Telehealth Training for Mental Health Professionals (2026)
Updated August 31, 202619 min read

How to Choose Telehealth Training as a Mental Health Professional

Compare certificates, CE options, HIPAA and platform training, and licensing factors.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Telehealth certificate programs range from under $150 to over $1,000.
  • PSYPACT and the Counseling Compact now cover most U.S. states.
  • Verify NBCC, APA, or NASW approval before paying for any program.

By 2026, telehealth accounts for roughly 37% of behavioral health visits in the United States, and most state licensing boards now expect clinicians to demonstrate specific telemental health competencies before delivering care remotely. That expectation is codified in board rules, insurer credentialing forms, and malpractice carrier questionnaires that ask directly whether a provider has completed distance-therapy training.

The credential market has responded with a mix of options: board-approved continuing education modules, university certificates, and multi-level designations like the BC-TMH from the Center for Credentialing and Education. Prices span roughly $0 to $1,200, and not all of them satisfy the same regulators.

Cost and recognition rarely track together, which is where most clinicians get tripped up.

What Is Telehealth Training for Mental Health Professionals?

Telehealth training has shifted from an emergency workaround into a structured, competency-based part of professional preparation. A 2024 systematic review of telemental health provider training found that all included studies reported significant gains in knowledge, skills, and abilities after training, measured through pre/post self-reports, objective tests, skills checklists, and simulated or real performance ratings.2

Core Competency Areas

Telehealth training is not just learning how to use a video platform. It teaches a clinician to reproduce essential in-person functions at a distance while managing privacy, regulation, technology in counseling, and therapeutic presence. The Coalition for Technology in Behavioral Science (CTiBS) identifies seven interprofessional competency domains: clinical evaluation and care, virtual environment and telepresence, technology, legal and regulatory issues, evidence-based and ethical practice, mobile health and apps, and telepractice development.1 For most working mental health professionals, those domains can be grouped into four practical areas.

  • Clinical: assessment, intervention, risk management, and knowing when telehealth is appropriate or when an in-person referral is safer.
  • Technical: platform operation, camera and audio setup, troubleshooting, and digital documentation.
  • Legal and ethical: HIPAA compliance, informed consent, emergency protocols, and telehealth licensure boundaries.
  • Cultural: adapting care to a client's home environment, digital access, language, and health literacy.

Why Formal Training Is Now Expected

State licensing boards, payers, and risk-management advisors increasingly expect providers to show formal preparation rather than casual familiarity. A structured training record can support credentialing, supervision, and professional liability conversations. The 2024 review links training to significant gains in knowledge, skills, and abilities, along with improvements in access, competencies, collaboration, and rapid adaptation, plus high user satisfaction.2 In practice, those gains often translate into stronger session preparedness and fewer preventable technology-related disruptions. Implementation research adds a useful caution: training and education are the most frequently used implementation strategy in telemental health, but programs typically combine multiple strategies, so training is best treated as a necessary foundation rather than the entire implementation plan.3

Certificate, CE, or Both?

Formal telehealth education is usually offered in two formats. telemental health certificate programs tend to involve a structured sequence, often with assessment or supervised practice, while CE-based options may be shorter and focused on renewal or payer credentialing. The next section explains how to compare these formats before you pay.

Types of Telehealth Training and Certificates

Not all telehealth credentials carry the same weight. The landscape ranges from brief, no-cost orientation modules to multi-level board certifications, and choosing the right format depends on where you are in your career, what your licensing board will accept, and how deeply you need to build clinical telehealth skills. The comparison below groups credentials into four common categories so you can quickly identify which path fits your goals. Free introductory courses are useful for orientation, but they should not be treated as substitutes for the clinical readiness that fuller programs provide.

Credential TypeTypical FormatIdeal ForCE Credits (Range)Key Limitations
Full Certificate ProgramsMulti-module, self-paced or cohort-based online programs completed over several weeks. Examples include the UNE Online Telemedicine Professional Certificate (4 modules, 12 weeks) and the Northeastern University Professional Certificate in Telehealth.Licensed clinicians who want a structured, comprehensive credential covering core telehealth competencies, HIPAA compliance, and clinical best practices.10 to 15+ contact hours (e.g., 15.3 CNEs for UNE Online, 10 AMA Category 1 Credits for Northeastern)These are professional certificates, not academic credit or state licenses. Time commitment is higher than shorter options, and fees are typically the steepest category.
CE-Only CoursesStandalone online courses focused on a single topic or skill area, completed in a few hours. The American Telemedicine Association's course on delivering video-based mental health services and the American Heart Association's Core Concepts in Telehealth are representative examples.Providers who need targeted continuing education hours to satisfy a licensing board requirement or employer mandate without committing to a full certificate track.1.5 to 5.25 hours per course (varies by provider and discipline)Narrow scope per course. Partial credit is generally not awarded, and credits may be discipline-specific (e.g., AMA PRA Category 1 Credits for physicians only). Multiple courses may be needed to build comprehensive competency.
Free Introductory ModulesShort, self-paced online overviews offered by professional associations, government agencies, or training platforms. Often one to two hours in length.Students, early-career professionals, or clinicians exploring whether telehealth practice is right for them before investing in a paid program.0 to 1.5 hours (some offer a small number of free CE credits, such as the 1.5-hour Telemental Health Best Practices Overview)These modules provide orientation, not clinical training. They do not prepare you to handle complex telehealth scenarios, manage platform security independently, or meet most state licensing board telehealth requirements.
Multi-Level Specialty CredentialsTiered board certification tracks with progressive depth. The Board Certified Telehealth Professional (BCTP) program, for example, offers Level I (foundational), Level II (intermediate), and Level III (advanced) certifications through Telehealth.org.Clinicians committed to telehealth as a primary service delivery model who want a recognized, portable credential that signals advanced competency to employers and payers.15 to 34+ CME/CE contact hours across levels (15 hours at BCTP Level I, 34 hours at Level II)Higher levels require prerequisite completion and additional investment in both time and cost. The credential is a professional designation, not a state license, and not all licensing boards formally recognize board telehealth certifications for scope-of-practice purposes.

How to Evaluate Telehealth Training Programs

A glossy certificate and a credential that will hold up in a licensing audit can look identical on a website. The same scrutiny behind How to Evaluate Online Counseling & Psychology Programs applies here: the difference is usually in the approval language, the assessment, and whether the credentialing body recognizes the training as more than continuing education. That difference matters for license renewal and audit defense.

Start with the approval bodies that matter

For many license renewal and audit situations, the names that carry weight are NBCC, APA, and NASW, but they mean different things. The Board Certified-TeleMental Health Provider (BC-TMH) from the Center for Credentialing & Education, an NBCC affiliate, is a formal credential among certifications for therapists, not just a course certificate.1 It requires an active qualifying license or NCC, completion of approved training through a registered provider4, and a proctored 100-item TeleMental Health Examination2. That credential is valid for five years and comes with its own code of ethics.3

APA's revised Telepsychology Guidelines are practice standards, not a credential, and APA does not formally endorse specific telehealth certificates in 2025-2026.5 NASW approval, by contrast, is a continuing education approval; it is recognized by 46 or more state boards, but not by New York or West Virginia, and it does not equal board certification.6

Verify before you purchase

Ask these questions before paying: - Instructor credentials: Does the instructor hold a recognized telehealth credential or qualifying license, and is that documented? - Live vs recorded interaction: Some states require real-time interactive training. Nevada, for example, requires at least two hours of real-time interaction for certain CE.6 - Assessment format: Is there a graded final or proctored exam? The BC-TMH requires a proctored exam, not just a completion certificate. - Certificate language: The certificate should state the exact approval body, CE hours, credential name, and whether it is a credential versus a CE certificate.

Watch for red-flag wording

Be wary of phrases like "accredited by" when the program only holds CE approval. CE approval is not programmatic accreditation. North Carolina, for instance, requires distance learning courses to be pre-approved by NASW, NASW chapters, or ASWB.7 If a program cannot show that pre-approval or the specific board endorsement, treat the certificate as supplementary, not sufficient.

Did You Know?

A certificate of completion just means you finished the coursework, it's not the same as board-approved continuing education or a verified competency endorsement. Before paying for any teletherapy training program, confirm the provider's NBCC, APA, or NASW approval number and check it directly against the sponsor's official CE list rather than trusting a logo on their website.

HIPAA, Platform Security, and Technology Competency

The convenience of telehealth quickly becomes a liability when platform security and consent workflows get treated as an afterthought. Providers weigh ease of use against the risk that a video tool or messaging app will expose protected health information. The first rule is to separate compliance from marketing claims: there is no federal "HIPAA-certified" designation for teletherapy platforms.1 A vendor becomes compliant through a signed business associate agreement, the foundation of hipaa compliant online counseling, which must be in place before the first patient encounter with every vendor that touches PHI.1 Technical safeguards should include TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, AES-256 or equivalent at rest, and end-to-end encryption where feasible.2 If end-to-end encryption is not supported, you need documented justification, not just a vendor's assurance. Access controls should include unique user IDs, role-based access, automatic logoff, and multi-factor authentication at least for privileged or remote access.4

Consent and Emergency Planning

Documented consent is not a one-time checkbox. The record should capture the telehealth modality, how patient identity was verified, the patient's location during the session, and explicit authorization for any recording.6 It also needs a crisis and technology failure plan: a local emergency contact or crisis resource and a clear fallback such as a phone call if the platform disconnects. States may layer on additional consent language, and Michigan, for example, has required documented consent before telehealth services for all licensed professionals since May 7, 2025.5 Keep signed, versioned consent records so you can produce the exact language the patient agreed to if a question arises later. Check your current state statute and any counseling licensure compact rules rather than relying on a generic template.6

Platform Selection and Reimbursement

Look for comprehensive, immutable audit logs that show who accessed what, when, and what actions they took, including administrative and configuration changes.4 Reject ad-supported free versions for clinical sessions. Advertising networks can process session metadata even when the video stream itself is encrypted. On the billing side, telehealth modifiers and eligibility rules differ by payer and state. State reimbursement policies may pay audio-only mental health visits at roughly 80% of the in-person rate while live video is paid at parity; confirm the specific modifier required before submitting the claim.5 For international clients, GDPR may also apply, typically requiring a lawful basis such as provision of health care or explicit consent, along with data minimization and recording consent.

In 2026, HHS OCR settled with a behavioral health provider for $103,000 after a phishing attack exposed electronic protected health information of 1,980 patients, according to HHS OCR.

Licensing, Compact, and Cross-Jurisdiction Considerations

Interstate licensure compacts are agreements between states that let a clinician licensed in one member state legally practice in another member state without applying for a second full license. For teletherapy, this matters because the governing rule is the client's physical location during the session, not the clinician's. If your client drives across a state line for a session, jurisdiction changes with them.

The Three Compacts You Need to Know

  • PSYPACT (psychologists): Active in 42 jurisdictions as of 2026, covering 40 states plus the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. This is the most mature of the three and the standard route for psychologists doing interjurisdictional telepsychology.
  • Counseling Compact (LPCs/LMHCs): 40 active states as of 2026. Rollout is staggered: a state can enact the compact legislatively before it goes "live" for practice. Arkansas, for example, went live on July 30, 2026. Check current status before you rely on it.
  • Social Work Compact: Still in the buildout phase. Verify current participation directly with your state board before assuming coverage.

Compact Privilege vs. Full Licensure

A compact privilege authorizes you to practice in another member state under your home-state license. It is faster and cheaper than obtaining a second full license, but it is conditional: you must maintain your home license in good standing, follow the receiving state's practice laws, and stay within the compact's scope. A full license in a second state is separate credentialing, involves that board's fees and requirements, and does not evaporate if your home license lapses. Many telehealth clinicians hold one full license plus compact privileges in additional states.

When the Client Is in a Non-Compact State

If your client travels to or lives in a state that is not part of the relevant compact, and you are not licensed there, you generally cannot deliver a session. Some states offer temporary practice allowances or short-term exceptions, but these vary widely. The safest workflow: verify client location at the start of every session, and pause care if they have moved into a jurisdiction where you are not authorized.

Remote Crisis Coordination

Build a safety protocol tied to client location, not yours. At intake, document the client's current address, a local emergency contact, and the nearest crisis line or mobile crisis team. If you need to call 911 during a session, dispatch must go to the client's location, which may require calling that jurisdiction's non-emergency line rather than your local 911. Record the location verification, the action taken, and follow-up steps in the session note.

The most common compliance failure isn't a hacked platform, it's a therapist seeing a client who has driven across a state line without holding a license to practice there.

counselingpsychology.org editorial team

What Telehealth Certificate Programs Cost (And What You Get)

Telehealth certificate programs range from under $150 to well over $1,000, and the differences go beyond price. The table below compares five widely recognized programs on cost, duration, continuing education credits, delivery format, and the credentialing bodies behind them. Use it as a starting point, then verify current pricing and approval status directly with each provider before enrolling.

ProgramCostDurationCE CreditsFormatAccreditation / Approval
TeleMental Health Training Program (THTC), Telehealth Certification Institute$247Must be completed within four years of applying for BC-TMH (course access window not specified)15.5 hoursOnline, self-pacedNBCC Approved Continuing Education Provider (ACEP No. 6693)
Telehealth Certification Training (CTMH), PESIVaries by event; PESI covers the $149.99 certification application fee2-day live trainingNot specified on source pageLive event (in-person or virtual) plus post-event evaluationQualifies for Certified Clinical Telemental Health Provider (CTMH) through Evergreen Certifications
Person Centered Tech Telemental Health Certificate$349 to $649 (depending on package)6 to 8 weeks, self-paced17 CE hours in core on-demand course (total certificate hours vary by package)Mix of on-demand courses with CE certificate after evaluation and post-testStructured to meet Washington State telemedicine training requirements under SB 6061 for counselors, MFTs, clinical social workers, and psychologists
Certificate in Digital Mental Health, CONCEPT at Palo Alto University$1,35012 months of access, self-paced50 hoursFully online, self-paced bundle of four training programs with digital badgeCE credit through APA, NBCC, CPA, and ASWB approvals (varies by licensing board)
Certificate in Online and Telephone Counselling, Counselling Tutor£130 (discounted from £399)80 hours of guided tuition, exercises, and buddy training80 CPD hours100% online, self-paced via secure portalMapped to ACTO and BACP core competencies; includes ACTO Levels 1 and 2 training

Best Practices for Effective Online Therapy

Effective online therapy is not in-person therapy on a screen; it requires deliberate adjustments that protect rapport, safety, and cultural fit.

Build Rapport Through Camera and Environment

Camera positioning shapes the clinical presence clients perceive. Place the camera at eye level, frame your face and shoulders, and look at the lens when speaking so clients feel direct attention. Reduce background noise and visual distractions, and use headphones when your environment is not fully private. Because video narrows nonverbal cues, add more explicit verbal check-ins: summarize what you heard, name the emotion you think you are picking up, and ask whether that matches the client's experience. At the start, confirm that both ends of the session are private and that no one else is listening, and review telehealth-specific risks in informed consent, including technology limitations, confidentiality, and backup procedures if the connection drops.

Plan for Remote Crisis and Safety

Remote work does not weaken safety obligations. At each encounter, verify the client's physical location and contact information, and document the modality and any technical disruptions. Before teletherapy begins, build a location-specific safety plan: local crisis number, nearest emergency department, and a trusted contact. Screen for risk just as you would in person, and do not assume a familiar home setting is a safe one. For trauma survivors, obtain consent for the telehealth format, secure privacy from household members, and offer virtual safety resources such as crisis hotlines and peer support. Avoid commenting on a client's living space, and use collaborative language rather than directive or objectifying phrasing.

Adapt for Culture, Language, and Population

Cultural competence in therapy requires more than avoiding assumptions. Use a trained interpreter when language is a barrier, not a family member, and ask about dialect preference; bilingual counseling skills can help when language concordance matters.3 Use gender-affirming language and pronouns, and ask clients what they need to feel safe and understood rather than guessing from what you see onscreen. For trauma, youth, and rural clients affected by the rural mental health services gap, adapt evidence-based practice to telehealth by checking current research, the client's preference, and access constraints. The 2024 APA Telepsychology Guidelines frame these choices as conditional: examine current evidence, outcomes research, and client preference before selecting a technology.1 Meta-analytic evidence for telehealth PTSD treatment is moderate, with only small differences from in-person care; prolonged exposure and cognitive processing therapy have strong support, while written exposure therapy and trauma-focused cognitive behavioral therapy are promising.2

Session-Ready Telehealth Competency Sequence

Every teletherapy session depends on a repeatable workflow that weaves clinical skill with technology safeguards. The five steps below reflect core telebehavioral health competencies and HIPAA requirements covered earlier in this guide. Treat this sequence as a pre-flight checklist until it becomes second nature.

Session-Ready Telehealth Competency Sequence

Recent News

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit

Follow us