Best MFT Programs in Vermont: Degrees & Certificates (2027)
Updated August 29, 202624 min read

Best MFT Programs in Vermont: Degrees & Certificates (2027)

Accredited online marriage and family therapy degrees that meet Vermont LMFT licensure requirements

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Vermont has no in-state COAMFTE accredited MFT master's programs.
  • Licensure requires 3,700 supervised clinical hours and a national exam.
  • Vermont MFTs earn roughly $2,500 above the national median salary.

Marriage and family therapy master's programs prepare graduates for licensure as Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists, but Vermont students confront a singular reality: no COAMFTE-accredited programs exist inside the state. COAMFTE accreditation is the field's gold standard and is required by Vermont's licensure board for the educational component. Fully online, accredited programs from schools across the country accept Vermont residents and let them complete coursework remotely while arranging clinical practicums near where they live.

That frees students to stay rooted in their communities and accumulate the 3,700 supervised hours Vermont requires for licensure without uprooting. With 15 active mental health shortage areas across the state, demand for LMFTs remains high enough that new licensees can expect competitive salaries even as they build their caseloads.

Why Vermont Students Need Online MFT Programs

Relocating out of state versus studying online from home: that is the choice facing nearly every Vermont student who wants to earn a master's in marriage and family therapy. Understanding why comes down to three realities about the state's educational landscape, workforce needs, and regulatory framework.

No In-State COAMFTE-Accredited Programs

A search of the COAMFTE accreditation directory reveals that Vermont has zero COAMFTE-accredited MFT programs physically located within the state. For students who want the credential most licensing boards recognize as the gold standard, the only realistic path is enrolling in an accredited program offered online by an institution based elsewhere. This gap is not new, but it remains a significant barrier for aspiring therapists who would prefer a local campus experience.

A State That Needs More Licensed Therapists

Vermont's largely rural geography creates persistent challenges for mental health access. Many communities lack adequate behavioral health providers, and the demand for licensed marriage and family therapists continues to grow as telehealth expands the reach of clinical services into underserved areas. Training more MFTs who already live in the state, and who are likely to practice there after graduation, is one practical way to address these workforce gaps.

How SARA Governs Online Enrollment

Not every online program can legally enroll Vermont residents. Eligibility depends on the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement, commonly known as SARA. Vermont joined SARA in April 2015, with the Vermont Agency of Education serving as the state portal entity. Under SARA, an out-of-state institution may enroll Vermont students in its online programs only if the school itself is a current SARA participant.1 That status is institution-specific, meaning you need to verify each school individually through the NC-SARA participant directory rather than assuming a program qualifies based on name recognition alone. The institution must also be degree-granting and accredited by a U.S. Department of Education-recognized accreditor whose scope covers distance education.1

Completing Coursework and Clinical Hours Locally

Online MFT programs allow Vermont students to complete didactic coursework from anywhere in the state. Clinical practicum and internship hours can often be arranged at local agencies, private practices, or community mental health centers, keeping students rooted in the communities they plan to serve. This structure is especially valuable in a state where relocating for graduate school may mean leaving behind professional networks, family support, and the very population you intend to help after licensure.

Best Online MFT Programs for Vermont Students

Vermont has no in-state marriage and family therapy program, so residents who want to become licensed MFTs generally train through an online degree and complete their clinical hours close to home. Every program below is delivered fully online and accepts students from Vermont, with no requirement to relocate or attend a campus in another state. Each entry lists tuition for out-of-state students, program length, and available concentrations.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Pell Grant enrollment share
  • Tuition adjusted for local cost of living
  • School-level graduation rates
  • Graduate outcomes and licensure preparation
  • Retention and student-faculty ratio
Data sources
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis cost-of-living index by state — bea.gov
NO

Northwestern University

Evanston, IL · $55,000/yr

Best for: Working adults who need local placements

Northwestern's online Master of Science in Marriage and Family Therapy is a fully online, COAMFTE-accredited degree that Vermont residents can complete without relocating. The program does not require the GRE and uses placement specialists to help students line up supervised clinical sites in their own communities, a practical advantage in a state with no MFT program of its own. Coursework runs 24 to 36 months, with live online class sessions capped at 15 students.

  • Master of Science in Marriage and Family Therapy, Graduate Certificate — Online
    Northwestern University
    COAMFTE accredited
    • Fully online MFT master's degree, COAMFTE accredited
    • No GRE required for admission
    • Roughly 24 to 36 months to complete
    • About 400 hours of supervised clinical fieldwork
    • Live online class sessions capped at 15 students
    • Placement specialists help students secure local clinical sites
    • 25 graduate-level courses
    • School-wide graduation rate of 95%
    Visit Website
UN

University of Southern California

Los Angeles, CA · $72,000/yr

Best for: Full-time students in a cohort format

The University of Southern California delivers its Master of Science in Marriage and Family Therapy through a cohort model that full-time students can complete in about 24 months. The 60-unit curriculum pairs online coursework with supervised fieldwork, and the program reports strong alumni career outcomes and clinical exam pass rates. Scholarships in the $15,000 to $30,000 range are available. The degree is built around California MFT licensure, so Vermont students should confirm how it maps to Vermont requirements.

  • Master of Science in Marriage and Family Therapy, Graduate Certificate — Online
    University of Southern California
    • Full-time cohort program completed in about 24 months
    • 60 total program units at $2,354 per unit
    • Online delivery with an on-campus option also available
    • Fieldwork and supervised clinical practice built into the degree
    • Reported 92% clinical exam pass rate and 98% alumni career effectiveness
    • Scholarships of $15,000 to $30,000 available to students
    • Curriculum aligned with California MFT licensure
    • School-wide graduation rate of 92%
    Visit Website
TO

Touro University Worldwide

Los Alamitos, CA · $9,000/yr

Best for: Career changers wanting several concentration tracks

Touro University Worldwide offers a Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy entirely online in 8-week terms, with tuition locked at $525 per credit. Students choose among clinical, licensed professional clinical counseling, and non-clinical tracks, and the clinical track includes 300 supervised client contact hours. At roughly $37,800 for 72 credits, it is among the lower-priced options on this list, and graduates pursue licensure in California.

  • Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy — Online
    Touro University Worldwide
    No entrance exam
    • 100% online with 8-week course terms
    • 72 total credit hours across 24 courses
    • Tuition locked at $525 per credit, about $37,800 total
    • Clinical, licensed professional clinical counseling, and non-clinical tracks
    • Clinical track includes 300 supervised client contact hours
    • No entrance exam required; 2.5 GPA minimum
    • Approved for California MFT and LPCC licensure
    • School-wide graduation rate of 29%
    Visit Website
CA

Capella University

Minneapolis, MN · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Capella University's MS in Marriage and Family Therapy is a COAMFTE-accredited online program built around 72 quarter credits and a GuidedPath course format. Two brief in-person residencies, a practicum, and four internship courses supply the clinical training. Tuition is $512 per credit, and the university notes that state enrollment restrictions may apply, so Vermont applicants should verify availability before applying.

  • MS in Marriage and Family Therapy — Online
    Capella University
    No entrance exam
    • 72 quarter credits, including 14 core courses
    • Two in-person residency courses required
    • One practicum and four internship courses
    • $512 per credit, roughly $36,864 to $46,080 total
    • No GRE or GMAT and no application fee
    • Up to 16 transfer credits accepted
    • COAMFTE accredited, with AAMFT-approved internship supervisors
    • School-wide graduation rate of 20%
    Visit Website
GR

Grand Canyon University

Phoenix, AZ · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

Grand Canyon University offers two online master's paths for students interested in family work: a clinical mental health counseling degree with an MFT emphasis, and a professional counseling degree with an MFT emphasis. Both are delivered online in 8-week terms with supervised field hours. These degrees prepare graduates for counseling licensure rather than marriage and family therapy licensure, which matters for Vermont's LMFT pathway.

  • MS in Clinical Mental Health Counseling with an Emphasis in Marriage and Family Therapy — Online
    Grand Canyon University
    • 74 credits at $600 per credit
    • CACREP accredited
    • At least 700 supervised practicum and internship hours
    • Prepares for Arizona LAC and LPC licensure, not MFT licensure
    • 2.8 GPA required, or 2.5 with GRE or GMAT scores
    • Christian worldview integrated into coursework
    • School-wide graduation rate of 43%
    Visit Website
  • Master of Science in Professional Counseling with an Emphasis in Marriage and Family Therapy — Online
    Grand Canyon University
    • Emphasis in marriage and family therapy within a counseling degree
    • Supervised internship and practicum required
    • Curriculum aligned with NBCC standards
    • Prepares graduates for national certification and Arizona licensure
    • Delivered entirely online
    Visit Website
CO

Colorado Christian University

Lakewood, CO · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Colorado Christian University's master's in clinical mental health counseling includes a marriage and family therapy concentration and runs 69 credits, completable in about 30 months. The program is CACREP accredited, offered online or in a hybrid format, and includes three in-person residencies. A biblical counseling perspective shapes the curriculum, which may appeal to students seeking a faith-integrated program.

  • Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Marriage and Family Therapy concentration, Graduate Certificate — Online
    Colorado Christian University
    • 69 total credit hours, completable in about 30 months
    • CACREP-accredited program
    • Three in-person residencies required
    • Transfer up to 12 credits
    • Biblical counseling approach woven through the curriculum
    • 100% online or hybrid format
    • School-wide graduation rate of 64%
    Visit Website
AB

Abilene Christian University

Abilene, TX · $25,000 – $30,000/yr

Abilene Christian University's online Master of Marriage and Family Therapy is COAMFTE accredited and spans 60 credits over roughly 33 months. Students choose from several concentrations, including child and adolescent therapy, medical family therapy and trauma treatment, and therapy with military families. A 12-month internship with more than 100 supervision hours is built into the degree, and the curriculum is taught from a Christ-centered perspective.

  • Master of Marriage and Family Therapy, Graduate Certificate — Online
    Abilene Christian University
    COAMFTE accredited
    • COAMFTE-accredited online program
    • 60 credit hours completed in roughly 33 months
    • $799 per credit hour plus a $200 resource fee each term
    • 12-month internship with more than 100 supervision hours
    • Prepares students for the national licensing exam
    • Minimum 3.0 GPA and three letters of recommendation
    • Multiple start dates each year
    • School-wide graduation rate of 59%
    Visit Website
  • Master of Marriage and Family Therapy, Medical Family Therapy and Treatment of Trauma — Online
    Abilene Christian University
    COAMFTE accredited
    • Concentration in medical family therapy and treatment of trauma
    • Coursework covers family theory, couples therapy, and systemic diagnosis
    • Capstone project and case study required
    Visit Website
  • Master of Marriage and Family Therapy, Child and Adolescent Therapy — Online
    Abilene Christian University
    COAMFTE accredited
    • Concentration in child and adolescent therapy
    • Built on the same 60-credit, COAMFTE-accredited core curriculum
    Visit Website
  • Master of Marriage and Family Therapy, Therapy with Military Families — Online
    Abilene Christian University
    COAMFTE accredited
    • Concentration in therapy with military families
    • Includes courses in trauma treatment and cultural diversity
    • Framed around Christian vocational service
    Visit Website
UN

University of Massachusetts Global

Aliso Viejo, CA · $14,000/yr

University of Massachusetts Global offers an online Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy that takes about 2.5 years and includes 400 clinical practicum hours. A combined track adds professional clinical counseling coursework for students who want a broader licensure footprint. Tuition is $730 per credit with no GRE required, and the program states it prepares graduates for licensure in multiple states, though availability varies by state.

  • Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy, Graduate Certificate — Online
    University of Massachusetts Global
    • 60 total credit hours across 23 courses
    • 400 clinical practicum hours through a community agency placement
    • Online format, about 2.5 years on average
    • No GRE required; 2.75 GPA minimum
    • $730 per credit
    • Taught by practicing therapists
    • School-wide graduation rate of 43%
    Visit Website
  • Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy, Combined MFT and Professional Clinical Counseling — Online
    University of Massachusetts Global
    • Combined MFT and professional clinical counseling emphasis
    • 69 credits, compared with 60 in the standard emphasis
    • 3.0 GPA requirement
    • Seven-year completion limit; up to 12 transfer credits accepted
    • Includes an advancement examination and pass/no-pass practicum courses
    Visit Website
EA

Eastern University

Saint Davids, PA · $10,000 – $15,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Eastern University's online Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy is a 60-credit program that full-time students can finish in about two years. Coursework is delivered 100% online through a flexible LifeFlex model, with an in-person internship arranged near the student's home community. Tuition is $450 per credit plus fees, and the curriculum emphasizes cultural humility and the integration of faith and justice.

  • MA in Marriage and Family Therapy — Online
    Eastern University
    • 60-credit standard track
    • $450 per credit plus $30 per credit in fees, about $28,800 total
    • Two years full-time, with part-time options available
    • 100% online coursework with an in-person internship
    • LifeFlex model offers flexibility in pacing
    • Curriculum integrates faith, reason, and justice
    • Additional credits may be required in some states
    • School-wide graduation rate of 54%
    Visit Website
SY

Syracuse University

Syracuse, NY · $45,000 – $50,000/yr

Syracuse University's part-time online Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy is COAMFTE accredited and designed for working students. The 60-credit cohort runs three years with live evening classes and a 500-hour clinical practicum completed locally. A 40% tuition scholarship is applied to standard rates, and concentrations include child therapy and trauma-informed practice.

  • Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy — Online
    Syracuse University
    COAMFTE accredited
    • COAMFTE-accredited, part-time online program
    • 60 credits over three years in a cohort model
    • Live synchronous evening classes
    • 500-hour clinical practicum completed in the local community
    • 40% tuition scholarship applied to standard rates
    • Concentrations in child therapy and trauma-informed practice
    • Optional residency on the Syracuse campus
    • School-wide graduation rate of 84%
    Visit Website

What Online MFT Programs Cost: A Tuition Comparison

Because Vermont does not currently host an in-state MFT master's program, students will enroll in online programs based elsewhere and typically pay a single published tuition rate regardless of residency. Across the top online options available to Vermont students, annual published tuition ranges from roughly $9,000 to over $26,000, while the institution-wide average net price after financial aid (not program-specific) falls between about $17,956 and $27,061. Remember to budget for practicum and internship travel costs, which can add up if your approved clinical site is not close to home.

Published tuition and average net price comparison for seven online MFT programs, ranging from $9,000 to $26,424 in tuition, 2023 data

Questions to Ask Yourself

Is the program COAMFTE accredited?
Vermont's licensure board expects graduate training from a COAMFTE accredited program, so attending an unaccredited one could delay or block your path to becoming a licensed marriage and family therapist.
Does the schedule fit your life as it is, not as you wish it were?
Asynchronous courses let working Vermonters study around jobs and family, while synchronous formats demand fixed login times that can clash with rural work schedules or spotty internet.
Can you actually secure a practicum site near home?
Clinical hours must happen in person, so confirm whether the program has existing site partnerships in Vermont or leaves you to find and vet a supervisor on your own.
Is the school authorized to enroll students who live in Vermont?
Programs need SARA authorization or direct state approval to legally offer online instruction to Vermont residents, and skipping this check could mean you can't enroll at all.

How to Choose an Online MFT Program From Vermont

Choosing an online MFT program from Vermont involves more than comparing tuition, and while how to choose a counseling graduate program offers foundational advice, the format of instruction, how clinical hours get arranged, and whether the program can legally enroll you all matter. Here is what to weigh before you apply.

Asynchronous vs. Synchronous Format

Online MFT programs generally use one of two delivery styles, and some blend both:

  • Asynchronous: Lectures, readings, and discussion boards are pre-recorded or self-paced. You log in when it fits your schedule. This is friendlier to working professionals but demands strong self-discipline.
  • Synchronous: Classes meet at scheduled times over video, often weekly evenings. You get real-time discussion and role-play practice with faculty and peers, which many MFT programs prefer for clinical skill building.

Most COAMFTE-accredited online MFT programs use a hybrid model: asynchronous coursework paired with synchronous live sessions and occasional in-person residencies. Ask each program to spell out the ratio before you commit.

Practicum Placement in Vermont

For Vermont students in out-of-state online programs, the student typically finds the local practicum or internship site, and the program reviews and approves it.4 Because Vermont is rural, clinical placements are limited, community mental health agencies, private group practices, and school-based counseling programs are the most common options. Start outreach six to nine months before your practicum term.

Supervision at the site must satisfy both program and licensure standards. Vermont licensure ultimately requires 100 hours of supervision over 3,000 post-masters clinical hours1, with at least 50 hours individual, up to 50 group, all face-to-face, and no more than 30 practice hours per supervision hour.2 Programs typically require weekly supervision of mft trainees by an AAMFT Approved Supervisor at a 1:5 supervision to client-contact ratio during practicum.3 Confirm any prospective site has a qualifying supervisor before you sign on.

Accreditation and State Authorization

COAMFTE accreditation is the gold standard and, as covered in the licensure section, aligns with what Vermont's Office of Professional Regulation expects. Vermont is a SARA member state, which lets most out-of-state online programs enroll Vermont residents legally. If a program is not SARA-authorized or lacks Vermont approval, you may be unable to complete practicum in state or sit for licensure. Verify authorization on the program's website before applying.

Completion Timeline

Plan for two to three years full-time or three to four years part-time. Part-time pacing is often the realistic choice for working professionals, but it also stretches out tuition payments and delays licensure eligibility. Match the timeline to your finances and family bandwidth, not just the program's marketing brochure.

Vermont LMFT Licensure Requirements

Vermont requires a qualifying graduate degree, 3,700 total hours of supervised clinical experience, and a passing score on the national MFT exam before you can practice as a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist.1 The Vermont Office of Professional Regulation, under the Secretary of State, administers the license, and every step of the application is completed online.4

Education Requirements

Candidates need a graduate degree with at least 60 semester credits in marriage and family therapy coursework.1 A degree from a COAMFTE-accredited program clearly satisfies this standard, and it is the cleanest route because the coursework and internship are pre-vetted. Vermont rules also allow an "acceptable degree" from a non-accredited program if the transcript documents equivalent MFT coursework and a qualifying internship, but you will carry the burden of proving equivalence, so most applicants choose accredited programs to avoid delays.

The internship requirement is 700 supervised clinical hours, with at least 600 of those completed inside the graduate program.1 Building the bulk of your practicum into your degree is not optional in practice: it is how the rule is written.

Post-Degree Supervised Practice

After graduation, Vermont requires 3,000 hours of supervised practice, referred to as LMFT supervision hours, completed over a minimum of two years.1 This is where you transition from student clinician to a candidate developing an independent caseload under oversight. Supervisors should be appropriately credentialed mental health professionals in good standing; confirm current supervisor qualifications directly with the Office of Professional Regulation before you sign a supervision contract, since the specific standards are set by rule and updated periodically.

Examination

Vermont uses the national LMFT exam, administered by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB).2 Most candidates prepare with commercial study guides and practice-exam banks; the AMFTRB publishes a content outline that should anchor your study plan.

Fees, Renewal, and Reciprocity

Application is submitted through the state's online licensing portal, and a non-refundable application fee applies. Licenses renew every two years, and you must complete 20 hours of continuing education during each two-year cycle to renew.3

If you are already licensed as an MFT in another state, Vermont evaluates endorsement applications case by case. You will typically need to document that your original license was based on requirements substantially equivalent to Vermont's, along with verification of good standing and any post-licensure clinical experience.

As of mid-2026, Vermont has 15 active mental health Health Professional Shortage Area designations, according to federal HRSA data. That level of shortage signals strong demand for licensed marriage and family therapists across the state, particularly in rural communities where access to behavioral health providers remains limited.

MFT Salary and Job Outlook in Vermont

Vermont marriage and family therapists earn a median annual salary that outpaces the national median by roughly $2,500, offering a competitive starting point for newly licensed clinicians in the state. According to the most recent Bureau of Labor Statistics data (May 2023), approximately 110 MFTs were employed in Vermont. While the state's employment base is small, it reflects the broader reality of a rural New England market where demand for licensed mental health professionals, including MFTs, continues to grow as communities invest in expanded behavioral health access. Nationally, BLS projects above average growth for this occupation, and Vermont's higher than average median wage suggests that employers are willing to pay competitively to attract qualified therapists.

Wage MeasureVermontNational
Total Employment11063,340
Median Annual Wage$61,060$58,510
Mean Annual Wage$66,260$68,730
25th Percentile Annual Wage$55,310$45,250
75th Percentile Annual Wage$72,360$78,440
10th Percentile Annual WageNot reported$39,090
90th Percentile Annual WageNot reported$104,710

Frequently Asked Questions About MFT Programs for Vermont Students

Choosing an MFT program from Vermont comes with unique considerations, from limited in-state options to specific licensure rules. Below are answers to the questions Vermont students ask most often, drawn from current state requirements and program data.

Are there any MFT programs physically located in Vermont?
As of 2026, no colleges or universities in Vermont offer a dedicated marriage and family therapy degree program. The University of Vermont1 and Vermont State University2 both have counseling programs in Vermont, but neither is an MFT track. Vermont students who want to pursue MFT training typically enroll in accredited online programs offered by institutions in other states, many of which accept students nationwide.
Does Vermont require COAMFTE accreditation for LMFT licensure?
No. Vermont does not mandate that your MFT degree come from a COAMFTE-accredited program.3 State statute allows graduates of regionally or nationally accredited institutions to qualify, provided the degree and coursework meet Board-approved standards. That said, choosing a COAMFTE-accredited program can simplify the credential-review process and may strengthen your application for licensure in other states as well.
Can you complete an MFT degree fully online without any campus visits?
Several COAMFTE-accredited programs, such as those at Touro University Worldwide4, are delivered 100% online with no required campus visits. However, policies vary by school. Some programs include brief on-campus intensives or residency weekends. Always verify a program's in-person requirements before enrolling, especially if travel to an out-of-state campus would be a barrier.
How long does it take to become a licensed marriage and family therapist in Vermont?
Plan for a minimum of roughly four to five years total to become a licensed marriage and family therapist in Vermont. The master's degree itself can take two to three years, with some accelerated programs finishing in as few as 21 months. After graduation, Vermont requires approximately 3,000 hours of supervised clinical experience (including at least 2,000 direct client contact hours and 100 hours of face-to-face supervision)4, which generally takes about two years. You must also pass a national licensing exam.
How much do online MFT programs typically cost?
Tuition for online MFT programs varies widely. Out-of-state tuition at many schools falls in the range of roughly $12,000 to $19,000 per year, though some programs advertise annual costs closer to $14,000 after aid. Net prices for certain hybrid, COAMFTE-accredited options can drop to about $6,000 to $7,000 per year depending on financial aid, residency agreements, and institutional scholarships. Always compare total program cost, not just per-credit rates.

More Online MFT Programs Available to Vermont Students

The programs below round out the directory of fully online marriage and family therapy options open to Vermont students. Nothing here is ranked; these are simply additional schools to research alongside the top picks covered earlier. Each entry lists the school, location, delivery format, and the degree level and focus you would be applying to.

Montreat College
A Master of Science in Counseling Psychology with a marriage and family therapy focus, delivered entirely online. The 54 to 60 credit curriculum covers family systems, counseling ethics, and clinical skills, with eight-week sessions and six start dates each year.
  • Master of Science in Counseling Psychology: Marriage and Family Therapy
Montreat, NC · Online
Kairos University
Kairos University's Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy blends psychology and theology, using synchronous live video courses alongside a self-paced model. Clinical practicum hours are completed locally, so students in Vermont can train in their own communities.
  • Master of Arts in Marriage and Family Therapy
Sioux Falls, SD · Online
Tulane University of Louisiana
Tulane University offers a graduate certificate in mental health, addictions, and family practice within its online Master of Social Work. Students complete 948 field education hours locally, with part-time and full-time scheduling and coursework in cultural sensitivity and evidence-based family intervention.
  • MSW with a Mental Health, Addictions, and the Family focus (Cognitive-behavioral and Multisystemic Family Therapy)
New Orleans, LA · Online
Cornerstone University
A Master of Science in Clinical Mental Health Counseling with a marriage and family therapy concentration. The 60 credit online program includes two in-person residencies, 100 practicum hours, and a 600 hour internship, and it notes dual counseling and MFT licensure preparation in Michigan.
  • Master's in Clinical Mental Health Counseling (Marriage and Family Therapy)
Grand Rapids, MI · Online
National University
National University offers a post-baccalaureate certificate in marriage and family therapy, a 12 credit online option that typically takes about ten months. Specializations include child and adolescent family therapy and couple therapy, new courses start weekly, and no physical residency is required.
  • Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Marriage and Family Therapy
  • Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Marriage and Family Therapy (Child and Adolescent Family Therapy)
  • Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Marriage and Family Therapy (Couple Therapy)
San Diego, CA · Online
Daybreak University
Daybreak University's Master of Arts in Counseling includes a marriage and family therapy specialization, delivered online for residents of the United States and Canada. Faculty hold doctoral degrees and AAMFT approved supervisor status, and admission requires a bachelor's degree, a 3.0 GPA, and a purpose statement.
  • Master of Arts in Counseling with a Specialization in Marriage and Family Therapy
Anaheim, CA · Online
University of Phoenix-California
The Master of Science in Counseling with a marriage, family, and child therapy focus is a 60 credit online program. It is designed for California residents working toward LMFT and LPCC licensure in that state, with five to six week courses, rolling admissions, and no entrance exam.
  • Master of Science in Counseling - Marriage, Family and Child Therapy
Ontario, CA · Online

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit

Follow us