Best Spiritual Psychology Programs: Degrees & Licensure
Updated September 24, 202622 min read

Spiritual Psychology Programs: What to Know Before You Enroll

Compare master's and doctoral options by format, accreditation, cost structure, and whether the degree leads to licensure

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Most spiritual psychology degrees lead to no clinical license at all.
  • Per-credit rates range from roughly $700 to over $2,200.
  • Saybrook's clinical PhD needs 100+ credits; its consciousness PhD needs 66.

Enroll in two programs that both call themselves "spiritual psychology" and you may be choosing between wildly different things: a regionally accredited university housing a counseling degree, an independent consciousness-studies institute, or a weekend coaching certificate with no academic standing at all. The shared label hides that gap.

The variable that separates them is licensure eligibility. Some of these degrees satisfy a state's coursework and supervised-hours requirements for clinical practice; many do not, and were never designed to.

Because the field is small and loosely regulated, the burden falls on the applicant to verify accreditation and state licensing alignment before wiring a deposit. Sticker price, format, and reputation matter, but none of them undo a credential your state board will not recognize.

What Is a Spiritual Psychology Degree, and How Is It Different From Transpersonal Psychology?

A spiritual psychology degree is an interdisciplinary program that applies psychological concepts to spiritual growth, meaning-making, and whole-person development. Rather than treating religious belief as a separate domain, spiritual psychology programs examine how contemplative practice, values, and transcendent experiences shape identity, coping, and relationships. Students typically study mindfulness, consciousness, symbolic and narrative processes, and the integration of spiritual resources in helping relationships. The degree can be offered at the master's or doctoral level, with some students entering a dedicated program and others choosing a concentration within a broader transpersonal or counseling sequence.

Transpersonal psychology is the larger academic home for much of this work. It studies experiences beyond the ordinary ego, including mystical, peak, and near-death states, and draws on both clinical research and world wisdom traditions. Spiritual psychology often functions as an applied subfield within transpersonal psychology: it foregrounds the client's spiritual worldview and uses psychological methods to support spiritual development, while transpersonal programs may also investigate non-spiritual exceptional experience. Some programs make that relationship explicit. Sofia University's Master of Arts in Transpersonal Psychology, for example, includes a Spiritual Psychology concentration alongside Transformative Life Coaching, Creativity and Innovation, and Veteran Leadership.

That distinction matters for licensure. A transpersonal or spiritual psychology degree is usually designed for personal growth, coaching, ministry, and education rather than as a standalone path to state counseling licensure. Students who want to become licensed mental health professionals typically need a separate counseling psychology degree or clinical psychology degree that meets state educational requirements for supervised practice and exams.

Because spiritual psychology is not a uniform license category, graduates often pair the degree with additional credentials. Some pursue spiritual counseling certification or similar non-licensure designations to work in pastoral, coaching, or community settings. Others continue into doctoral study in transpersonal psychology, where programs may train students in a defined set of competencies for research, teaching, and advanced practice.

Master's in Spiritual Psychology Programs Worth Comparing

The master's-level market here is small, and the programs differ more than the shared label suggests: some are housed inside a major research university's counseling and clinical psychology school, others inside independent institutes built around consciousness studies. The comparison below reflects only what each school currently publishes about degree name, credit load, length, and delivery. Where a cell reads N/A, the institution does not state that detail in its public program materials, and we would rather leave it blank than guess on your behalf.

Program / SchoolDegree & FocusTotal CreditsTypical LengthFormat
Teachers College, Columbia University (Spirituality Mind Body Institute)Master of Arts in Spirituality and Psychology32 creditsN/AN/A
Sofia UniversityMaster of Arts in Transpersonal Psychology42 units (minimum)2 yearsOnline with low-residency: two on-campus residencies during the two-year program, 5 consecutive days each
Saybrook UniversityMaster's in Psychology: Consciousness and Spirituality and Integrative Health specializationN/AN/A100% online
California Institute of Human Science (CIHS)Master of Arts in Psychology, Spirituality and Whole Person Psychology concentration48 quarter credit units1 year full time (accelerated)In person or 100% at a distance

The Accreditation Question Most Prospective Students Get Wrong

Most students start the accreditation search by looking for a spiritual psychology accreditor. The more useful check is the regional accreditor that reviews the whole university. For this specialty, that usually means WSCUC or MSCHE, and the institution records tell you exactly what to verify.

Saybrook University's WSCUC record shows accredited status (2026), with initial accreditation in 1984 and the most recent commission action dated June 26, 2026.1 Sofia University has been WSCUC-accredited since 1998; its 2026 status remains accredited, and the last commission action occurred June 28, 2024.2 Pacifica Graduate Institute received initial WSCUC accreditation in 1997, holds accredited status in 2026, and its most recent commission action was February 14, 2025.3

That pattern matters if you also plan to branch into related fields. Students weighing spiritual psychology and spiritual counseling programs often compare the same accreditation markers, but the degree title can be different.spiritual counseling programs As you review options, use the same process for choosing a graduate program in psychology: look up the institutional record, note the next self-study or commission action, and treat a current accredited status as the floor, not the differentiator.choosing a graduate program in psychology

Accreditation status alone won't tell you whether a program's transpersonal or contemplative emphasis matches your goals, but it does screen out schools that lack recognized institutional oversight. Not every school follows the WSCUC route. Teachers College, Columbia University is MSCHE-accredited, with initial accreditation in 1921 and reaccreditation reaffirmed on June 25, 2026; its next self-study evaluation is set for 2033-2034.4 That mix of WSCUC and MSCHE records shows why the accreditation question trips people up: they look for a program-specific stamp, when the reliable answer sits at the institutional level across psychology degree programs.psychology degree programs

Can You Become a Licensed Therapist With a Spiritual Psychology Degree?

The Three Buckets

Spiritual psychology programs do not all lead to the same license, or to any license at all. Separate them into three categories before assuming a credential will make you eligible to become a therapist. Licensure-track clinical degrees are counseling programs with the coursework, supervision, and accreditation a state board will recognize. Academic or education-only degrees may deepen theory but are not designed to meet clinical licensing requirements. Coaching or personal-growth certificates often focus on applied practice outside licensed mental health roles.

What State Boards Actually Check

State licensing boards are not looking for the phrase "spiritual psychology" in a degree title. They check whether the program includes required coursework hours, supervised practicum or internship hours, and acceptable program accreditation such as CACREP for counseling or COAMFTE for marriage and family therapy. Rules for licensed professional counselors and LMHCs vary by state, but typical patterns include a counseling master's of 48 to 60 semester credits, roughly 2,000 to more than 4,000 post-degree supervised clinical hours, and passage of the NCE or NCMHCE depending on the state. MFT license requirements commonly include relational coursework and approximately 3,000 to 4,000 supervised hours, with California, for example, expecting 225 pre-degree face-to-face hours and 3,000 post-graduation hours.

Where the Profiled Programs Land

As of 2026, the clearest licensure-track option in this space is Saybrook University's M.A. in Counseling with a Clinical Mental Health Counseling concentration. Saybrook states the program holds CACREP accreditation and broadly aligns with LPC, LPCC, or LMHC educational requirements in nearly all states, with exceptions including Kansas, Wisconsin, Puerto Rico, and several U.S. territories. The program aligns with California's BBS professional clinical counselor registration and exam pathway, though the degree alone does not grant a license; you still complete state-required exams and supervised clinical hours. Saybrook does not specify a universal practicum hour total, so confirm supervisor and site requirements with your state board.

By contrast, Sofia University's M.A. in Transpersonal Psychology is not described in available 2026 disclosures as a licensure-track clinical counseling program. Sofia's licensure-related disclosures center on separate counseling psychology and clinical psychology programs, not the transpersonal master's. For other profiled institutions, available information does not establish that their spiritual or transpersonal degrees meet LPC, LPCC, LMFT, or psychologist licensure education requirements. Separate counseling or clinical programs at those schools may qualify, but the spiritual and transpersonal programs should not be assumed to do so.

The Doctoral Difference

A PhD or PsyD in psychology leads to psychologist licensure only when the doctoral program meets state board standards and, often, APA or ASPPB expectations. A spiritual or transpersonal doctoral program that is not designed as a clinical doctoral sequence is not a reliable route to licensed psychologist status. Even if the degree is terminal, do not assume it satisfies supervised practicum, internship, postdoc, EPPP, and jurisprudence requirements.

Before enrolling, contact the board in the state where you intend to practice, not the state where the school is located. Licensure portability and coursework acceptance vary enough that out-of-state program approval is never a guarantee.

PHD and Doctoral Programs in Spiritual and Transpersonal Psychology

Saybrook University's clinical psychology PhD requires 100 to 109 credits depending on prior coursework, while its consciousness-focused nonclinical PhD requires 66. That gap in credit load reflects a much bigger divide: one degree is built to produce a licensed psychologist, the other is not, and mistaking one for the other is the costliest error a prospective doctoral student can make.

Clinical vs. Nonclinical Tracks

Saybrook's Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology (with a Consciousness, Spirituality, and Integrative Health specialization) is hybrid, accepts up to 15 transfer credits from a qualifying master's, and requires three five-day residential sessions per year in California. It is not APA-accredited, and whether it satisfies licensure requirements depends on the state board, some of which require a residency year the hybrid format may not fully meet. Saybrook's nonclinical Ph.D. in Psychology, by contrast, is fully online, requires a dissertation, and is explicit that it does not lead to psychologist licensure.

Pacifica's Doctoral Menu

Pacifica Graduate Institute offers a similar split. Its M.A./Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology (Depth Psychology track) runs 105 quarter units across roughly three years of coursework and a two-year dissertation period, with 2,500 supervised clinical hours and a typical five-year completion. The Psy.D., a clinical psychology doctorate, covers 116 quarter units, the same 2,500 clinical hours plus 60 hours of personal therapy, and a typical four-year timeline. Both are licensure-oriented and meet most California requirements, though every state sets its own rules. Pacifica's other doctorates, the Ph.D. in Psychology, Religion, and Consciousness (fully online), the M.A./Ph.D. in Jungian and Archetypal Studies (hybrid or online), and the Ph.D. in Depth Psychology, Integrative Therapy and Healing Practices (one five-day residential session per quarter, up to eight years to complete), do not have an established licensure pathway.

What the Nonclinical Doctorate Actually Qualifies You For

A nonclinical PhD in consciousness studies, depth psychology, or Jungian studies is a legitimate credential for teaching, scholarly research, writing, retreat facilitation, and leadership roles in spiritually oriented organizations. It does not qualify you to call yourself a psychologist or bill insurance for clinical services.

The Real Cost Is Time

Doctoral timelines of four to eight years mean tuition is only part of the investment. Dissertation stalls and attrition are common at this level, and every additional year adds tuition, lost income, and delayed licensure eligibility for those pursuing a clinical track.

What a Spiritual Psychology Degree Costs: Per-Credit and Total Price

Published per-credit rates for spiritual and transpersonal psychology graduate programs currently run from roughly $700 to more than $2,200, which means two degrees of similar length can differ by a factor of three in sticker price. Credit totals matter just as much as the rate: a 42-unit master's at a low per-credit price lands in a very different place than a 66-credit doctorate billed at a premium rate. The figures below come from each school's own published tuition pages; programs that do not publish a clear per-credit or total cost are left out rather than estimated.

SchoolPer-Credit TuitionTotal CreditsEstimated Total TuitionFederal Aid Eligible?
Saybrook University, M.A. in Psychology (Consciousness and Spirituality specialization)$1,497Not publishedNot publishedNot stated in published tuition data
Saybrook University, Ph.D. in Psychology (Consciousness, Spirituality and Integrative Health specialization)$1,70066Approximately $112,200 at the published per-credit rateNot stated in published tuition data
Sofia University, M.A. in Transpersonal Psychology$700 (rate last published in 2023)42 to 60, depending on concentration$30,870Yes. Sofia publishes half-time and full-time enrollment thresholds for graduate and doctoral students
Sofia University, M.A. in Transpersonal Psychology (Korean Language)Not published separately42$30,870Yes. Sofia publishes half-time and full-time enrollment thresholds for graduate and doctoral students
Columbia University Teachers College, applicable graduate program$2,216Varies by programNot published as a single figureGenerally yes at eligible enrollment levels. Students taking fewer than 5 credits are generally not eligible

Admission Requirements and Application Materials

Admission standards in this field are looser than in APA-accredited clinical psychology, but they are not casual, programs screen heavily for self-awareness and readiness to do personal work alongside academic study. The specifics below come from the programs that publish them; several schools do not post complete 2026 requirements, so confirm details with an admissions counselor before you assemble materials.

  1. GPA minimums and standardized tests
    Sofia University asks for a 3.0 minimum from an accredited (or internationally equivalent) bachelor's degree or higher. CIIS also sets 3.0 for its doctoral program but will review applicants in the 2.0–3.0 range who submit a GPA statement, falling below the line is not an automatic rejection. Saybrook sets its qualifying GPA program by program rather than university-wide. Neither Sofia nor Saybrook requires the GRE or any other standardized exam, and CIIS does not publish a GRE policy for this program.
  2. Prerequisite coursework
    Expect case-by-case review rather than a fixed course list. Sofia's program chair may require prerequisite coursework from applicants without a psychology background; Saybrook applies prerequisites only where a specific program requires them. CIIS's doctoral program is a post-master's admit, you need both a bachelor's and a master's degree (or equivalent).
  3. Personal statement and autobiographical essay
    This is where these programs differ most from mainstream psychology admissions. CIIS requires a 4–6 page, double-spaced autobiographical statement addressing your values, spiritual and emotional insights, life experiences, and aspirations, considerably longer than the one-page statement many programs accept. Applicants to the accelerated two-year track submit an additional 300–500 word essay. Sofia requires a statement of purpose without a published page limit; Saybrook asks you to write about turning your passion into practice, also with no stated length.
  4. Letters of recommendation
    CIIS requires two letters and prefers one academic and one professional reference. Sofia requires one. Saybrook requests recommendations only for programs that specify them. Choose writers who can speak to both scholarly capability and your maturity in relational or contemplative settings, the combination these programs actually weigh.
  5. International applicants and state authorization
    Sofia requires English-proficiency documentation and a foreign transcript evaluation where applicable, though exact score thresholds and exemptions are not published. Sofia also screens for state authorization: it can only enroll students residing in states and territories where it is licensed, registered, authorized, certified, or exempt, and relocating mid-program can affect your enrollment. Verify your state before you apply. Interview requirements are not published for these specific programs, ask directly, since faculty conversations are common in cohort-based contemplative programs.

Salaries for the Psychology Occupations These Degrees Feed Into

Here is the honest framing: federal wage data tracks licensed psychologist occupations, not spiritual psychology graduates. The figures below come from recent Bureau of Labor Statistics wage estimates and describe people working under psychologist job titles, most of whom hold a doctorate and a state license. Many spiritual psychology graduates work as coaches, spiritual directors, retreat facilitators, chaplaincy staff, or wellness program leads, roles that are not captured here and typically pay well below these medians. Read these numbers as the ceiling available through a licensure path, not as an expected outcome of a spiritual psychology degree by itself, and treat every figure as approximate.

OccupationTotal Employment25th PercentileMedian Annual Wage75th PercentileMean Annual Wage
Psychologists, All Other18,820$68,850$110,840$147,240$111,210
Clinical and Counseling Psychologists75,990$73,210$100,580$135,200$112,750
Psychologists (all categories combined)159,540$75,390$99,110$131,530$107,410
School Psychologists63,940$77,470$95,990$120,310$99,160
Industrial-Organizational Psychologists790$107,310$193,950$222,280$170,230

Job Outlook and Where Psychospiritual Work Is Actually Growing

The tension here is straightforward: the job-growth numbers that make careers with a psychology degree look like a smart bet almost all belong to licensed roles, not to the chaplaincy, wellness, and coaching paths many spiritual psychology graduates actually pursue.

What the Growth Numbers Really Say

Psychologist employment overall is projected to grow 6% from 2025 to 2035, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, roughly in line with the broader labor market, but that headline figure hides wide variation. Clinical and counseling psychologists are projected to grow 12%, while school psychologists (1%) and "all other" psychologists (2%) barely move.1 Substance abuse, behavioral disorder, and mental health counselors are projected to grow 18%, adding about 98,000 jobs.2 Marriage and family therapists are projected to grow 14%.3 Community and social service occupations as a group, the closest official category to much of the non-clinical work spiritual psychology graduates enter, average roughly 293,400 openings a year nationally when replacement needs are included.4 None of these figures are specific to chaplaincy, retreat work, or "integrative behavioral health," a label that spans several licensed and unlicensed occupations tracked separately.

Where Unlicensed Graduates Actually Land

Without a license, most spiritual psychology graduates build non-traditional psychology careers adjacent to clinical practice rather than inside it. Realistic titles include:

  • Hospital or hospice chaplaincy: supporting patients and families through illness, grief, and end-of-life transitions, often requiring clinical pastoral education alongside the degree.
  • Wellness program direction: designing employee or community mental-health and resilience initiatives.
  • Retreat and organizational consulting: leading workshops, facilitating groups, or advising organizations on culture and well-being.
  • Teaching: at the community college or continuing-education level, depending on credentials.
  • Coaching: life, executive, or spiritual coaching, an unregulated field with no licensing requirement.

The Earnings Gap Is the Real Story

Licensed clinical and counseling psychologists sit inside a growth category (12%) meaningfully faster than the all-occupation average, and their compensation reflects the psychologist licensing requirements that protect that title. Coaching, chaplaincy, and wellness-direction roles draw from the much larger, faster-growing community and social service pool, but pay in that pool varies enormously by employer, region, and whether the role is nonprofit, hospital-based, or freelance. The practical takeaway: growth in psychospiritual work is real and tied to demand for integrative behavioral health, end-of-life care, and employer wellness programs, but growth in job postings does not translate into growth in salary the way it does for licensed practice.

Highest-Paying Metro Areas for Clinical and Counseling Psychologists

Spiritual psychology graduates who go on to full licensure most often land in the clinical and counseling psychologist category, and where you practice moves your pay more than almost any other variable. The federal wage data below covers the ten metros with the largest clinical and counseling psychologist workforces, listed by employment size, with pay reported at the 25th percentile, the midpoint, and the 75th percentile. San Francisco leads on every measure, while Chicago and San Diego show how wide the bottom-quartile spread can be even in large markets. (Baltimore employs roughly 1,420 psychologists in this category, but wage figures for that metro are not published.)

Metro AreaPsychologists Employed25th Percentile PayMedian Pay75th Percentile Pay
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ8,170$84,140$120,510$139,370
Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN5,030$53,650$85,390$128,480
Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA4,790$79,980$99,250$142,830
Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH1,920$86,470$121,270$164,150
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD1,920$77,130$112,690$151,490
San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA1,650$63,500$72,090$164,080
Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV1,550$73,110$101,670$130,570
San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA1,540$112,130$166,400$182,910
Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario, CA1,130$77,050$92,730$132,770

How to Choose the Right Spiritual Psychology Program

Start With the Mistake That Costs the Most

The most common expensive mistake in spiritual psychology is choosing format or price first. An affordable online program looks like a win until you discover it cannot meet your state's supervised experience or licensure requirements. At that point the real cost includes retaking credits, changing programs, or working in a role you did not want. Decide what the degree must do before comparing convenience.

Run the Four Questions in This Order

  • Licensure goal first: Do you want to become a licensed therapist, counselor, psychologist, or pursue nonclinical spiritual care, coaching, or teaching? This single answer eliminates many programs.
  • Accreditation second: Match the program's accreditation to the license you need. Ask counseling program accreditation questions about CACREP, COAMFTE, APA, or a state board-approved pathway where applicable. Do not assume spiritual or transpersonal branding makes up for missing approval.
  • Tradition orientation third: Ask whether the program leans psychodynamic, Jungian, transpersonal, Eastern contemplative, or integrative. Faculty backgrounds, practicum sites, and required retreats reveal the real orientation more than the catalog language.
  • Format and cost last: Only now compare online, hybrid, or campus formats and per-credit cost. If the first three questions pass, format becomes a logistics decision rather than a risk decision.

Ask for Paper Before You Deposit

Request the program's written licensure disclosure and recent graduate outcome data. You are looking for three specifics: which states the curriculum is designed to satisfy, how many graduates achieved licensure or certification in the last three years, and where alumni are working. If a program will not provide these in writing before you deposit, treat that as an answer.

The Practical Rule of Thumb

If your goal is clinical practice, choose a CACREP, COAMFTE, or board-approved clinical psychology master's program with a spiritual or transpersonal concentration. This is usually safer than a spiritual psychology degree that asks you to retrofit clinical coursework, practicum hours, or supervision later. If your goal is nonclinical spiritual care, teaching, or research, a dedicated spiritual psychology or transpersonal program may serve you well without a license.

Common Questions About Spiritual Psychology Programs

These are the questions prospective students ask most often before committing to a spiritual psychology program. The short version: verify accreditation and licensure alignment before you verify anything else.

Is spiritual psychology the same as transpersonal psychology?
Not quite. The two overlap heavily, and popular sources often use the labels interchangeably because both engage spirituality, mystical experience, mindfulness, and mind-body connections.1 Academic literature draws a finer line: "spiritual" is the broader umbrella,3 while "transpersonal" refers specifically to experiences and development that extend beyond ordinary ego boundaries.2 Read each program's course list, including any transpersonal psychology degree you are comparing, rather than trusting the title.
Can you become a licensed therapist with a spiritual psychology degree?
Not automatically. Licensure eligibility is state-dependent and hinges on degree level, required supervised hours, examination rules, and whether the program's coursework satisfies your state board's educational standards.4 Many spiritual psychology degrees prepare graduates for coaching, ministry, chaplaincy, or wellness work without qualifying them for psychologist or professional counselor licensure.4 Confirm with your state board in writing before enrolling.
Are spiritual psychology programs accredited?
Accreditation is program-specific and is never implied by the phrase "spiritual psychology" in a degree title.4 Some institutions offering these degrees hold institutional accreditation; others do not. Verify the school's status with an accreditor recognized by the U.S. Department of Education,5 then separately confirm that the specific degree satisfies the licensure requirements of the state where you intend to practice.
How much does a master's in spiritual psychology cost?
There is no reliable national average. Cost depends entirely on the institution, per-credit tuition, total credits required, enrollment status, mandatory fees, and whether the school is accredited.4 The only trustworthy number is the one published by the specific program you are considering. Ask for a full cost sheet that includes fees, not just the advertised per-credit rate.
Can you use federal student loans for an unaccredited spiritual psychology program?
Generally no.6 To participate in federal student aid, including federal graduate student loans, an institution must be legally authorized by its state and accredited or pre-accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency,6 and you must enroll as a regular student in an eligible program.7 Narrow statutory exceptions exist for certain public and nonprofit institutions, so verify the school's eligibility in the federal system directly.6

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit