Best Online Master’s in Geropsychology Programs (2027)
Updated August 29, 202622 min read

Best Online Master's in Geropsychology Programs (2027)

Compare top geropsychology graduate programs by cost, outcomes, and clinical training to find your best fit.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Adults 65 and older will exceed 80 million by 2040, yet fewer than 4 percent of psychologists specialize in aging.
  • Standalone geropsychology master's degrees remain rare, so most students pursue clinical mental health counseling programs with geropsychology concentrations.
  • Master's graduates can earn LPC or LMHC licensure for clinical work with older adults, though the psychologist title requires a doctorate.
  • Expect 300 to 600 supervised clinical hours during your program, with roughly 180 hours focused on older adult populations.

Geropsychology is the clinical specialty that applies psychological assessment and treatment to adults in later life, addressing depression, dementia-related behavioral symptoms, grief, caregiver stress, and end-of-life concerns. The Census Bureau projects the 65-and-older population will reach roughly 82 million by 2050, yet fewer than 4% of practicing psychologists report aging as their primary focus.

That mismatch is the practical tension driving interest in the field. Standalone master's degrees labeled "geropsychology" remain scarce, so most students enter through online mental health counselor programs or applied psychology degrees with an aging concentration, then pursue LPC or LMHC licensure. A doctorate is still required to use the title "psychologist," which shapes how master's graduates position themselves in nursing homes, hospice teams, VA settings, and integrated primary care.

Best Online Master's in Geropsychology Programs

Programs that carry the geropsychology label are still uncommon at the master's level, and few of the online degrees available today include a formal aging concentration. The distance and hybrid programs below support a geropsychology path through lifespan and neuropsychology coursework, clinical placements in older adult services, and licensure-oriented counseling training. Outcome data in this ranking comes from federal records and is institution-wide; program-level earnings are not yet reported for these degrees.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Institutional completion rates
  • Reported student earnings
  • Average net price
  • Online delivery accessibility
  • Relevance to aging practice
Data sources
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
DE

Delaware State University

Dover, DE · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

HBCU
Best for: Online learners exploring aging and brain health

At this public HBCU, the clinical psychology master's is flexible, self-paced, and built around two distinct plans. The LPCMH counseling concentration is a licensure-oriented route with 700 hours of supervised practice, while the separate neuropsychology concentration is a thesis-based research track well suited to students planning doctoral work on cognitive aging and brain health. Federal data shows an average net price near $13,900 and median earnings around $49,300, though earnings are not reported for this specific program. The university's overall graduation rate is about 39 percent.

  • Clinical Psychology MS: LPCMH Counseling — Online
    Delaware State University
    • 60 total credit hours
    • 700 hours of supervised practicum and internship
    • Covers eight core counseling areas
    • Aligns with CACREP standards
    • Meets Delaware LPCMH licensure requirements
    • Choose two-year or three-year completion track
    Visit Website
  • Clinical Psychology MS: Neuropsychology — Online
    Delaware State University
    • Thesis required for program completion
    • Research-focused brain-behavior track
    • Prepares students for doctoral study in neuropsychology
    • Social science background preferred for admission
    • Fall and spring start dates
    Visit Website
PE

Pepperdine University

Malibu, CA · $40,000 – $45,000/yr

Best for: Working professionals seeking flexible clinical licensure

This online Master of Arts in Clinical Psychology, offered through a private California university, combines asynchronous coursework with weekly live classes and is designed to lead to LMFT or LPCC licensure. The curriculum includes lifespan and multicultural clinical training, and students complete supervised field placements in their own communities, which allows them to seek experiences in settings that serve older adults. Reported outcomes include an average net price near $58,100 and median earnings around $82,900 for the university, while program-specific earnings are not yet published. The institution-wide graduation rate is approximately 83 percent.

