counseling)








