2027 Best Psychology Programs in North Dakota | Online & Campus
Updated August 29, 202620 min read

2027 Best Psychology Programs in North Dakota | Online & Campus

Compare top-ranked master's and doctoral programs by cost, format, accreditation, and career outcomes across ND schools.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • UND holds the only APA-accredited psychology doctoral programs in North Dakota, covering both clinical and counseling tracks.
  • North Dakota psychology professionals often earn above national median wages due to limited provider supply across the state.
  • Three distinct licensure paths exist in North Dakota, each tied to specific degree levels, supervised hours, and exams.
  • Forensic psychology, applied behavior analysis, and clinical mental health counseling are among the specializations available statewide.

North Dakota psychology applicants typically weigh a narrow field of in-state options against the convenience of online delivery, and the tradeoff cuts both ways. The state has two main players: the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks and the University of Mary in Bismarck. Net prices land in a tight band, roughly $17,770 at University of Mary and $18,551 at UND, with online formats available at both.

UND's forensic psychology master's runs fully online or on-campus across 30 credit hours, with no GRE required. University of Mary's online B.S. in Psychology accepts transfer credits and military experience. Students exploring counseling tracks should also review the best master's in counseling programs in North Dakota. With APA-accredited doctoral training concentrated at UND, program choice often hinges on licensure goals rather than geography alone.

Best Psychology Programs in North Dakota: Rankings Overview

Below are the psychology programs in North Dakota that stood out most in our 2026 review. Each institution earned recognition for its blend of affordability, flexible study options, and clear alignment with counseling and behavioral health careers.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Net price and financial aid
  • Graduation and retention rates
  • Program availability and flexibility
  • Post-graduate earnings and debt
  • Accreditation and licensure pathways
Data sources
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
UN

University of North Dakota

Grand Forks, ND · $14,000/yr

Best for: Aspiring forensic psychology master's students

University of North Dakota in Grand Forks is a public research university and one of the state's primary providers of psychology-related graduate education. Programs span forensic psychology, counseling, and applied behavior analysis, with coursework grounded in both research methods and practice settings such as courts, corrections, schools, and social services. The university is widely recognized for affordable, flexible degree pathways for working professionals, and alumni are employed at agencies ranging from the FBI to the Veterans Administration.

  • Forensic Psychology (Master's) — Online
    University of North Dakota
    No entrance exam
    • 2-year program; 30 total credit hours
    • 10 courses; starts fall or spring
    • No GRE or entrance exam required
    • Explores criminal behavior, psychopathology, law, and assessment
    • Graduates enter trial consulting, corrections, or doctoral study
    Visit Website
  • Applied Behavior Analysis (Master of Science in Special Education) — Online
    University of North Dakota
    No entrance exam
    • Fall, spring, and summer start dates
    • Minimum 2.8 GPA required
    • 1.5-plus years to complete
    • Pairs special education training with applied behavior analysis
    • Resident Teachers program option available
    Visit Website
  • Applied Behavior Analysis Certificate — Online
    University of North Dakota
    • 22 total credit hours
    • Complete in 1 to 1.5 years
    • Starts fall or spring
    • Prepares students for BCBA credential
    • Practicum opportunity available
    • Works in early childhood, school, or corporate settings
    Visit Website
  • Master of Arts in Counseling — Online
    University of North Dakota
    • 60 to 66 credit hours; 2 to 3 years
    • Multiple concentration tracks available
    • Practicum and internship experiences included
    • Flexible coursework designed for working adults
    Visit Website
UN

University of Mary

Bismarck, ND · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Catholic counseling degree seekers

University of Mary in Bismarck is a private Catholic university that serves as a regional gateway to psychology and counseling careers. Its psychology offerings pair research and statistics training with a Christian anthropology perspective, a distinctive angle for students drawn to faith-integrated education. The institution is known for supporting working adults and military-affiliated learners through transfer credit, prior-learning credit, and straightforward per-credit tuition. Its counseling master's options hold relevant accreditation and are structured to align with North Dakota licensure requirements, giving graduates a clear path into the state's growing mental health workforce.