  • Master of Arts in Clinical Psychology: Marriage and Family Therapy Emphasis — Online
    Pepperdine University
    No entrance exam
    • No entrance exam required
    • Complete in as few as 27 months
    • Four start dates per year
    • Meets California LMFT and LPCC licensure requirements
    • Supervised field placement sessions in your community
    • Average class size of 14 students
    • Scholarships available up to $5,000
    • Synchronous and asynchronous learning options
    Visit Website
SA

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

Winona, MN · $12,000/yr

Best for: Faith-centered students wanting holistic counselor preparation

This hybrid M.S. in Clinical Psychology blends online coursework with two required in-person residencies and uses a Catholic Christian model of the person throughout the curriculum. Students study psychopathology, multicultural counseling, human development, and positive psychology, then complete 720 hours of supervised clinical training toward LPC or LPCC licensure. Federal data shows an average net price near $11,700 and median earnings around $58,200; program-level earnings are not reported. The university's overall graduation rate is approximately 66 percent.

  • Master of Science in Clinical Psychology — Hybrid
    Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
    Rolling admissions
    • Two-year program
    • Blends online courses with two in-person residencies
    • Catholic Christian meta-model of the person
    • 720 hours of supervised clinical training
    • Prepares for LPC or LPCC licensure
    • Faculty research and publication opportunities
    • Rolling admissions with fall and spring starts
    Visit Website
EM

Emporia State University

Emporia, KS · $9,000/yr

This state university's M.S. in Clinical Psychology uses a hybrid format with both online and on-campus course options, giving students scheduling flexibility while preserving in-person mentorship. The program emphasizes applied training through clinical internships, supervised client work, and research opportunities, and the school holds the College of Distinction designation. Reported figures include an average net price near $16,300, median earnings around $47,600, and an overall graduation rate of about 56 percent.

  • Master of Science in Clinical Psychology — Hybrid
    Emporia State University
    • Hybrid online and on-campus course options
    • Supervised clinical internships
    • Research opportunities with faculty mentors
    • Small class sizes
    • Competitive tuition and scholarship support
    • College of Distinction designation
    Visit Website
VA

Vanguard University of Southern California

Costa Mesa, CA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

This private Southern California university offers an M.S. in Clinical Psychology with either an online track using weekly live sessions or on-campus evening classes. Faith is integrated into a curriculum that draws on psychodynamic, cognitive-behavioral, and client-centered approaches, and students complete practicum work through a network of more than 60 partner sites. Federal data shows an average net price near $21,200 and median earnings around $59,500, while program-specific earnings are not reported. The institution-wide graduation rate is approximately 57 percent.

  • Master of Science in Clinical Psychology — Hybrid
    Vanguard University of Southern California
    • Online track with weekly live sessions
    • On-campus evening class option
    • MFT and PCC licensure preparation for California
    • Practicum access to 60+ partner sites
    • Average cohort size of 12 students
    • Faith-based integration across the curriculum
    • Complete in two to four years
    Visit Website
NA

National Louis University

Chicago, IL · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

This private university offers a Master of Arts in Clinical Psychology that emphasizes assessment, psychopathology, and intervention, followed by a full-year practicum with diverse clients. It functions as a deliberate foundation for doctoral study or supervised mental health practice rather than a fast-track licensing degree. The average net price is about $12,600, reported median earnings are near $45,800, and the institution-wide graduation rate is approximately 30 percent. Program-level earnings are not yet available.

  • Clinical Psychology, M.A., Master's — Hybrid
    National Louis University
    • 50 total semester hours
    • Full-year practicum with diverse clients
    • Core coursework in psychological assessment and psychopathology
    • Requires five undergraduate psychology prerequisites
    • Rolling admissions with an interview
    • Positioned as a step toward doctoral study
    Visit Website

What Is Geropsychology and Why Pursue a Master's Degree?

Geropsychology sits at the intersection of clinical psychology and gerontology, applying psychological principles to the mental health and well-being of older adults. As America ages at an unprecedented rate, the demand for trained geropsychology specialists has never been more urgent, making a master's degree in this field both strategically sound and professionally rewarding.

