What you’ll learn in this article…
- Boise State's CSWE-accredited MSW charges $565 per credit regardless of residency.
- Advanced standing cuts required credits from 61 to 37.
- Idaho metro-level social work wage estimates are not currently published by BLS.
For Idaho's largest public MSW provider, the real split is not online versus on-campus. Boise State's online and on-campus students complete the same CSWE-accredited social work degree curriculum at the same $565 per credit. The sharper contrast is regular versus advanced standing: 61 credits versus 37.
That credit gap translates to roughly $13,500 in tuition before fees. Idaho social work careers vary by role and wage, and BLS does not publish metro-level breakouts for every occupation. Licensure still requires the MSW plus supervised hours, so the faster advanced-standing route remains limited to BSW holders.
Programs at Boise State University
MSW - Social Work Advanced Standing
- CSWE accredited
- 1-Year program
- Complete in one year full-time
- Full-time and part-time options
- In-person classes in Boise
- Half-time enrollment option available
- Program established in 1991
- Designed for BSW degree holders
Boise State University MSW Program Overview
Social work education is increasingly organized around flexible delivery and faster advanced-standing pathways, and the Boise State University online MSW reflects that shift.
Two Tracks for Different Starting Points
Boise State University, based in Boise, Idaho, offers a Master of Social Work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).1 The program has two entry tracks. The Regular MSW track is designed for students without a Bachelor of Social Work. It requires 61 total credits: 43 academic credits and 18 field credits, which include about 1,000 hours of field education.2 The Advanced Standing MSW track is reserved for applicants who already hold a BSW from a CSWE-accredited program. It requires 37 total credits: 25 academic credits and 12 field credits, with about 600 hours of field education.3
Online and On-Campus Formats
Boise State offers the MSW online and on campus. In the online social work degree, didactic coursework is 100% online, while field education is completed in person in the student's community.4 That structure lets students keep their placements local without campus visits. Boise State does not market a separate hybrid track; the online format is simply coursework delivered remotely with required in-person field hours. The on-campus MSW is fully in-person for coursework and field requirements.5
Completion Timelines
Timelines vary by track and pace. Online Regular MSW students typically finish full-time in about 24 months (six semesters) or part-time in about three years (nine semesters).3 Online Advanced Standing students can finish full-time in about 12 months (three semesters); part-time online advanced standing generally takes under two years (five semesters).3 The on-campus Advanced Standing full-time track is designed for about 12 months with a summer start.6 Advanced standing shortens the degree by roughly half compared with the regular track, because it builds on BSW-level social work education and reduces both academic and field credit loads.
Online Vs. On-Campus MSW Formats
Boise State's online and on-campus MSW paths are not two different degrees; they are the same CSWE-accredited curriculum delivered through different logistics.
Online Delivery and Scheduling
Boise State's online MSW degree is built primarily around asynchronous coursework, with some instructors adding scheduled live sessions, virtual office hours, or group check-ins. That structure lets students complete readings, recorded lectures, and discussion posts during evenings or weekends while preserving a few fixed touchpoints for cohort connection and faculty support. If you work full time or live outside the Treasure Valley, asynchronous delivery is often the deciding factor: it removes the need to commute to campus for weekly classes, but it still requires strong weekly time management. Students who prefer real-time discussion can build that interaction into virtual office hours, study groups, or the occasional synchronous seminar rather than relying on a daily live lecture schedule.
Field Placement Logistics
Field education is in-person in both formats. On-campus students typically complete practicum placements with agencies around Boise and the Treasure Valley, where the field office has deep relationships with local hospitals, schools, child welfare offices, and behavioral health providers. Students in online MSW programs in Idaho work with the same field placement team to secure a practicum near their own community, often across Idaho or in approved locations in other states. That may require more initiative from the student, since local agency availability varies, but the supervised hours, learning objectives, and evaluation standards do not change. In either format, plan for placement hours that fit the agency's client schedule, not just your academic schedule.
Same CSWE Standards
Because both formats follow one accreditation, students do not graduate with a lighter or lesser version of the MSW. Online and on-campus cohorts complete the same foundational and advanced curriculum, the same field hour requirements, and the same licensure-oriented coursework. When you compare transcripts or apply for Idaho LMSW or LCSW licensure, the delivery mode is not a differentiator; your supervised practice experience and CSWE-accredited degree are what matter.
Admissions Requirements & Application Deadlines
Boise State’s MSW application is materials-based rather than test-based. Plan to submit transcripts, written statements, and references before the January window.
- Bachelor’s degree & transcriptsA bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution is required, and official transcripts are part of the application.
- GPA expectationsA cumulative 3.0 GPA is the common benchmark, reviewed across your last two years or overall record. Some program language frames this as a recommendation rather than a strict cutoff.
- Prerequisite courseworkNo specific prerequisite courses, such as human biology or statistics, are required for the MSW.
- Application materialsSubmit the graduate application and School of Social Work application, a personal statement, resume, letters of recommendation (three for the online program), background check, and notarized disclosure forms.
- Advanced standing eligibilityAdvanced standing requires a CSWE-accredited BSW. Recent graduates generally need to be within five years of degree completion; significant post-BSW practice may extend eligibility up to 10 years depending on track.
- DeadlinesThe on-campus MSW deadline for 2027–2028 is January 10, 2027 at 11:59 p.m. The online MSW lists a January 15 deadline.
- GRE/test policyThe GRE is not required; because no test is part of the application, no separate waiver process is needed.
- Work/life credit noteBoise State does not grant academic credit for work or life experience.
Tuition and Fees: Regular vs Advanced Standing
Boise State's online MSW charges the same $565 per credit to all students regardless of residency, which simplifies budgeting. The regular MSW requires 61 credits while advanced standing requires 37 credits. Boise State also publishes separate resident and nonresident approximate total investments for its Boise Campus MSW.
| Cost Component | Regular MSW | Advanced Standing MSW |
|---|---|---|
| Online tuition per credit (all students) | $565 | $565 |
| Total credits required | 61 | 37 |
| Online tuition total | $34,465 | $20,905 |
| Boise Campus resident approximate total investment | $24,062 | $15,433 |
| Boise Campus nonresident approximate total investment | $62,290 | $34,820 |
| Online Graduate College application fee (one-time) | $65 | $65 |
| Online background check fee (one-time) | $49 | $49 |
Social Worker Salary in Idaho
BLS data for Idaho shows that salary expectations vary by social work role.
From Application to Idaho Licensure: Your MSW Roadmap
Most students follow a standard route from MSW coursework to Idaho LMSW licensure. BSW holders can shorten the timeline through Boise State's advanced standing option. Check the School of Social Work's field placement requirements early.

Boise State MSW Vs. University of Idaho MSW
For Idaho students weighing the state's two public MSW options, the clearest published comparison is on price and format. Boise State's online MSW uses a flat per-credit rate for all students, while University of Idaho's official MSW program page is not reflected in the available sources. The UI figures below are general graduate per-credit rates from third-party estimates and may not match MSW-specific tuition.
| Factor | Boise State University MSW | University of Idaho MSW |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery format | Online | Not confirmed from official program page; general graduate billing includes a $35 per-credit fee for web-based/hybrid courses |
| Per-credit cost | $565 flat rate for all students, regardless of residency (published 2026 rate; up from $495 in FY2025) | $549 in-state / $1,618 out-of-state (2024–25 general graduate rate); $564 / $1,633 estimated for 2025–26, not MSW-specific |
| Total estimated tuition (excluding fees) | Regular standing: $34,465 (61 credits × $565); Advanced standing: $20,905 (37 credits × $565) | Not available, MSW credit requirements and MSW-specific rate are not confirmed |
| Program length / credits | 61 credits regular standing; 37 credits advanced standing | Not confirmed from official program page |
| Advanced standing policy | Available; 37-credit advanced standing track | Not confirmed from official program page |
| Field placement approach | Field placement is part of the online MSW curriculum; confirm current settings with the program | Field placement details not confirmed in available sources |
| Specializations | Not specified in this comparison | Not specified in this comparison |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Are you looking for the most affordable in-state public option, or does program format matter more?
Do you need advanced standing to shorten your time to licensure?
Does the field placement network and location flexibility matter for your current job or family situation?
Social Worker Salary by Idaho Metro Area
Idaho metro-level wage estimates for social work occupations are not currently published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The table below uses statewide Idaho figures as a baseline for comparing pay across social work roles. Child, family, and school social workers account for the largest employment total in this group, while social workers, all other report the highest median annual wage.
| Occupation | Employment in Idaho | Median Annual Wage | 25th Percentile | 75th Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Social Workers, All Other | 210 | $88,610 | $44,000 | $97,470 |
| Social and Community Service Managers | 820 | $79,120 | $67,750 | $91,350 |
| Marriage and Family Therapists | 140 | $62,700 | $62,700 | $63,020 |
| Child, Family, and School Social Workers | 810 | $59,840 | $47,860 | $74,190 |
Common Questions About Boise State's MSW
Boise State's MSW raises practical questions about accreditation, cost, format, admission, and Idaho licensure. These answers highlight the key facts you should verify with the university before applying.
- Is Boise State MSW accredited?
- Yes. Boise State's Master of Social Work is accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).1 The online MSW has been continuously accredited since 1992.
- How much does Boise State MSW cost?
- For the 2026-27 academic year, the online MSW charges $565 per credit with no out-of-state tuition and no online fees.2 The regular online program is 61 credits,7 so tuition alone would total about $34,465, before required fees such as the $65 application fee, a $49 background check, and a $25 graduation application fee.2 On-campus costs are listed separately, with an approximate total investment of $24,062.3
- Is Boise State MSW available online?
- Yes. Boise State offers the MSW in a fully online format.1 The online option is designed for students who need location flexibility.
- What are the admissions requirements for Boise State's MSW?
- Applicants need a completed bachelor's degree, a personal statement, a resume, three letters of recommendation, a notarized disclosure form, and a background check.4 On-campus applicants are also expected to have an undergraduate GPA of 3.0 or higher, including a 3.0 or higher in junior and senior years.5 Applicants to the advanced standing MSW must hold a BSW from a CSWE-accredited program within the last five years and have relevant experience.4
- How long does it take to complete Boise State's MSW?
- Completion time depends on your track and pace. The regular online MSW is 61 credits,7 while advanced standing reduces the credit total for eligible applicants with a recent CSWE-accredited BSW.4 The program does not list a single fixed duration.
- Does Boise State's MSW meet Idaho licensure requirements?
- Yes, Boise State states the MSW meets Idaho professional licensure standards.6 However, social work license requirements also include passing the appropriate national exam and, depending on the license level, a period of supervised practice.6 Meeting the MSW requirement does not by itself guarantee every license level.