  • Bachelor of Science in Psychology — Online
    University of Mary
    Military benefits
    • $510 per-credit tuition
    • Earn degree in as few as 1.3 years
    • 2.0 GPA minimum
    • Fall, spring, and summer start dates
    • Transfer and prior-learning credits accepted
    • Military benefits accepted
    • Christian anthropology perspective in courses
    • Research methods and statistics training
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Counseling, Clinical Mental Health — Hybrid
    University of Mary
    • CACREP-accredited program
    • 20 to 32 months to complete
    • $665 per-credit tuition
    • Prepares students for North Dakota counseling licensure
    • Coursework plus supervised clinical experiences
    • 18% projected job growth for counseling roles
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Counseling, Catholic Anthropology — Hybrid
    University of Mary
    • 20-month track for working professionals
    • $640 per-credit tuition
    • Minimum 2.75 GPA required
    • Integrates Catholic teachings with counseling theory
    • Unique faith-based niche in North Dakota
    • Serves parish, school, and Catholic health settings
    Visit Website

Tuition and Cost Comparison for ND Psychology Programs

Tuition varies meaningfully between North Dakota's main psychology program providers, and funding opportunities can offset costs significantly. The figures below reflect institutional tuition rates from IPEDS data alongside program-level details where available. Note that graduate program costs may differ from the posted undergraduate tuition, so confirm current rates directly with each school before applying.

InstitutionTypeIn-State Tuition (Annual)Out-of-State Tuition (Annual)Net PriceCounseling M.A. Per-Credit CostGraduate Assistantship OptionsMedian Graduate Debt
University of North DakotaPublic$13,677$19,658$18,551~$800 (online rate, same regardless of residency)GTA, GRA, GSA (10 or 20 hrs/week); tuition waivers possible; Dr. Dennis Spjut Psychology Graduate Scholarship also available$22,057
University of MaryPrivate$22,356$22,356$17,770Not reported at the program levelNot specified in available data$24,000

Questions to Ask Yourself

Do you need a fully online program, or can you attend classes on campus in Fargo or Grand Forks?
North Dakota's psychology programs cluster around UND and NDSU, both requiring significant in-person components for clinical training. Fully online options exist but may limit your specialization choices and networking opportunities with faculty.
Are you pursuing licensure as a psychologist or as a licensed counselor?
Psychologist licensure in North Dakota requires a doctoral degree, while licensed professional counselors can practice with a master's. This distinction shapes which programs qualify you for your intended career path and adds years to your timeline if you need the doctorate.
Can you relocate for practicum and internship placements, or do clinical sites need to be near your current home?
Many doctoral programs require internships at approved sites that may not exist in rural areas of North Dakota. If you cannot relocate, verify that your program has established partnerships with supervisors and facilities within commuting distance of where you live.

Online Vs. On-Campus Psychology Programs in North Dakota

The growing acceptance of telehealth in mental health practice has not eliminated the in-person clinical requirements that form the backbone of psychology licensure, a tension that distance learners in North Dakota must navigate carefully. Securing supervised practicum and internship hours remains a hands-on process, and understanding how online programs align with state and accreditation standards is essential before enrolling.

How UND and NDSU Handle Distance Learner Placements

Both the University of North Dakota (UND) and North Dakota State University (NDSU) offer psychology programs with varying levels of online coursework. Their psychology department websites are the best starting point for distance learners: program coordinators listed on those pages can provide detailed handbooks, specific policies for out-of-state clinical placements, and guidance on locating approved supervisors. Some programs may require you to identify your own sites, while others maintain networks of vetted partners. Contacting the department directly early in the application process clarifies what support you will have and what legwork is yours.