Defining the Discipline

Geropsychologists assess, diagnose, and treat the cognitive, emotional, and behavioral challenges unique to later life. That includes depression and anxiety in older adults, dementia care and caregiver support, end-of-life counseling, and chronic illness adaptation. The work spans hospitals, nursing homes, community health centers, VA facilities, and private practice. Unlike general counseling or social work, geropsychology integrates knowledge of aging physiology, neurocognitive decline, polypharmacy effects, and the social isolation that often accompanies retirement and widowhood. Master's-level practitioners typically work in applied settings under supervision or as part of interdisciplinary teams, while doctoral-level geropsychologists hold independent licensure and conduct research. For a broader look at the career path, see our guide on how to become a geropsychologist.

Why the Urgency?

The U.S. Census Bureau projects that the 65-and-older population will reach 73 million by 2030, up from 52 million in 2018, and will surpass 80 million by 2040. That translates to roughly one in five Americans entering the age bracket most vulnerable to depression, cognitive impairment, and chronic disease. Yet workforce data paint a troubling picture. A widely cited 2010 American Psychological Association survey found that fewer than five percent of psychologists specialized in aging. Though more recent data remain sparse, the APA's Division 12, Section II on Clinical Geropsychology continues to flag a shortage, and the Health Resources and Services Administration has included geriatric behavioral health in multiple workforce-gap reports. State aging departments and the Institute of Medicine echo the same theme: demand for trained geropsychology professionals far exceeds supply.

The Master's Degree Advantage

Pursuing a master's in geropsychology positions you at the leading edge of a demographic shift. Programs typically require 36 to 48 credits, two years of coursework, and a supervised practicum or internship in an aging-services setting. Graduates qualify for roles such as program coordinator, behavioral health consultant, case manager in long-term care, or supervised therapist in outpatient geriatric clinics. Many states allow master's-level clinicians to sit for the Licensed Professional Counselor credential after accruing supervised hours, opening pathways to reimbursement and independent practice. In short, a geropsychology master's delivers specialized training for a rapidly expanding market while keeping educational investment and timeline more manageable than a doctorate.

The Aging Population at a Glance

The United States is in the middle of an unprecedented demographic shift. As the 65-and-older population surges over the next two decades, demand for mental health professionals trained in later-life issues is accelerating, yet relatively few psychologists currently specialize in aging.

Four statistics on the U.S. aging population: 73 million adults 65 plus by 2030, 80 million by 2040, 22 percent projected psychologist job growth, and roughly 4 percent of psychologists specializing in geropsychology

What You'll Learn in a Geropsychology Master's Program

Most master's-level geropsychology programs expect graduates to log between 300 and 600 supervised clinical hours, with a targeted subset of roughly 180 hours spent working directly with older adults.1 That specificity reflects how seriously the field treats clinical competency with aging populations, not just general counseling skill.

Core Coursework

The academic backbone of these programs covers a focused cluster of topics that you will not find in a general clinical mental health counseling degree. Expect courses in:

  • Psychopathology of aging: Assessment and diagnosis of depression, anxiety, and personality disorders as they present in older adults
  • Cognitive assessment: Neuropsychological testing frameworks used to differentiate normal aging from mild cognitive impairment and dementia
  • Neuropsychology of aging: Brain-behavior relationships across the lifespan, with attention to Alzheimer's disease and related conditions
  • Grief and end-of-life counseling: Therapeutic approaches for loss, anticipatory grief, and care transitions
  • Evidence-based interventions: Structured treatments for dementia-related behavioral symptoms and late-life depression, including adapted CBT and behavioral activation protocols

Clinical Training and Practicum Settings

Practicum placements are where classroom knowledge meets real clinical complexity. Programs typically place students in nursing facilities, VA hospitals, memory clinics, inpatient geriatric psychiatry units, and hospice or palliative care settings. The 300-to-600-hour range is common at the master's level, though programs vary. William James College, for example, structures its doctoral-level geropsychology concentration around 360 fieldwork hours, which gives a useful reference point for the depth of supervised experience the specialty demands even at shorter formats.1

Dual-Track Options and Stackable Certificates

Some programs recognize that students arrive with different goals and build in flexibility. Grand Canyon University offers a Master of Science in Psychology with a Geropsychology Emphasis, delivered entirely online.2 Thomas Edison State University offers a standalone Graduate Certificate in Geropsychology at the graduate level, which can be pursued alongside or after a broader degree.3 The University of Florida's online Master's in Innovative Aging Studies completes in 30 credits.4 These stackable or embedded options let students add aging-specific credentials to a general counseling foundation without committing to a separate degree program from scratch.

The Pikes Peak Model as a Guiding Framework

The Pikes Peak Model for Training in Professional Geropsychology, developed by the Council of Professional Geropsychology Training Programs (CoPGTP), defines the competency domains that well-designed programs aim to address.5 Attitudes, knowledge, and skills around aging are organized across areas like assessment, intervention, consultation, and professional development. At the master's level, programs are generally informed by the Pikes Peak framework rather than formally accredited against it, but faculty who design the curriculum use it as the professional standard of reference. Students exploring a geriatric counselor career path will find that knowing this framework helps them ask sharper questions when evaluating any program they are considering.

Geropsychology Master's Vs. Doctoral Programs: Which Path Is Right for You?

The geropsychology workforce pipeline is splitting into two distinct tracks, and the credential you choose determines not just your job title but the populations and settings you can independently serve. A master's degree opens clinical counseling roles with older adults in two to three years. A doctoral degree (PsyD or PhD) takes five to seven years and unlocks the protected title of psychologist, plus eligibility for board certification in geropsychology.

Time, Scope, and Title

Master's programs typically run 36 to 60 credits and lead to licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC), Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC), or Licensed Mental Health Counselor (LMHC), depending on your state. These clinicians provide individual and group therapy, conduct intake assessments, and coordinate care for older adults in nursing facilities, hospice, community mental health centers, and private practice.

Doctoral graduates earn the title of psychologist after completing an internship, postdoctoral hours, and the EPPP exam. Their scope extends to psychological testing, neuropsychological screening for dementia, supervision of master's-level clinicians, and independent diagnostic work that some payers and settings restrict to doctoral providers.

Board Certification and the ABGERO Question

This is where the paths diverge sharply. The American Board of Professional Psychology (ABPP) offers board certification in geropsychology through ABGERO, but eligibility requires a doctoral degree in psychology from an accredited program, a psychology license, and supervised experience with older adults.1 ABPP also runs a senior application process and an early entry pathway for doctoral candidates, but neither is open to master's-level clinicians.23 There is no master's-tier equivalent.

Salary and Title Conventions

Master's-level counselors specializing in aging populations generally earn less than doctoral psychologists, though exact figures vary by state, setting, and years of experience. One naming convention worth knowing: the term geropsychologist is typically reserved for doctoral-level practitioners. Master's graduates working with older adults are more accurately described as counselors or mental health clinicians with a geriatric specialization. For a full breakdown of roles across the discipline, explore careers in psychology.

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you want to provide direct counseling to older adults, or do you ultimately want the title and scope of a licensed psychologist?
A master's degree prepares you for clinical counseling roles under an LPC or LMHC license, but independent practice as a psychologist requires a doctoral degree. Clarifying this now prevents investing years in a path that does not match your end goal.
Can you commit 5 to 7 years to a doctoral program, or does a 2 to 3 year master's timeline better match your life circumstances?
Doctoral programs carry significantly higher costs and longer training periods. If career entry speed or budget is a real constraint, the master's pathway offers meaningful clinical work without the extended commitment.
Are you drawn to hands-on clinical work with older adults, or does research and program development interest you more?
Master's graduates typically move into direct service roles in memory care, hospice, or community mental health. Research-focused careers in geropsychology usually require doctoral-level training and academic or institutional positions.
Do you know which licensure credential is accepted by employers in your target state and specialty setting?
Some hospital systems and VA facilities specify the credentials they recognize for behavioral health roles. Verifying this before enrollment ensures your degree and license will open the doors you are aiming for.

Admissions Requirements and What Programs Look For

Test-optional admissions versus GRE-required pathways mark a sharp divide in how online geropsychology master's programs evaluate candidates in 2026. Most online programs focusing on clinical mental health counseling or applied psychology with geropsychology concentrations now waive standardized tests entirely, relying instead on undergraduate transcripts, professional experience, and stated interest in aging populations to predict graduate success.

GPA and Academic Prerequisites

A minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0 remains the standard threshold for admission to geropsychology-focused master's programs. Programs typically require coursework in introductory psychology, statistics, research methods, abnormal psychology, and developmental psychology before matriculation. Some institutions, such as American Public University, accept applicants from any bachelor's field but mandate completion of introductory psychology, research methods, and statistical methods before beginning advanced coursework.2 USC's applied psychology program similarly welcomes non-psychology majors and recommends at least one quantitative skills course (statistics, research methods, or math) to prepare for graduate-level analysis.3 If you're wondering how hard it is to get into grad school for psychology, these prerequisite-friendly policies reflect a broader trend toward accessibility.

Beyond Transcripts: Experience and Personal Fit

Competitive applications highlight direct engagement with older adults. Volunteer work in senior centers, hospice care, memory care units, or assisted living facilities demonstrates both commitment to the population and practical understanding of geriatric challenges. These experiences become especially valuable when programs allocate limited practicum placements in geriatric settings, as faculty prioritize candidates who have already shown initiative in the field.

Typical application packages include a personal statement that articulates your motivation for working with aging populations, two to three letters of recommendation (ideally from academic advisors, supervisors in gerontology settings, or psychology faculty), and a current resume or CV that documents relevant coursework, employment, and volunteer roles.

Bridge Pathways for Career Changers

Many programs explicitly accept students from non-psychology bachelor's backgrounds, provided they complete bridge coursework in foundational topics.2 This flexibility opens geropsychology graduate education to nurses, social workers, human services professionals, and other mid-career practitioners seeking specialized training in geriatric mental health without restarting undergraduate study.

Career Outcomes and Salary for Geropsychology Master's Graduates

A master's in geropsychology translates into concrete roles in settings that are actively growing: clinical positions, care coordination, program leadership, and behavioral health consulting for older adults. The degree opens doors that a certificate alone cannot, because licensure as a counselor or clinical specialist requires a full graduate degree, not just a certificate program. A geropsychology certificate may sharpen your expertise, but it does not qualify you for independent clinical practice.

Job Titles to Expect at the Master's Level

Graduates typically pursue roles such as:

  • Licensed professional counselor (geriatric specialization): Provides individual and group therapy to older adults, often in outpatient or community settings.
  • Behavioral health specialist in long-term care: Works embedded in skilled nursing facilities to address depression, anxiety, and adjustment disorders.
  • Neuropsychological technician: Assists licensed neuropsychologists with cognitive assessments and scoring under supervision.
  • Geriatric care coordinator: Bridges clinical and social service needs, often within hospital systems or managed care organizations.
  • Older-adult program director: Leads mental health programming at senior centers, hospice agencies, or Area Agencies on Aging.

Most master's-level clinicians begin supervised practice before obtaining independent licensure, which typically requires 2,000 to 4,000 post-degree hours depending on the state. If you want a broader look at counseling degrees and the pathways they support, that context can help you evaluate where geropsychology fits within the larger field.

Where Geropsychology Graduates Work

Work settings reflect the breadth of older-adult services:

  • VA medical centers, which have robust geriatric mental health programs
  • Skilled nursing and assisted living facilities
  • Hospice and palliative care programs
  • Community mental health centers with aging-population caseloads
  • Private practice (initially under supervision, then independently after licensure)
  • University-based aging research and training centers

Demand is strong across all of these settings as the population of adults aged 65 and older continues to grow.

Salary Benchmarks

The closest national occupational benchmark for master's-level geropsychology graduates is the mental health counselors category tracked by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Nationally, the median annual wage for mental health counselors was $59,190 in 2024.1 The 75th percentile reached $76,230, and the top 10 percent of earners in that category made $98,210 or more per year.1 These are national figures and individual state markets vary considerably, so consulting local labor data alongside these benchmarks is worthwhile.

Graduates who move into program management or care coordination roles may fall under broader administrative or social services occupational categories, and salaries in those tracks can range above the counselor median depending on scope of responsibility and employer type.

Program-level earnings data for geropsychology graduates specifically are not widely published in federal reporting systems, which makes occupational wage benchmarks the most reliable reference point currently available. Talking directly with program alumni or career services staff at programs you are considering can fill in some of those gaps.

How to Become a Geropsychologist With a Master's Degree

The path from graduate student to practicing geropsychology clinician follows a predictable sequence, but the details vary by state. Rather than relying on secondhand summaries, verify each requirement directly: check your state licensing board's website for supervised-hours thresholds, consult BLS.gov for current salary data, and review professional associations like the American Psychological Association's Society of Clinical Geropsychology (Division 12, Section II) for field-specific standards.

Five-step credentialing pathway from bachelor's degree to geropsychology practice with a master's degree
Did You Know?

A master's degree qualifies you to provide clinical counseling to older adults under an LPC or LMHC license, but the title 'psychologist' legally requires a doctorate in every state. For direct geriatric care, the master's pathway is faster and more affordable, letting you start your career sooner.

Frequently Asked Questions About Geropsychology Master's Programs

Prospective students often have similar questions when evaluating geropsychology graduate programs. Below are straightforward answers to the most common ones, drawing on current licensing standards, salary benchmarks, and program formats available in 2026.

What can you do with a master's degree in geropsychology?
A master's opens doors to roles such as geriatric care coordinator, older adult mental health counselor, behavioral health specialist in senior living communities, neuropsychological testing technician, and program director at aging services agencies. Many graduates also work in hospice, VA medical centers, or community mental health organizations serving older populations. The specific title and scope of practice depend on your state's licensure framework.
Is a master's degree enough to practice geropsychology?
It depends on how you define practice. A master's qualifies you for licensed clinical work (LPC, LMHC, or LMFT, depending on the state) focused on older adults. However, the title 'geropsychologist' typically requires a doctoral degree and board certification through the American Board of Geropsychology. Master's graduates can still deliver therapy, assessment support, and care coordination under their respective licenses.
What is the difference between geropsychology and gerontology?
Geropsychology is a specialty within psychology that focuses on the mental health, cognitive functioning, and emotional well-being of older adults. Gerontology is a broader interdisciplinary field studying all aspects of aging, including social, biological, and policy dimensions. A geropsychology master's program emphasizes clinical skills and psychopathology, while a gerontology program may focus more on policy, program administration, or social services.
Are there fully online geropsychology master's programs?
Standalone, fully online master's degrees labeled specifically as geropsychology remain uncommon. More typically, students pursue an online master's in clinical psychology, counseling, or gerontology and then add a geropsychology concentration or certificate. Some programs require brief on-campus residencies or in-person practicum hours. Confirm with each school whether clinical fieldwork can be completed in your local area.
How long does it take to become a geropsychologist?
At the master's level, expect two to three years of graduate coursework plus 1,500 to 4,000 hours of supervised clinical experience (requirements vary by state) before earning licensure. Full-time students who begin supervised hours during their program can finish in roughly three to four years total. Pursuing the doctoral path and board certification in geropsychology typically adds another four to six years beyond the bachelor's degree.
What is the difference between a geropsychology certificate and a master's degree?
A certificate program is shorter, usually 12 to 18 credit hours, and adds a geropsychology specialization to an existing degree. It does not qualify you for independent licensure. A master's degree is a full graduate program of 36 to 60 credits that meets the academic requirements for clinical licensure. Certificates work best for professionals who already hold a master's or doctorate and want to formalize expertise with older adults.
What is the salary for a geropsychologist with a master's degree?
Exact salary data specific to geropsychology is limited because the Bureau of Labor Statistics groups these professionals within broader categories. Nationally, the BLS reports a median annual wage of roughly $53,710 for substance abuse, behavioral disorder, and mental health counselors (as of May 2024). Geropsychology specialists working in healthcare systems or VA settings may earn above that median, particularly in high cost of living states or with several years of postlicensure experience.

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit

Follow us