What you’ll learn in this article…
- Sex educators teach groups and need no clinical license, unlike therapists.
- AASECT certification requires 90 coursework hours plus 1,000 hours of experience.
- BLS doesn't track sex educators, so salary estimates rely on proxies.
Search for a sex education degree and most of the results turn out to be sex therapy programs, which lead to clinical licensure and a different career. Programs built to train sexuality educators are far fewer, and they sit in public health, human development, education, and human sexuality departments rather than under one clear label.
Educator-focused degrees and certificates at the bachelor's, master's, and graduate certificate levels are available online and on campus. It compares programs, explains AASECT certification requirements, gives real tuition figures, and uses salary data from the closest related occupations.
The field has no single required credential, so employers and certifying bodies judge your coursework and supervised hours as much as your diploma.
What Is a Sex Education Degree? Education vs. Sex Therapy vs. Sexology
A sex education degree prepares you to teach, not to treat. Sexuality education is the practice of designing and delivering curricula and programs about human development, relationships, sexual health, consent, and identity for groups in schools, clinics, nonprofits, and community organizations. It is not clinical work.
Education vs. Therapy vs. Sexology
Sex educators teach and develop educational materials for classrooms, youth programs, parent workshops, and community health settings. They do not diagnose or treat sexual concerns. Sex therapists are clinicians, such as licensed professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, clinical social workers, psychologists, or physicians, who provide clinical treatment for sexual and relationship issues. Sexologists study sexuality through academic research, often in fields like sociology, public health, or psychology, and may teach or consult.
Put directly: A sex educator teaches sexual health information and skills to groups. A sex therapist treats individuals or couples for sexual concerns through counseling and requires a clinical license. The educator's role ends at instruction; the therapist's role begins with diagnosis and treatment.
Licensing Boundaries
K-12 classroom sex educators generally need a state teaching license, often in health education. Community-based educators may not need a teaching license, but respected employers often look for training in human sexuality or public health. No state license exists for "sex educator" itself. By contrast, sex therapists must hold a clinical license before adding sex therapy training or certification.
What the Degree Is Actually Called
"Sex education degree" is an informal label. Programs may be titled Human Sexuality, Sexual Health, Human Sexuality Education, or Sexuality Studies. If you realize your goal is clinical treatment, see our guide on sex therapy degree vs certification for the clinical path.
How Do Sex Educators, Sex Therapists, and Sexologists Compare?
These three titles get used interchangeably, but they lead to very different training, licensure, and daily work. This guide focuses on the sex educator column: teaching-centered roles you can enter with a bachelor's or master's degree and no clinical license.

Sex Education Degree Programs to Consider: Online and Campus Options
Treat this as a comparison set, not a ranking. Graduate programs in sexuality education are few, and offerings change often, so confirm every detail with the school before you apply. We included only programs we could verify as currently listed. We could not confirm the current status of human sexuality programs at California Institute of Integral Studies or Antioch University Seattle, so contact those schools directly if they interest you. Can you get a sex education degree online? Yes. The University of Minnesota's MPS in Sexual Health and its Human Sexuality Certificate are fully online, and the MPS requires no residency. Widener's MEd/MPA dual degree has offered all courses 100% online since Fall 2025, while Widener's standalone MEd is hybrid. Widener's MEd in Human Sexuality Studies and Minnesota's Advanced Sexual Health Education Certificate are the most educator-specific options. The MPS in Sexual Health takes a broader sexual health view, and the Sex Therapy and Transgender Health certificates lean clinical. If you want both education and clinical credentials, Widener's MSW/MEd pairs sexuality education with a social work degree, which most states require for clinical social work licensure, in about three years. Only the Minnesota MPS is listed as aligned with AASECT Sexuality Educator Certification, so ask the other programs how their coursework maps to AASECT requirements.
| School | Program | Degree Level | Format | Credits | Typical Length | AASECT Alignment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota | Master of Professional Studies in Sexual Health | Master's | Fully online, no residency required | 30 | 2 to 3 years | Listed as aligned with AASECT Sexuality Educator Certification |
| Widener University | Master of Education in Human Sexuality Studies | Master's | Hybrid (online and on campus) | 44 to 47 | N/A | Not stated by school |
| Widener University | Human Sexuality Studies MEd and Public Administration MPA | Dual master's | Hybrid; all courses offered 100% online starting Fall 2025 | 60 | N/A | Not stated by school |
| Widener University | Master of Social Work and Master of Education in Human Sexuality Studies | Dual master's | Online sexuality courses; social work courses on campus or online | 98 to 101 | 3 years | Not stated by school |
| University of Minnesota | Human Sexuality Certificate | Graduate certificate | Fully online | 12 | One academic year | Not stated by school |
| University of Minnesota | Advanced Sexual Health Education Certificate | Graduate certificate | Online courses available | 12 | N/A | Not stated separately by school |
| University of Minnesota | Transgender Health Certificate | Graduate certificate | Online courses available | 12 | N/A | Not stated by school |
| University of Minnesota | Sex Therapy Certificate | Graduate certificate | Online courses available | 12 | N/A | Not stated by school |
Bachelor's, Master's, and Graduate Certificate Pathways
The central tradeoff is how quickly you can enter the field versus how far you want to advance in it. A bachelor's can open many community education roles, but leadership and AASECT certification paths lean on graduate study.
Undergraduate Routes
University of Kansas offers an interdisciplinary Human Sexuality BA and BGS, plus a minor.1 The BA carries writing, quantitative literacy, and lab or field requirements; the BGS instead requires a minor, two certificates, or a second major. Many students also pair a public health, psychology, or health education major with a sexuality minor. Indiana University's Kinsey Institute runs a four-day Human Sexuality Intensive, in person or live online, that awards a Kinsey Institute certificate.2 It is a short professional intensive rather than an academic major or minor.
Master's Level Options
MEd programs tend to prepare educators and program leaders, MPS programs emphasize applied professional practice, and MS programs lean toward research. Widener's Human Sexuality Studies MEd requires a completed or nearly completed bachelor's degree and lists no prerequisite courses or standardized exam. Minnesota's Sexual Health MPS asks for transcripts, a professional statement, two recommendation letters, a resume or CV, and English language scores when applicable. Applicants below a 3.0 undergraduate GPA add an extenuating-circumstances statement. A master's is the typical entry point for program-director roles and supports AASECT certification.
Graduate Certificates and Stacking
Graduate certificates , including counseling certificate programs , work as stackable options for professionals who already hold a nursing degree, social work degree, counseling degree, or teaching degree. Minnesota, for example, lists certificates in Human Sexuality, Advanced Sexual Health Education, Sex Therapy, and Transgender and Gender Diverse Health. Recommendation letters are optional for its certificate applications.
What Degree Do You Need?
Many community sex educator roles accept a bachelor's, especially when combined with relevant training or volunteer experience. Leadership, curriculum supervision, and sexuality educator certification generally favor a graduate degree. A short non-degree training can supplement your background, but it usually is not enough by itself for advanced roles.
Curriculum and Course Topics in Sexuality Education Programs
What will you actually study in a sex education degree program? Most programs organize coursework into three core themes, then layer on supervised practice and personal reflection.
Core Content Themes
Courses on human sexual development follow sexuality from childhood through older adulthood, covering anatomy, identity formation, consent, and relationship skills. A second theme focuses on STI prevention, contraception, reproductive health, and public health framing. A third prepares you to design, deliver, and evaluate sexuality education curricula in schools, clinics, or community settings. You may also study adolescent health policy, sex education law, and community needs assessment.
Inclusive Practice and Experiential Requirements
Strong programs also require inclusive practice coursework. Expect topics like LGBTQ+ and gender-diverse health, disability-inclusive teaching, trauma-informed practice, and culturally responsive instruction. Assignments often ask you to adapt lesson plans for specific populations, such as students with disabilities or English learners. Many programs include a sexual attitude reassessment (SAR) seminar, a structured small-group experience that helps you examine personal values and biases before you teach others.
Supervised Teaching in the Field
A counseling practicum and internship, or student teaching placement, is where coursework becomes a job-ready skill. You plan lessons, co-teach, receive feedback, and document hours. AASECT certification requires supervised experience, so this component also moves you toward meeting sex therapist education requirements. Placements can take place in schools, community health centers, or youth-serving nonprofits. Some online programs help arrange local placements; others expect you to identify a site.
Related Articles
AASECT Sexuality Educator Certification Requirements, Mapped to Your Degree
To become an AASECT Certified Sexuality Educator, you need at least a bachelor's degree, 90 clock hours of core sexuality coursework, 60 clock hours of skills training, 1,000 hours of professional experience, and 25 hours of supervision, all documented and reviewed by peers. This is a professional credential from AASECT, not a state license. Most degree programs can cover the coursework pieces, but supervision with an AASECT Certified Sexuality Educator Supervisor, most of the experience hours, and the $300 application fee usually fall outside your program and need separate planning.
| AASECT Requirement | What It Involves | Where It Fits in a Degree Program |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum degree | A bachelor's degree is the minimum academic level. No examination requirement is identified in AASECT's certification overview. | Your bachelor's degree meets the academic-level requirement. Qualifying field-related coursework may be in sexuality, education, counseling, or therapy. |
| Core Knowledge Areas (90 clock hours) | At least 90 clock hours of academic coursework covering the AASECT Core Knowledge Areas. At least 15 hours must be synchronous (in person or live virtual), and the remaining 75 may be asynchronous. | Core human sexuality courses in a bachelor's, master's, or graduate certificate. AASECT does not require all of these hours to come from your bachelor's degree. |
| Sexuality education skills training (60 clock hours) | Training in how to effectively facilitate sexuality education. | Part can come from general undergraduate or graduate courses in education theory and methods, but at least 30 hours must be specific to sexuality education. |
| Professional experience (1,000 hours) | 1,000 cumulative hours working as a sexuality educator, including 100 hours of direct teaching documented during supervision. | A practicum or field placement may help you begin, but plan for most of these hours to come from professional work after or alongside your degree. |
| Supervision (25 hours) | Supervision with an AASECT Certified Sexuality Educator Supervisor. At least 5 hours must be individual with one primary supervisor, and up to 20 hours may be group supervision. | Usually arranged outside the degree. A program supervisor counts only if they hold the AASECT supervisor credential. |
| Documentation and peer review | Applicants substantiate each requirement with academic transcripts and other formal documentation, then undergo peer review of their credentials. | Your official transcripts serve as the primary evidence of degree-based coursework, so keep course records organized. |
| Application fee | $300 USD application fee. | Not covered by tuition. Budget for it separately. |
| AASECT-approved CE programs | Programs from AASECT-approved providers that meet AASECT education standards. Completing one does not guarantee certification. | Supplements academic, skills-training, experience, and supervision requirements. Not a substitute for the minimum bachelor's degree. |
How Much Does a Sex Education Degree Cost?
The figures below are published 2026-2027 tuition rates. Where a school lists both a per-credit rate and a required credit total, estimated tuition is the rate multiplied by the credits. Rates change every academic year, so confirm current numbers with each school before you budget. Tuition is only part of the bill. Plan for semester or technology fees (Widener, for example, charges a $50 fee each semester on top of its dual-degree tuition), textbooks, and a reliable computer and internet connection for online coursework. Hybrid programs with on-campus residencies add travel and lodging. If you are pursuing AASECT certification, budget separately for a Sexual Attitude Reassessment (SAR) workshop, supervision, and AASECT's own application and membership fees, because these are usually not covered by tuition. To lower costs, ask each program about graduate assistantships and program-specific scholarships. The California Institute of Integral Studies, for instance, offers students in the first cohorts of its Master of Science in Critical Sexuality Studies a $2,500 scholarship per semester for full-time study, or a scaled amount for part-time study, which the school describes as a 20% tuition discount. That program runs 36 to 37 units over about two years, but CIIS does not publish a per-unit rate on the page we reviewed. File the FAFSA to see whether you qualify for federal loans, and check whether a shorter certificate program is eligible for federal aid, since not all are. If you work for a health department, school district, or community health agency, ask HR about tuition reimbursement, which can cover a meaningful share of a graduate certificate.
| School | Program | Tuition Rate | Total Credits | Estimated Total Tuition | Format |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Widener University | Dual MEd in Human Sexuality Studies and MSW | $1,020 per credit | 98 to 101 credits | $99,960 to $103,020 (excludes fees) | Online |
| Widener University | Human Sexuality Studies Master's | $1,020 per credit | N/A | N/A | N/A |
| University of Minnesota | Advanced Sexual Health Education Certificate | $936 per credit | 12 credits | $11,232 | Online |
| University of Minnesota | Sex Therapy Certificate | $900 per credit | 12 credits | $10,800 | N/A |
| University of Minnesota | Sexual Health Graduate Program | N/A | 30 credits | N/A | Online |
| University of Minnesota | Human Sexuality Graduate Certificate | N/A | 12 credits | N/A | Online |
A sex educator teaches people about sexuality; a sex therapist clinically treats sexual concerns. Knowing which role you want determines the degree and credential you pursue.
Sex Educator Salary and Job Outlook
The Bureau of Labor Statistics does not track "sex educator" as its own occupation, so the table below uses the closest proxies (community health workers, health education specialists, secondary school teachers, and postsecondary teachers), and the 2025 pay figures should be read as recent, approximate benchmarks rather than exact pay for the role. BLS projects 6% growth for health education specialists (about 3,900 new jobs) and 13% for community health workers (about 8,200 new jobs) from 2025 to 2035, and sexual health educators typically work for schools, Planned Parenthood-style nonprofits, public health departments, universities, and youth programs. When you search listings, look beyond "sex educator" to titles such as health educator, sexual health educator, prevention specialist, and program coordinator, since the same work is posted under many names.
| Proxy occupation | Median annual pay (2025) | 25th to 75th percentile pay | Employment | Projected growth, 2025 to 2035 | Largest employer types (whole occupation) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community Health Workers | $51,850 | $45,640 to $62,540 | 61,660 | 13% (about 8,200 jobs) | Ambulatory healthcare (22%), social assistance (20%), local government (18%), hospitals (12%) |
| Health Education Specialists | N/A | N/A | About 70,400 | 6% (about 3,900 jobs) | Government (24%), ambulatory healthcare (18%), hospitals (16%), educational services (14%), social assistance (7%) |
| Secondary School Teachers (except special and career/technical education) | $72,040 | $59,980 to $92,570 | 1,065,210 | N/A | Middle and high schools |
| Postsecondary Teachers, All Other | $77,640 | $59,290 to $106,770 | 149,840 | N/A | Colleges and universities |
Questions to Ask Yourself
Do you want to teach groups and build curricula, or treat individual clients one-on-one?
Will you teach in a public K-12 classroom?
Do you plan to pursue AASECT certification, and will this coursework count toward it?
Can you travel for campus residencies, or do you need a fully online format?
How to Choose Accredited Sex Education Degree Programs
Institutional accreditation covers the whole university, while specialized accreditation covers one field of study. For sex education, only the first is guaranteed to exist, so start there.
Verify Institutional Accreditation
Look up each school in the U.S. Department of Education's database or on the CHEA directory rather than trusting a program page. The University of Minnesota is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Widener University describes itself as fully accredited, but its 2026 program pages do not name the agency, so confirm it in the federal database. CIIS's department page also does not state its accreditor, so check it the same way.
Know What Programmatic Accreditation Can and Cannot Tell You
No programmatic accreditor exists specifically for sexuality education. Two other bodies matter only on certain routes:
- CEPH: Relevant if you pursue an MPH-based route. The CEPH Student FAQs on Accreditation state it accredits public health schools, programs, and standalone baccalaureate programs. A sexual health pathway is not CEPH-covered just because it touches public health.
- CAEP or state approval: Relevant if you want teacher licensure to teach health or sexuality education in schools.
Credentials in related fields are separate. Widener's social work component, tied to its online MSW programs, is covered by CSWE and its clinical psychology PsyD by the APA Commission on Accreditation, but neither covers the Human Sexuality Studies MEd itself. Widener and Minnesota are also AASECT-approved continuing education providers. That is professional recognition, not institutional accreditation.
Weigh the Remaining Criteria
- Career goal: Match the degree to educator, researcher, or clinical work.
- State licensure: Clinical roles require a state license, which most education-only degrees do not provide.
- Format and prerequisites: Minnesota's 30-credit pathway is online, typically 2 to 3 years, and its certificate requires no license for admission.
- Transfer credit: Ask what prior coursework counts.
- International students: Ask whether your home country recognizes the credential.
Your Next Step
Shortlist two or three programs. Ask each one how its graduates have used the degree to meet AASECT requirements, and request specifics in writing.
Sex Education Degree FAQs
These answers cover the questions students ask most often about sex education degree programs. Requirements differ by employer, state, and credential, so treat these as starting points and verify details with each program and your state's education department.
- What degree do you need to be a sex educator?
- No single degree is required. Most employers and certifying bodies expect at least a bachelor's degree. One Planned Parenthood sexual health educator posting, for example, asked for a bachelor's in health education, social work, human services, or a related field, plus 2+ years of experience. Sex educator certifications from IBOSP and the Sexual Health Alliance also require a bachelor's or higher.12
- Can you get a sex education degree online?
- Yes, mainly at the graduate level. The University of Minnesota's Master of Professional Studies in Sexual Health is offered online and is built from two stackable graduate certificates. Widener University's MEd in Human Sexuality Studies is hybrid, typically takes 2 to 3 years, and requires a practicum. Before enrolling, confirm whether practicum or supervised experience can be completed near you.
- Can you teach sex education in public schools without a teaching license?
- Usually not as the teacher of record. Rules vary by state and grade level: New York requires secondary health classes to be taught by a certified health instructor3, and Michigan requires reproductive health instructors to hold a valid Michigan certificate and meet additional criteria. Many sex educators instead reach schools as outside educators through nonprofits, clinics, or health departments, subject to district approval, background checks, and parental notice rules.
- Is a master's in human sexuality worth it if you already hold an MSW, counseling, or nursing license?
- It depends on your goals. A human sexuality master's does not expand the legal scope of an MSW, counseling, or nursing license. A graduate certificate is the shorter route to adding sexuality expertise to your current practice. A full degree makes more sense for curriculum, research, policy, or leadership roles. Widener's sex therapy track accepts MSW, LPC, and LMFT backgrounds, while Minnesota's requires a clinical license or enrollment.
Best by State
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- Washington DC
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming








