What you’ll learn in this article…
- DC hosts APA-accredited doctoral programs at George Washington, Howard, Gallaudet, American, and Catholic universities.
- BLS data shows roughly 730 psychologists employed across three DC metro occupation categories with salaries above national medians.
- Licensure in Washington, DC typically requires 8 to 12 years from the start of doctoral coursework to holding a license.
- APPIC internship match rates are among the strongest predictors of doctoral program quality and licensure readiness.
Washington, DC hosts the National Institute of Mental Health, the largest funder of mental health research worldwide, along with the APA's headquarters and dozens of federal agencies that employ psychologists in policy analysis, program evaluation, and clinical research. This geography gives DC-based psychology students direct access to practicum placements, research assistantships, and postdoctoral fellowships that rarely exist outside the capital region.
Psychology programs in the District span the full credential ladder: associate degrees for behavioral health technicians, bachelor's degrees for entry-level research roles, master's degrees in psychology for marriage and family therapy or school counseling, and APA-accredited doctoral programs (PhD and PsyD) that prepare students for independent clinical practice and licensure. The differences between these levels are not incremental. A master's degree will not qualify you for the title "psychologist" in DC, which is reserved for doctoral license holders.
Specialization choice often matters more than institutional prestige. A top-tier university without a counseling psychology doctoral track or neuropsychology concentration may be the wrong fit if your career goal is substance abuse treatment or cognitive assessment. Most DC programs require a year-long predoctoral internship, and internship match rates vary widely by institution and training model.
Best Psychology Schools in Washington, DC
Washington, DC is one of the few cities where you can complete a research practicum at a federally funded institute one semester and counsel residents in a community clinic the next. The eight DC schools below vary widely in mission and price, so this list weighs APA accreditation, affordability, what graduates earn, and the local training networks each school can unlock.
Factors considered
- Pell enrollment share
- Tuition adjusted for local costs
- Graduate earnings relative to debt
- APA-accredited doctoral training
- Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- Program-level records maintained in house
- Original research on individual programs
- National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
- Bureau of Economic Analysis cost-of-living index by state — bea.gov
George Washington University
George Washington University gives students the widest range of psychology pathways in the district: an APA-accredited PsyD, an APA-accredited PhD in clinical psychology, a forensic psychology MA, an applied psychology MS, and a PhD in I/O psychology. Doctoral trainees build skills at the Center Clinic and Meltzer Center before fanning out to DC hospitals, federal agencies, and community sites. College Scorecard data show median earnings around $91,000 for former GW students, with median graduate debt near $20,000.
- APA-accredited program on the DC campus
- 83 credit hours under a practitioner scholar model
- Concentrations in adult, child/adolescent, and assessment
- Three and four year completion options
- First practicum at the community-oriented Center Clinic
- APA-approved full-time internship required
- APA-accredited scientist-practitioner program
- 72 credit hours plus dissertation
- STEM designated with multiple theoretical orientations
- Clinical training at the Meltzer Center
- Strong focus on diversity and systemic oppression
- 37 credit hours; full time or part time
- Concentrations in applied forensics or applied psychology
- Externship placements in law enforcement and victim services
- Day, evening, and weekend classes for working professionals
- 72 credit hours with dissertation
- STEM designated and SIOP aligned
- Prepares for government agencies and consulting work
- 36 credit hours
- Foundations in cognitive, social, and clinical psychology
- Optional research track
- Built for industry, public service, and government roles
- 15 credits; hybrid delivery
- $1,000 per credit hour
- Hands-on practicum included
- Admits spring, summer, and fall semesters
PsyD in Clinical Psychology — On-Campus
PhD in Clinical Psychology — On-Campus
MA in Forensic Psychology — On-Campus
PhD in Industrial/Organizational Psychology — On-Campus
MS in Applied Psychology — On-Campus
Graduate Certificate in Autism Spectrum Disorders — Hybrid
Howard University
Howard University is the DC anchor for APA-accredited training with a social justice lens. Its counseling psychology PhD and clinical psychology PhD prepare students to work with Black communities and other underserved populations, with practicum partners including the VA, NIH, and Children's National. The master's in school psychology and counseling services adds a shorter on-ramp to school-based work, and Howard's high Pell share is part of its stated mission.
- APA-accredited scientist-practitioner program
- 108 credit hours
- Racial, cultural, and social bases of counseling
- Prepares students for psychology licensure
- Rolling admissions and PSYCAS application
- APA-accredited with adult or child tracks
- 72 credit hours
- 100% APA internship match rate reported
- Partnerships with NIH, VA, and Children's National
- Research emphasis on underserved communities
- Full-time, in-person master's
- Prepares entry-level school clinicians
- Aligned with professional licensure standards
- Emphasis on cultural competency and underserved students
- 91 credit hours
- Full time, starts in fall
- Focus on African American and underserved communities
- Written and oral qualifying exams
- 72 credit hours
- Specialization in development among underserved children
- Rolling admissions and PSYCAS application
- Faculty research on mental health disparities
PhD in Counseling Psychology — On-Campus
PhD in Clinical Psychology — On-Campus
MS in School Psychology and Counseling Services — On-Campus
PhD in Educational Psychology — On-Campus
PhD in Developmental Psychology — On-Campus
American University
American University matters here because a small clinical psychology PhD cohort gets unusually deep research training inside a scientist-practitioner model. Students log four year-long practicum placements, beginning at AU's Center for Well-Being Programs and continuing at DC-area hospitals and federal sites. The undergraduate BA also treats DC as an internship lab, making AU a good fit whether you are starting a psychology major or finishing a doctorate.
- 120 total credit hours
- Statistics and research methods required
- Internship, service-learning, or honors capstone
- Experiential learning core to the DC curriculum
- APA-accredited since 1972
- 72 credit hours plus dissertation
- Four year-long practicum placements
- Externships through DC-area hospitals and federal institutions
- Scientist-practitioner training for research or practice
Psychology (B.A.), Bachelor's — On-Campus
PhD in Clinical Psychology — On-Campus
The Catholic University of America
Catholic University combines a broad undergraduate psychology major with one of the oldest continuously APA-accredited clinical PhD programs in the country. The department pushes undergrads into research apprenticeships and internships at Children's National, the Washington VA Medical Center, NIH, and APA offices, while doctoral students can focus on children, families, and cultures. It is a research-forward, applied school in a residential corner of the city.
- 12 psychology courses including statistics and methods
- DC-area research apprenticeships for credit
- Internships with APA, Children's National, and VA
- Senior thesis available for honors students
- APA-accredited since 1948
- Scientist-practitioner model
- Children, Families, and Cultures track available
- Required practicum and case conference in CFC track
- DC externship culture across clinical and developmental labs
- Focus on the full human lifespan
- Research apprenticeship included
- Careers in colleges, government laboratories, and policy
Psychology (B.A.), Bachelor's — On-Campus
PhD in Clinical Psychology — On-Campus
PhD in Developmental Psychology — On-Campus
Gallaudet University
Gallaudet is DC's culturally deaf-centered university, and its psychology programs train clinicians and researchers to serve deaf and hard of hearing communities in ASL/English bilingual settings. The PsyD in School Psychology and PhD in Clinical Psychology are both APA-accredited, with DC-area training placements beyond campus. Lower tuition and a research hub like VL2 make Gallaudet an especially smart value for the right applicant.
- 120 credits with deaf culture integrated
- Research at VL2 and affiliated labs
- Internships in applied settings
- Senior capstone project
- APA-accredited school psychology program
- 99 credit hours with 2,000 clinical hours
- Sub-specialization in deafness
- ASL courses built into the curriculum
- Test optional and no entrance exam
- APA-accredited since 1995
- 97 credit hours with thesis
- Bilingual ASL/English training environment
- Clinical sites include campus clinics and Metro DC
- ASL proficiency required for graduation
B.A. in Psychology, Bachelor's — On-Campus
PsyD in School Psychology — On-Campus
PhD in Clinical Psychology — On-Campus
Georgetown University
Georgetown offers an excellent undergraduate liberal arts psychology major with unmatched access to federal agencies, think tanks, and advocacy organizations. But note the split identity: as of 2026 Georgetown does not house an APA-accredited doctoral program in clinical, counseling, or school psychology, so it is a better launching pad for PhD training elsewhere or for law, policy, and medical school than for direct licensure-track study.
- Ten courses plus research methods and statistics
- Honors program with independent research
- Faculty advisor assigned to each major
- Minor in psychology available
- Writing requirements integrated through the curriculum
Psychology (A.B.), Bachelor's — On-Campus
The Chicago School at Washington DC
The Chicago School's Washington, DC campus is a career-focused professional school, not a traditional research university. Its APA-accredited PsyD in Clinical Psychology emphasizes practice-oriented training, and master's options in forensic psychology and I/O psychology are built for students who need full time or part time paths into applied work. Entry-level earning figures look modest next to several DC universities, so compare tuition, licensure fit, and APA internship placement carefully.
- 60 credits with 700 clinical hours
- Professional counselor licensure track
- No GRE required
- Courses in forensic assessment and trauma
- Full time in two years or part time in three
- Internship or applied research project track
- SIOP-aligned curriculum
- Internship track includes 600 hours
- Fully online coursework
- Concentrations in higher ed, K-12, and instructional design
- Requires master's degree for admission
- Non-licensure doctoral path
- APA-accredited DC campus program
- Practice-oriented with adult, child, adolescent, assessment, trauma, and health focus
- Three years of practicum across DC-area settings
- APA-accredited internship pathway through Mid Atlantic Consortium
MA in Forensic Psychology — On-Campus
MA in Industrial/Organizational Psychology — On-Campus
EdD in Educational Psychology and Technology — Online
PsyD in Clinical Psychology — Hybrid
Trinity Washington University
Trinity Washington University is an intentionally accessible, minority-serving institution whose high Pell enrollment and federal net price near $9,300 make it one of the most affordable DC options on this list. Its psychology major stresses research methods and applied field experience, and an accelerated BA-to-MA route moves students into counseling careers while keeping costs contained. Trinity is a particularly strong fit for local students who plan to stay in the District for graduate school or community-based practice.
- Cluster options shape elective coursework
- Research methods and statistics required
- Practicum or internship included
- Senior seminar with comprehensive exam
- BA-to-MA in counseling option available
Psychology (B.A.), Bachelor's — On-Campus
APA-Accredited Psychology Programs in Washington, DC
APA accreditation is a voluntary quality-assurance process for doctoral programs in clinical psychology, counseling psychology, school psychology, and combined psychology areas. When a program earns APA accreditation, it has met rigorous standards for curriculum, faculty qualifications, student training, and supervision. For anyone planning to become a licensed psychologist, attending an APA-accredited program is nearly essential. Most state licensing boards, including the DC Board of Psychology, require graduation from an APA-accredited doctoral program as a condition of licensure.
Start with the Official APA Database
The most reliable way to find APA-accredited programs in Washington, DC is to consult the American Psychological Association's official database at accreditation.apa.org. This searchable directory lists every accredited program in the United States, along with accreditation dates, degree types (PhD or PsyD), and specialty area (clinical, counseling, or school psychology). The database updates regularly, so always verify current status rather than relying on older lists or third-party summaries. Filter your search by location and degree level to see which programs in DC hold active accreditation.
Verify Details on University Websites
Once you've identified programs in the APA database, visit each university's psychology department website to gather detailed information. George Washington University, American University, The Catholic University of America, Gallaudet University, and Howard University all operate doctoral psychology programs in the district. Department websites typically publish admission requirements, specialization tracks, faculty research areas, internship placement rates, and time-to-degree statistics. Confirm accreditation status directly with the department and ask when the program's next self-study or site visit is scheduled. Programs sometimes go on probation or lose accreditation between database updates, so direct confirmation matters. Students interested in niche fields such as clinical forensic psychology doctoral programs should pay special attention to whether a program's specialty tracks align with their career goals.
Use State Licensing Boards and Professional Associations
Accreditation alone does not guarantee that a program meets every requirement for licensure in the state where you plan to practice. The DC Board of Psychology website (dchealth.dc.gov/bop) spells out exactly which educational and training credentials qualify for licensure. Review those requirements before committing to a program. For broader career planning, consult the Bureau of Labor Statistics at BLS.gov for national and regional data on psychologist employment, projected growth, and wages. If you are still exploring the profession, learning how to become an applied psychologist can help you compare specialty paths before selecting a doctoral program. Professional associations like the American Psychological Association and the National Association of School Psychologists offer additional program directories, career guides, and salary surveys that complement official accreditation records.
Questions to Ask Yourself
Are you aiming for licensure as a clinical psychologist, or is a master's-level counseling career your goal?
Do you need APA accreditation for your career path, or will a non-accredited program serve your goals?
Is proximity to DC's federal research ecosystem a factor in your decision?
Do you plan to stay in the DC metro area after graduation, or will you relocate?
Psychology Degree Levels Available in DC
What will each psychology degree level actually qualify you to do in the District, and how much do those credentials move the salary needle?
DC universities offer psychology programs at every major credential tier, from associate degrees through doctoral study. Each level unlocks different roles, different licensure pathways, and markedly different earning potential. The Bureau of Labor Statistics tracks this progression through occupation codes: clinical and counseling psychologists (SOC 19-3031) typically require doctoral credentials, while many human services or applied research positions filled by bachelor's or master's holders fall under related SOC codes such as 19-3039 (psychologists, all other) or 21-1094 (community and social service specialists). Comparing those codes at BLS.gov reveals the salary differentials you can expect at each step.
Associate and Bachelor's Degrees
Associate programs in psychology are rare in DC, though the University of the District of Columbia offers general social science pathways that can ladder into bachelor's work. Most students enter at the bachelor's level. George Washington University, American University, Georgetown, Howard University, and Catholic University all maintain robust undergraduate psychology departments. Bachelor's graduates typically move into case management, research assistant roles, human resources, or substance abuse counseling positions that do not require licensure. National data from the American Psychological Association shows that fewer than 30 percent of bachelor's recipients in psychology pursue graduate study immediately, but the DC metro market rewards those who do. Median early-career earnings for bachelor's holders in psychology-adjacent roles in the region hover near $45,000 to $50,000, though specific program-level earnings data varies by institution and many schools do not yet publish it for every major.
Master's Degrees
Master's programs open clinical and counseling pathways, particularly for licensure as a Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) or a Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC) in DC. American University, George Washington, and Marymount University each offer terminal master's tracks in clinical or counseling psychology, often designed to meet LPC requirements. Students interested in clinical and counseling tracks can also explore counseling schools in Washington DC for a broader view of accredited options. Master's holders can practice independently once licensed, and the DC Department of Employment Services reports median salaries for licensed counselors in the metro area ranging from $55,000 to $75,000, depending on setting and specialization. The National Association of Colleges and Employers periodically publishes employer-perception studies showing that master's credentials in applied psychology careers carry strong hiring preference in clinical, school, and organizational settings.
Doctoral Degrees: PhD and PsyD
Doctoral study splits into two paths: the research-focused PhD and the practitioner-oriented PsyD. George Washington, American, and Howard each offer APA-accredited doctoral programs. PhD programs emphasize original research and academic careers; PsyD programs prioritize clinical training and supervised practice hours for licensure as a psychologist. BLS data for SOC 19-3031 (clinical, counseling, and school psychologists) shows a national median wage near $90,000, but the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria metro area consistently reports medians above $100,000. DC itself requires a doctoral degree, supervised experience, and examination for psychologist licensure. Individual university annual reports and APA program data pages provide granular completion rates, time-to-degree, and internship match statistics that matter as much as tuition when choosing a doctoral program.
Psychology Specializations Offered at DC Schools
Choosing a specialization is where program prestige and personal fit collide. A nationally ranked school may not offer the concentration you need, while a smaller program might have exactly the right training track for your career goals. Washington, DC's psychology degree programs span a wide range of specialization areas, but no two schools package them the same way.
How to Identify What Each School Offers
Start with each school's official academic catalog for the current year. Psychology department pages typically list concentrations, tracks, or specialization areas under degree program descriptions. At the doctoral level, George Washington University offers clinical psychology with an emphasis on diverse populations, while Howard University's APA-accredited clinical psychology program centers culturally informed practice and research with African American and other underrepresented communities. American University provides options in behavior, cognition, and neuroscience alongside its clinical program. The Catholic University of America offers a clinical psychology doctoral program with training in both empirical research and applied practice.
Gallaudet University stands apart with its APA-accredited clinical psychology program designed around Deaf and hard-of-hearing populations, a specialization essentially unavailable anywhere else in the country. The Chicago School of Professional Psychology's DC campus offers PsyD training in clinical psychology with applied emphases including forensic psychology and health psychology. Georgetown's programs lean toward interdisciplinary work, connecting psychology with neuroscience, health, and policy.
Using Professional Resources to Verify Specializations
The Bureau of Labor Statistics outlines the most common specialization areas in psychology: clinical, counseling, cognitive, developmental, forensic, industrial-organizational, and school psychology, among others. Cross-referencing these categories with what DC schools advertise helps you spot gaps. If you want industrial-organizational psychology, for example, your options in DC proper are limited, and you may need to look at programs in the broader metro area.
The American Psychological Association maintains a searchable program directory that details accredited programs and their stated areas of focus. This is especially useful for doctoral-level comparisons. Students interested in understanding how different degree levels align with various specializations can also explore the broader landscape of degrees in psychology.
Contact Admissions for the Latest Details
Catalogs and websites can lag behind actual offerings. Programs occasionally add, pause, or restructure concentration tracks between catalog cycles. Reaching out to admissions offices directly, whether by email or phone, is the most reliable way to confirm what specializations are available and whether any changes are planned for the upcoming academic year. Ask specifically about:
- New concentrations or tracks under development
- Faculty research areas that shape practicum and dissertation options
- Whether a listed specialization requires additional application steps or has limited cohort sizes
Specializations shape not just your coursework but your practicum placements, dissertation direction, and ultimately your licensure path. Treat this step as more than a catalog exercise.
Related Articles
Tuition and Cost Comparison for DC Psychology Programs
The price of a psychology degree in Washington, DC is not a single number. It varies by school, degree level, and whether you are studying at a private institution or a public one. Understanding what you will actually spend requires looking at per-credit rates, total program length, and the full cost of living in one of the country's most expensive metro areas.
What DC Schools Charge for Graduate Psychology Programs
All of the major psychology programs in DC are housed at private universities, which means there is no in-state versus out-of-state tuition split to navigate. You pay the same rate regardless of where you lived before enrolling. That said, rates differ significantly from school to school and program to program.
At George Washington University, published rates for 2026-2027 reflect that program type drives cost considerably.1 The Clinical Psychology PsyD runs approximately $1,999 per credit hour, while the Forensic Psychology MA is lower at around $1,650 per credit. Graduate programs in the broader Columbian College of Arts and Sciences carry a default rate closer to $2,154 per credit. Because doctoral programs typically require 90 to 120 credit hours and master's programs range from 36 to 60 credits, even modest per-credit differences compound into tens of thousands of dollars over a full program.
Howard University publishes an estimated total cost of attendance for graduate students of approximately $45,084 for the 2025-2026 academic year.2 That figure is meant to capture tuition, fees, housing, food, and personal expenses together, not tuition alone. For schools where published all-in figures are not yet available for the current year, prospective students should contact financial aid offices directly rather than rely on older estimates.
Financial Aid: What Doctoral and Master's Students Can Expect
Doctoral programs, particularly fully funded PhD programs in clinical or counseling psychology, often include stipends and tuition remission through research or teaching assistantships. If you are weighing your options among clinical psychology doctorate programs, acceptances are competitive and cohort sizes are small, but funding is common enough that it should factor into your decision about whether to pursue a PhD versus a PsyD or master's degree.
Master's programs are a different story. Assistantships exist but are far less common at the master's level. Most students in DC-area MA and MS programs pay out of pocket or through student loans, which makes the total sticker price much more consequential.
The DC Cost-of-Living Factor
Tuition is only part of what you will spend. Washington, DC consistently ranks among the highest cost-of-living cities in the country. A shared apartment in a neighborhood with reasonable transit access can easily run $1,500 to $2,000 or more per month. When you add transportation, food, and health insurance to your tuition bill, the true annual cost of attending a DC psychology program can exceed what any single tuition figure suggests.
Before committing to a program, build a full budget that includes living expenses, not just what the school charges. Some students offset costs through part-time clinical work or graduate assistantships, but not all programs permit or facilitate that during the first year of study.
What Psychologists Earn in the Washington, DC Metro Area
Washington, DC offers psychologists salaries that sit well above national medians, driven largely by federal agency employment, a dense network of research institutions, and the region's high cost of living. The BLS reports roughly 730 psychologists employed across three major occupational categories in the District alone. Note that wage data for clinical and counseling psychologists in DC is not fully disclosed by the BLS due to confidentiality constraints, but available figures for school psychologists and other psychology specialties paint a clear picture of the earning potential here. For context, the national median annual wage for school psychologists was approximately $82,310 as of the most recent BLS data, meaning DC school psychologists earn more than $18,000 above that benchmark. The 'Psychologists, All Other' category, which captures specialties outside clinical, counseling, and school psychology, shows even higher earnings in DC.
| Occupation | Employed in DC | 25th Percentile | Median Salary | 75th Percentile | Mean Salary |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clinical and Counseling Psychologists | 260 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| School Psychologists | 280 | $81,750 | $100,720 | $131,060 | $105,360 |
| Psychologists, All Other | 190 | $107,900 | $117,960 | $148,350 | $120,880 |
Online Vs. On-Campus Psychology Programs in DC
Clinical hours cannot be completed through a screen. That single fact shapes every decision a psychology student makes about program format, because no matter how much coursework moves online, practicum placements and supervised clinical hours must happen in person. For doctoral-level programs, those requirements typically run into the thousands of hours before licensure eligibility.
What Online and Hybrid Formats Actually Offer
Flexible formats work well for specific situations: working adults, students with family obligations, or those pursuing non-clinical graduate study in psychology. The Chicago School's DC campus offers an online master's in psychology, which suits students focused on research, organizational psychology, or roles that do not require clinical licensure. For master's-level counseling schools, hybrid and evening schedules appear at several DC institutions, allowing students to attend some classes remotely while completing required site hours locally.
The tradeoffs are real, though. Online learners in clinical tracks still need to secure local practicum sites on their own, coordinate schedules with supervisors, and integrate field experience with coursework. That coordination burden falls more heavily on the student in a distributed format than in a cohort-based, on-campus program where the school manages placement logistics.
APA Accreditation and Format Limits
APA accreditation applies to doctoral programs regardless of delivery format, but the practical reality is that very few fully online doctoral programs currently hold APA accreditation. Students considering a PsyD or PhD in clinical or counseling psychology should treat APA accreditation as a non-negotiable criterion, which means most serious doctoral candidates end up in predominantly on-campus programs. The internship match process through APPIC also favors candidates from accredited programs, making format a downstream career concern, not just an enrollment convenience.
DC School Options by Format
Among DC-area programs, evening and part-time options are the most common accommodation for working students. Schools including American University, Catholic University, and Howard University offer graduate psychology coursework with scheduling flexibility, though their doctoral programs retain strong on-campus residency expectations. Georgetown's programs lean toward traditional in-person delivery. Gallaudet University's offerings serve a specialized population with specific access considerations.
For prospective students weighing format, the honest starting question is not "can I do this online?" but rather "which parts of this training genuinely require in-person engagement?" For clinical psychology, the answer is most of the parts that matter most for licensure.
How to Become a Licensed Psychologist in Washington, DC
Earning your license as a psychologist in Washington, DC is a multi-year commitment that typically spans 8 to 12 years from your first day of doctoral coursework to holding a license in hand. The DC Board of Psychology oversees every step of this process, and each requirement must be completed in sequence before you can practice independently.

APPIC internship match rates are one of the strongest indicators of doctoral program quality. Programs with consistently high match rates place students into APA-accredited internships, a prerequisite for licensure in Washington, DC. Before committing to any program, ask the admissions office directly for their most recent match rate data. If they hesitate to share it, consider that a red flag.
Frequently Asked Questions About Psychology Schools in DC
Washington, DC, is home to several well-regarded psychology programs, but sorting through options can feel overwhelming. Below are direct answers to the questions prospective students ask most often.
- What is the best school for psychology in Washington, DC?
- There is no single best school for every student. George Washington University, American University, Howard University, The Catholic University of America, and Gallaudet University each bring distinct strengths. The right choice depends on your target specialization, preferred degree format (Ph.D. vs. PsyD), funding packages, and career goals. Compare APA accreditation status, internship match rates, and program outcomes before deciding.
- Which DC psychology programs are APA-accredited?
- Several doctoral programs in DC hold APA accreditation, including clinical psychology programs at GWU, Howard, American, Catholic, and Gallaudet. The Chicago School of Professional Psychology also operates an APA-accredited campus in the district. Because accreditation status can change, always verify directly through the APA's online list or each program's website, where outcome data is required to be published.
- How much does a psychology degree cost in Washington, DC?
- Tuition varies widely. A bachelor's degree at a DC university may run between $50,000 and $65,000 per year before aid, while doctoral tuition ranges from roughly $30,000 to over $55,000 annually. Funded Ph.D. slots can offset most costs through stipends and tuition waivers. PsyD programs typically offer less institutional funding, so compare net cost carefully after scholarships and assistantships.
- What jobs can you get with a psychology degree from a DC school?
- A bachelor's degree opens doors to roles in research coordination, human resources, case management, and behavioral health support. A master's qualifies you for licensed counseling positions in many jurisdictions. A doctorate prepares you for independent clinical practice, assessment, academic research, and leadership roles in federal agencies, hospitals, and nonprofits, all of which are abundant in the DC metro area.
- How long does it take to become a licensed psychologist in DC?
- Plan on roughly ten to twelve years after high school. That includes four years of undergraduate study, five to seven years in a doctoral program (which encompasses a predoctoral internship), and a postdoctoral supervised experience period required by DC's Board of Psychology. You must also pass the EPPP. Total timelines vary depending on program structure and how quickly you complete supervised hours.
- Are there PsyD programs in Washington, DC?
- Yes. The Chicago School of Professional Psychology operates an APA-accredited PsyD program on its DC campus. PsyD programs emphasize clinical training over research production. Nationally, PsyD internship match rates have ranged from about 79% to 91% over recent cycles, so evaluating a specific program's match data is critical before enrolling. Check each program's published outcomes table for the most current figures.
- Can you complete a psychology degree online in DC?
- Bachelor's and master's level psychology programs are increasingly available in online or hybrid formats from DC-area universities and nationally accredited institutions. However, APA-accredited doctoral programs require substantial in-person clinical training, practicum hours, and a predoctoral internship. If you are pursuing licensure as a psychologist, expect a significant on-campus and in-clinic commitment regardless of any online coursework.