North Dakota's Licensure Rules for Clinical Hours

The North Dakota Board of Psychologist Examiners sets the practicum and internship hour requirements that every licensure candidate must meet, regardless of whether their degree was earned online or on campus. The board's website outlines current standards, including the total supervised hours, the type of settings accepted, and any restrictions on virtual versus in-person client contact. It also addresses questions around out-of-state placements: distance learners who plan to complete clinical hours outside North Dakota should verify whether those hours will count toward state licensure. Board policies are the final authority, so checking them before committing to a placement prevents costly delays later.

APA Accreditation and Its Clinical Training Standards

The American Psychological Association publishes accreditation standards that apply to both traditional and online programs. For clinical psychology programs, as well as counseling and school psychology tracks, APA guidelines specify that practicum and internship experiences must involve direct client contact, systematic supervision, and for some elements, in-person interaction. Online programs often incorporate intensive on-campus residencies or require students to travel to approved training sites. Reviewing the APA's current Standards of Accreditation helps prospective students determine whether an online program's structure can realistically support the clinical training depth that licensure boards expect.

Using BLS Data as a Starting Point

General career pathway information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS.gov) can help you understand the typical education, supervised experience, and examination steps for psychologists. However, the BLS provides broad national descriptions, not state-specific placement rules. State licensure boards are the definitive source for policies governing practicum hours, site approval, and telehealth supervision. Use BLS resources to get a big-picture sense of the field, but rely on the North Dakota Board of Psychologist Examiners for the details that directly affect your clinical training journey.

Psychology Specializations Available in North Dakota

Forensic psychology stands out as one of the most accessible graduate specializations in North Dakota, with the University of North Dakota offering both online and on-campus pathways at the master's level. Beyond this track, the state's psychology programs span clinical, counseling, school, and general psychology concentrations, though the delivery format and degree level vary considerably by institution.

Clinical and Counseling Psychology Tracks

North Dakota's doctoral programs in clinical psychology prepare students for the licensed psychologist credential, which requires a PhD or PsyD in the state. These programs typically involve intensive supervised clinical hours and dissertation research. Counseling psychology, offered at both master's and doctoral levels, leads to different endpoints: a master's degree qualifies graduates to pursue Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) status, while a doctoral degree opens the path to full psychologist licensure. Students interested in the LPC route may also want to explore licensed professional counselor online degree options to compare curriculum structures. Clarifying career goals early is essential, as the licensing implications differ substantially.

School Psychology and Forensic Tracks

School psychology programs in North Dakota typically culminate in a specialist-level degree (EdS) or a master's plus additional coursework, preparing graduates for school psychologist certification rather than the broader licensed psychologist title. These programs focus on assessment, intervention, and consultation within K-12 educational settings.

The University of North Dakota's forensic psychology program offers notable flexibility. Students can complete all 30 credit hours online through asynchronous coursework, or they can attend on campus. This master's degree does not lead to licensed psychologist status, but it prepares graduates for careers in legal settings, victim advocacy, correctional systems, and law enforcement consultation. For a broader look at programs nationwide, see our ranking of forensic psychology master's programs.

Online vs. On-Campus Availability

Online options in North Dakota concentrate primarily at the bachelor's and master's levels. The University of Mary offers a fully online Bachelor of Science in Psychology, while UND's forensic psychology master's program provides complete online accessibility. Doctoral programs in clinical psychology generally require substantial in-person components due to supervised practicum and internship requirements. Students seeking maximum scheduling flexibility should note that online master's in psychology programs are available in forensic or general psychology tracks, but those pursuing licensed psychologist credentials will likely need to commit to on-campus doctoral training for at least part of their education.

How to Become a Licensed Psychologist or Counselor in North Dakota

North Dakota offers three distinct licensure tracks for psychology and counseling graduates, each with its own degree requirements, supervised experience thresholds, and examinations. Understanding which pathway aligns with your degree level is essential before you start a program.

Three parallel licensure pathways in North Dakota covering licensed psychologist, licensed professional counselor, and school psychologist credentials

Accreditation and Licensure: Which ND Programs Are APA or CACREP Accredited?

The University of North Dakota currently operates two APA-accredited doctoral programs: the Clinical Psychology Ph.D. and the Counseling Psychology Ph.D., both holding active accreditation as of 2024.12 North Dakota State University does not hold APA accreditation for any psychology programs at this time.3 This distinction has direct, practical consequences for students planning to pursue licensure as psychologists, both in North Dakota and nationally.

Why APA Accreditation Matters for Licensure

APA accreditation is the national gold standard for doctoral psychology programs. Most state licensing boards, including North Dakota's Board of Psychologist Examiners, require applicants to have graduated from an APA-accredited program or one that meets substantially equivalent standards. Graduating from an accredited program simplifies the licensure process in North Dakota and, critically, in other states if you relocate later. Without APA accreditation, you may face additional review, extra coursework requirements, or even outright ineligibility in some jurisdictions. Portability is not a trivial issue: early-career psychologists frequently move for internships, postdocs, or first jobs, and accreditation smooths those transitions.

CACREP Accreditation for Master's Counseling Programs

CACREP accreditation applies to master's-level counseling programs, not doctoral psychology programs. It is the national standard for clinical mental health counseling, school counseling, and related specialties. In North Dakota, CACREP-accredited master's programs prepare graduates for Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) credentials, not psychologist licensure. Students interested in LPC pathways may also want to explore best clinical mental health counseling programs at the national level. Master's counseling programs may hold CACREP accreditation even if they are not affiliated with an APA-accredited psychology program. The two accrediting bodies serve different professions and different licensure pathways. If your goal is LPC licensure, confirm CACREP status with the programs you are considering. If your goal is psychologist licensure, you must complete a doctoral program, and APA accreditation is the clearest path.

Mapping Accreditation to ND Licensure Pathways

UND's Clinical Psychology Ph.D. and Counseling Psychology Ph.D. both qualify graduates for the psychologist licensure track in North Dakota, which requires a doctoral degree, supervised hours, and passing the EPPP exam. CACREP-accredited master's programs, by contrast, lead to LPC licensure, which has its own supervised-hours and exam requirements (typically the National Counselor Examination). The credentials are not interchangeable, and the accreditation bodies reflect that division. Choose your program type based on the license you intend to pursue, and verify current accreditation status directly with the program and the relevant accrediting body before you apply.

Did You Know?

Accreditation is not a nice-to-have, it is a gatekeeper. North Dakota requires your degree to come from a regionally accredited institution before you can pursue licensure, and earning that degree from an APA or CACREP accredited program also smooths the path if you ever want to practice across state lines, since many states tie reciprocity directly to programmatic accreditation.

Admission Requirements and Tips for ND Psychology Programs

Admission to North Dakota's psychology graduate programs demands careful preparation, with requirements varying sharply by degree level and specialty. The University of North Dakota sets a baseline graduate GPA of 2.75 overall, or 3.0 in the last two years of undergraduate work, but competitive programs require far higher marks.1 UND's Clinical and General/Experimental Psychology PhD tracks expect a minimum 3.5 GPA, reflecting the competitive nature of getting into grad school for psychology.2 Both UND and NDSU admit doctoral students without requiring terminal master's degrees, awarding the MS en route to the PhD.3

Test Scores and Prerequisite Coursework

GRE requirements have shifted across North Dakota programs. UND's Counseling Psychology PhD eliminated the GRE as of 2021, joining a national trend toward test-optional admissions.4 The Counseling Psychology program instead requires applicants to have completed graduate-level counseling courses with grades of B or higher before applying, a prerequisite that narrows the pool to candidates with prior graduate training or post-baccalaureate coursework.4 NDSU's Psychology PhD, a 90-credit research-intensive program, does not publicly specify GRE mandates as of 2024, though individual faculty advisors may weigh scores during selection.3 Check directly with each program's admissions office for the most current testing policies.

Application Materials and Deadlines

All applicants submit a standard package through UND's online portal: three letters of recommendation, official transcripts, a personal statement, and the application fee.5 Letters should come from faculty or supervisors who can speak to research ability, clinical aptitude, or academic rigor. Personal statements must articulate research interests, career goals, and fit with specific faculty mentors, particularly for PhD programs where advisor match drives admissions decisions. Deadlines typically fall in December or early January for fall enrollment, though UND's Forensic Psychology MA accepts rolling applications in some years.6

Strengthening Your Application

Competitiveness varies by track. UND's Clinical Psychology PhD and NDSU's online doctoral programs in psychology accept small cohorts, often fewer than six students per year, from applicant pools of 50 or more. To stand out, accumulate research experience through undergraduate honors theses, lab assistantships, or post-graduate research coordinator roles. Publications or conference presentations carry significant weight. Clinical applicants benefit from supervised practicum hours or crisis-line volunteering. Address application weaknesses head-on: if your GPA falls below the clinical cutoff, a strong master's GPA, compelling research portfolio, and faculty endorsements can offset undergraduate performance. Contact prospective advisors before applying to gauge fit and demonstrate genuine interest in their labs.

Career Outcomes and Salaries for Psychology Graduates in North Dakota

North Dakota psychology professionals often earn above national medians, reflecting strong demand in a state with limited provider supply. Below is a comparison of state-level median annual wages for key psychology and counseling occupations in North Dakota versus their national counterparts, based on the most recent BLS data. Program-level earnings for graduates of the University of North Dakota and the University of Mary are not yet published at the program level, but institution-wide median earnings ten years after enrollment are $63,552 and $60,909 respectively.

North Dakota median wages for clinical psychologists, school psychologists, and counselors compared to national medians in 2023

Frequently Asked Questions About Psychology Programs in North Dakota

Prospective students often have practical questions about cost, timeline, licensure, and format before committing to a psychology program in North Dakota. The answers below draw on current program details and state licensing rules to help you plan with confidence.

Are there online psychology master's programs in North Dakota?
Yes. The University of North Dakota offers a fully online Master of Arts/Master of Science in Forensic Psychology that requires 30 credit hours and can be completed in about two years. The program features asynchronous coursework, so students can study from anywhere. Other North Dakota institutions may offer hybrid or partially online graduate options, but UND's forensic psychology track is the most established fully online master's pathway in the state.
What is the total cost of a psychology master's degree in North Dakota?
Costs vary by school and residency. At the University of North Dakota, in-state graduate tuition runs roughly $13,677, while out-of-state students can expect around $19,658 for the full program. Private institutions and programs with more credit hours will cost more. Factor in fees, books, and any practicum-related travel when budgeting. Financial aid, graduate assistantships, and employer tuition benefits can reduce your net price significantly.
How long does it take to complete a psychology master's in North Dakota?
Most master's programs in the state require 30 to 60 credit hours, depending on the specialization. A 30-credit program like UND's forensic psychology track typically takes about two years of full-time study. Clinical or counseling tracks with practicum and internship components often require 48 to 60 credits and may take two and a half to three years. Part-time enrollment extends the timeline further.
What APA-accredited psychology programs are available in North Dakota?
APA accreditation applies at the doctoral level, not the master's level. The University of North Dakota's doctoral program in clinical psychology holds APA accreditation, making it the primary APA-accredited option in the state. If you are pursuing a master's degree in counseling, look for CACREP accreditation instead, which is the recognized standard for counselor education programs. Accreditation status can change, so verify directly with each program before applying.
Can I get licensed as a psychologist with a master's degree in North Dakota?
No. North Dakota requires a doctoral degree to become a Licensed Psychologist. Candidates must also pass the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), complete a state oral exam, and accumulate supervised professional experience. A master's degree can qualify you for other credentials, such as Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor or Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist, but the Licensed Psychologist title is reserved for doctorate holders.
What careers can I pursue with a psychology master's from a North Dakota school?
A master's degree opens doors to roles such as licensed professional counselor, forensic psychology specialist, behavioral health case manager, substance abuse counselor, or human services program coordinator. Graduates also work in criminal justice settings, schools, community mental health centers, and private practice (once licensed). Earning potential and job titles depend on your specialization, licensure credentials, and whether you continue to a doctoral program.

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit